Ratings based on 139 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Sauna family friendly

Posted May 28, 2015
The best part of this hotel was the spa, sauna and pool. The rooms need to be updated and so does all the bedding. We did not have enough towels both nights even though we asked for clean towels. Parking was nice. Beautiful view.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom North Bend, Oregon

Excellent price for the view!

Posted May 26, 2015
Pros: Bed was comfortable,
Cons: Plumbing--toilet flushed loudly. The room could use to be repainted--we had paint chips in the bathroom, and under the window. Satellite needs work.
Location: Nice quiet neighborhood, walking distance to Nye Beach District and beach is just across the road.
We arrived at the Waves of Newport at 2:45, so I'm not too sure how early we were, but we got checked right in--no problems. Before the trip I had read reviews on Yelp that painted this motel to be "Not so good." My family and I went to check out the room first to see if it would do. I was worried about the potential "dog smell" that I had read about. We got to Room 227, and I was pleasantly surprised and relieved--NO DOG SMELL + no yappers! I also read complaints about the view. We were on the second floor and had a view of the ocean, and the lighthouse to the right. . My husband, son and I enjoyed the solid Wi-Fi in the evening. We enjoyed ourselves in the indoor pool room. The pool was 5 feet deep, so I felt comfortable leaving my son in the pool while my husband and I hopped over to the hot tub. They had a dry-steam room that my husband and son spent about 5 minutes in. We turned on the tv about 10, and realized the connection wasn’t as good. The next morning the continental breakfast was lacking, but ate anyway before heading out to the Oregon Coast Aquarium. We returned to a full motel—no vacancy sign. We had to park out by the pool, but was still in view from the front door. My family FOUND the elevator! The pool room that night was packed, so we spent 20 minutes there. The next day was check out, and we struggled to maneuver around the housekeeper’s cart to make are way to the elevator. WE WILL BE RETURNING IN THE FUTURE!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to beach

Posted May 24, 2015
Very friendly staff, older decor, but clean, quiet, very relaxing, beach is right out the window
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Idaho

It's cheap for a reason.

Posted May 21, 2015
It's cheap for a reason. And that's not necessarily a bad thing. The view was great and the walk to Nye beach is short and nice. Floors were squeaky, doors were squeaky, and the toilet sounded like a fighter jet starting at take off. We didn't go to Newport for the hotel though and our stay was pleasant nonetheless.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Corvallis, OR

Nice hotel, close to beach

Posted May 13, 2015
Pros: Close to beach and reasonable rates, nice breakfast
Cons: No improvement needed for this rate range
Location: Short distance to great food, galleries and the beach.
Pleasant stay, nice breakfast, within walking distance of beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Staff was so nice

Posted May 12, 2015
Staff was nice because the check in time is until 10:00 pm, but we arrived at 12:00am, but stuff was waiting for us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Idaho

Great pool - good value for the price

Posted May 12, 2015
Pros: Good value for the price. Pool was clean and modern, pool towels provided. Laundry room was available. Towels were new.
Cons: New sheets - elastic was worn out. Wrestled with sheets each night.
Location: A few blocks to the beach. Short drive to Fred Meyers and Wal-mart for supplies.
The pool is modern and clean. Room on the third floor, great view of the ocean. The building is older, no elevator available. The room is outdated but clean. We felt we got a good value for the price. A few blocks away from the beach, a pleasant walk. It was easy to find, plenty of parking. The locks were better than a previous review had commented on, modern with card access. We left the window open for sounds of the ocean at night, very pleasant. The breakfast that they provided was limited and only available between 8 and 10 am, but everything was fresh.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Philippines

nice and relaxing

Posted May 12, 2015
We had the room with balcony overlooking the pacific ocean. Great view. Comfortable bed. Very relaxing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 4, 2015
Hotel had a good view of the ocean for a cheap price. Room was very clean and included a microwave and refrigerator. They have free breakfast -- took advantage of the free coffee.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nicely located

Posted Apr 28, 2015
Third floor room had wonderful view of ocean, it was close to eateries and Nye Beach access, and there was a nice park nearby for walking dogs.