Ratings based on 153 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location for skiing at PICO

Posted Mar 19, 2014
Comfortable around the fire having BYOB Stolli Martini's.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Close to Gore!

Posted Mar 16, 2014
Pros: Large room, comfy bed. Coffee and hot water/tea/hot chocolate available all day. Buffet style breakfast with room. Snow shoe rental available.
Cons: Hotel employees should wear clothing or name tags that distinguish them from the customers. The room could have been cleaner, floor vaccuumed, etc.
Location: It is 5 minutes from Pico Mt. 10 minutes or so from downtown Rutland.
This is an older hotel. Its a little worn in the hallway and main sitting areas and the pool area does not look as pristine as it does in the pictures! It's a great place for family and/or friends traveling together as there are a lot of common areas to meet/play. It didn't look like our room floor was vacuumed but our room was spacious and the bathroom has an exhaust fan. Sorry there is no cable t.v. only local listings. We were grateful for the pool (but it was cold) and the hot tub (very hot). However, I wore a brand new bathing suit and when I went in the hot tub for the 2nd time, my bathing suit was discolored, the white became stained yellow. When I told management about it they said they hadn't heard any complaints except for mine. The water was discolored and there was a lot of foam in the hot tub. They drained the tub and refilled it (even though I was the only complaint). They told me that no one else complained. They were unwilling to reimburse me the $30.00 that I had paid for it at T.J. Max in Rutland. The manager actually told me that TJ Max gets defective clothing. I personally have been shopping at TJ Max for over 15 years and have never had a problem with any of my purchases. He went on to tell me that he called the hot tub company and they said nothing would cause it to yellow. He said he checked the bromine levels and they were fine. I was not happy about the outcome.
2 out of 5
by kat from NY

Probably was very nice in its day

Posted Mar 14, 2014
Cons: updated
In its day it was probably very nice, however its very outdated and run down. The recreational area was very dirty, stained furniture, pool table missing a ball with debris all over table. The ping pong paddles were completely worn out. Carpets frayed. They didn't have full cable. The pool looked nice.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient for skiing nearby

Posted Mar 2, 2014
Pros: Close to Pico Peak ski area.
Cons: Heating/cooling system and safe parking/walking areas when icy.
The outside area was wet and icy and the hotel did not put any gravel/salt/etc. on the surface to protect people. The room was OK but the thermostat on the heating/cooling system was way out of calibration, i.e. one had to set the heat at 67 F to achieve a room temperature of 72F. The breakfast food was both good and ample. It's an OK hotel but the management has to pay more attention to details to make is a Good hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Shane from Boston, MA

Great place close to major ski resorts

Posted Feb 22, 2014
Pros: Everything. Location, price, food, staff were all outstanding
Cons: Nothing. I would not change this hotel.
Location: Within 10 minutes from two major ski resorts and numerous places to eat and drink.
This was outstanding last minute find during February vacation and was reasonably priced. The hotel is 10 minute drive from major ski resorts and the staff went out of their way to take care of us. We stayed with a family of 5 during peak ski season and could not be happier. They have a great breakfest that was included in our room price and we will stay here again. I would highly recommend this hotel as opposed to staying at higher priced resorts located slope side.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

vermont getaway

Posted Feb 20, 2014
Pros: .The resort is very charming, especially enjoyed the fireplace in the common area
Cons: Some things in the resort seem dated, for example the cushions around the fireplace..
Location: All winter time activities like skiing, snow tubing are all just minutes away
My family and I had a wonderful President's weekend at this resort. The resort is minutes away from good restaurants and the Peco and Killington ski areas. The resort staff was very friendly and responsive to our requests. The complementary breakfast was a good experience. Certainly much better than at some chain hotels. Our room and bedding were very clean and the carpets seemed to be new- we hate old carpets..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by AB from NYC

Revived Gem

Posted Feb 17, 2014
We love this place. Kind of kooky but you soon fall in love with it ...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Michael from New Haven

Convenient to Skiing

Posted Feb 11, 2014
Pros: Convenience and friendliness of staff.
Cons: Better breakfast choices.
Location: Skiing, hiking, and all things Vermont.
Friendly staff, a pleasant looking interior with multiple fireplaces and a nice sitting area around one of them. The exercise area is very basic as is the breakfast. The room was clean and comfortable and we were away from the main area so it was reasonably quiet. Noise transmission seems like it could be a problem in the main area of the Inn. Overall it was a very pleasant place for my son and I to spend 3 nights while we skied nearby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by cyber553 from New York, NY

Nice, cheap hotel near Killington

Posted Feb 2, 2014
Only complaint is that the room was not heated when we arrived - it was ~50 degrees! Once we turned the heat on in the room if got up to a comfortable temp in about 30 minutes, but was still a bit surprised to walk into such a cold room. Other than that, can't really complain. Breakfast was decent and good for the price.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LS

Would not stay again!

Posted Jan 6, 2014
The good things about the hotel were that it was clean and located close to the mountain. Unfortunately, my boyfriend and I stayed on the bottom floor and heard non stop noise. There are rooms above the bottom floors and everytime someone would open their door and come down the steps it sounded like people dropping bricks. Also, the heat in the room was not easy to control and constantly changing. I would not recommend this hotel to a friend!!!