Ratings based on 350 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Jose, Costa Rica

Top notch hotel in the city

Posted Mar 1, 2015
Amazing hotel located in the upper East side. Outstanding.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 28, 2015
Pros: Especially loved the breakfast buffet in the most beautiful dining room. Refined, old world class!
Husband and I stayed for a romantic weekend away. Everything was just lovely.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Tallahassee, FL

Traditional NYC Luxury Experience for our 25th

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Pros: This place is a traditionalists dream. The Carlyle is a meticulously maintained fine antique, complete with top notch service and amenities.
Cons: Our experience was perfect. Can't think of anything I would have changed.
Location: Great location for avoiding the crazy hustle and bustle of NYC. Relatively quiet and safe location with many high-end designer shops near by.
I wanted to find a memorable setting for a surprise mini vacation for my Wife and I to celebrate our 25th Wedding Anniversary. This was not going to be an easy task, as my wife is VERY picky about hotel accommodations. The reviews on the Carlyle were a bit mixed, but the location and rich tradition of the place seemed like it would be a good fit. I called the Hotel in advance to tell them about my surprise for my Wife, and asked them to if they could try to assign us to a room with recent renovations. The front desk agent I spoke to was very courteous and cordial. She not only remembered my request...she also saw that we were upgraded to a huge 1& 1/2 bath king suite (complete with a baby grand in the living room, hardwood floors, a kitchenette, and 2 walk in closets!) The finishing touch was a bottle of champagne on ice, and a gourmet anniversary chocolate and strawberry torte for two set up for us on an elegant glass top table in the living room. Very classy- very impressive. A perfect experience from start to finish. The traditional ambiance this Hotel exudes is awesome. I think that some of the reviews about the place are from people who don't appreciate traditional ambiance! Like all hotels built in the 20's and 30's, the bathrooms aren't huge, but they are gorgeous and spotless. The elevators are small, because they are meticulously maintained antiques- complete with courteous attendants. To me that contributes to the uniqueness of the place.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom phila

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Room had an perfume scent constantly which was not pleasant. Too many mirrors in a very tiny bathroom.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by rondafrom Austin

Only one Carlyle.

Posted Dec 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
So classic. So spectacular. So special.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Alexandria, VA

Very "ous" experience

Posted Dec 23, 2014
Pros: Location, room size and décor, and helpful, genuinely friendly staff.
Cons: A coffeemaker would have been nice.
Location: On Madison Ave, with Central Park a block away. The things to do nearby are almost unlimited.
The hotel itself is gorgeous, the staff are uniformly gracious, the rooms are spacious, and the experience is luxurious.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

New Yorks little jewel.

Posted Dec 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very nice. TV are nice but all cable boxes and wiring on floor. Had to turn on cable box every time to watch tv.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

NY Classic

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Pros: Our room had a great layout.
Cons: Entrance into the lobby isn't the easiest with luggage and a stroller.
Location: Perfect location near Central Park and Museums.
If you haven't stayed at the Carlyle at least once, you really should. It just drips with NY style.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hôtel très classe

Posted Oct 31, 2014
Pros: Personnel dispo et accueillant Confort
Cons: Prix du petit déjeuner !
Location: Central Park, Musée Guggenheim
Proche du métro et de Central Park, quartier calme et agréable mais peu de restaurants autour.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

3 day stay - 10/24/14 to 10/26/14

Posted Oct 29, 2014
The start to the hotel stay was bumpy. We had reserved a "King" bed for 3 nights. Upon check-in we were told our room was not ready, but that they had upgraded us. We decided to walk the town and the hotel said they would call us to let us know when the room was ready. We were travelling with another couple, so we left our bags in their room while we went out. When we got back to the hotel at 5 p.m. our room was ready. My wife went to the room while I went to get our luggage. When I got to the room we had a "queen" bed. I called the front desk and they said that they realized the mistake and would have "see if another room was ready" and they would call us back. I explained that this was unacceptable, that we were here on our 30th anniversary, couldn't unpack or shower, and had dinner reservations in an hour. They called in 5 minutes and said they were looking at another room to see if it was clean. We waited a few more minutes and called back and said we need a room to commence our evening. They said that were sending some one up to look at another room...... They finally had a person at the front desk come to our room and got us into another "upgraded" room. We felt that the hotel was biding their time to see if we would settle on the "queen room". They should have immediately put us in another room and not gone through the steps of seeing "if another room was clean". Regardless of the great rate we received from Expedia we felt like 2nd rate customers.