Ratings based on 171 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 15, 2015
Very nice hotel across the street from Central park. The staff was very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Oregon

A New York Getaway

Posted Feb 26, 2015
The staff and facility lived up to its iconic reputation. I felt welcomed by every member of the staff who knew me (a first time guest) by name. Impeccable cleanliness with room service twice a day. Also a wonderful location right by Central Park and the museum district.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Long Island, New York

Elegant and clean!

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: The cleanliness, the elegance of the room and the attentiveness I the staff.
Cons: Brighter lighting in the room. In NYC the surrounding buildings block a lot of natural light.
Location: Excellent...being near to Central Park balances the congestion of the city.
I actually live in Long Island, NYand wanted to stay over night after seeing a Broadway play. I am very finicky about hotels and I am a "germophobe" . I loved the Ritz! It was so clean and comfortable. The staff was extremely attentive and sincerely friendly. I normally leave my shower slippers in the room when I leave a hotel because I don't want to take the germs home, but I actually decided to take them [shower slippers] home to use for my next trip. That is how comfortable I was with the cleanliness of the hotel. Great stay...I will definitely return!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic location for visiting NYC.

Posted Feb 21, 2015
Pros: Location and staff
Cons: Rooms could use a little updating
Location: Central location, everything is near by. Literally everything.
Opposite Central Park this hotel gives the most amazing views and central location for anyone visiting. Couldn't fault staff,so helpful and always polite and willing to help with anything. Obviously remember the tipping custom in NY to ensure you don't offend anyone. We were sent complimentary champagne, chocolates and teddies for our babies back home on the first night. Only very slight and I mean slight fault would be rooms are a little tired. Cleaned to a good standard but for example around bath rim was a little grubby, dusty bathroom and a little tired carpet but all minimal in comparison. I had an Expedia deal so had a great rate, but may have been less impressed if I had paid the usual $700 a night rate. All in all, a great hotel. With great staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Outstanding Service

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Superb staff. Very clean hotel. Although the room was on the small side. No outlets by night stand.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Richmond, VA

Great Location right across from Central Park

Posted Feb 3, 2015
As always the level of service at The Ritz Carlton was excellent. Only thing to keep me from giving 5 stars on everything was the food. From the appetizers to some main dishes it was very "unRitz" like as compared to others we have stayed at. Maybe it was just a bad weekend for the food.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location - but was expecting much more

Posted Jan 3, 2015
Pros: Great location, the room is spot on.
Cons: Customer service - may be all of the staff should stay in the Peninsula at Los Angeles to understand what "going out of way" truly means.
We have been at a lot of other Ritz-Carltons (Half moon bay being our favorite) and this being their prime property, we had a lot of expectations. At this level, I expect everything to be perfect. This hotel feels very cramped, everything is small (restaurant, lobby, spa). While that could be a function of the location, there are other properties around which have more lavish interiors and space (Plaza, St.Regis, JW Marriott etc). The most disappointment came, surprisingly, from the way we were treated. I saw the line "Let us be with you" on TV, and this experience is definitely not going to stay with us. A couple of examples - 1. We were very early for check-in. We had to wait for 5 hours as rooms were not immediately available (holiday season) but what surprised me the most was that no one came to us while we were waiting in the lobby to say "hi" or offer a drink while we wait or say "sorry, but we are still working on it". They could have easily made the wait more personable by interacting with us with suggestions possibly. Most other hotels do. 2. We were trying to book tickets for a show and couldn't buy them online on the phone due to some error. I went to the concierge and asked for help. He was very cold and said - we would only deal with brokers (who were 3 times more expensive). He wouldn't go online on his computer and said I could try business center for internet. At the best hotel in New York, I didn't expect "process" to hinder "helping guests"
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Amazing

Posted Dec 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Executive Guest

Posted Dec 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Wonderful stay perfect for executives!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Danielfrom Brooklyn New York

The best of the best in hotels

Posted Dec 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was a Ritz Carlton Hotel you can never find anything wrong with any of there properties they are the gold standard in luxury hotel stay. the are very proffessional and attentive to great detail.