Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Tarek Mansour from Montreal

Good Establishment, However not as Advertised

Posted Jan 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
I would rate this place as Good. It is a bit far from everything, requires a 4X4 to get to it. It is well maintained and the gardens and surroundings are beautiful. On the other hand, our room was advertized as having a spa tub, as well as a shower with a handle and free internet and wheel chair accessible. Unfortunately the internet doesn't reach the room, and there was no spa tub, nor the shower that was advertized, and it was definitely not wheel chair accessible. I would rate the restaurant as Ok, and we felt that for the breakfast, the staff was rather stingy (you basically have to insist to get more food) and for whatever reason, some people would get butter and jam, while others wouldn't... We don't think we would go back to that hotel in the future given the price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by KT from New York, NY, USA

lush rainforest hotel

Posted Apr 3, 2013
Pros: very imbedded with nature, peaceful
Cons: food was okay
Location: nice to be out of a town, the 2k road is a rough ride
We loved CRH. Such a beautiful place. We got a bungalow for a family of 4 and it was fine. The staff was very nice and efficient. The grounds are amazing. We did lots of walks around the grounds and on the trails. A sloth lived in a tree behind the restaurant for a few days which was amazing! We saw lots of fantastic birds and butterflies. The road to the hotel is really bumpy/rocky. I recommend a 4 wheel drive. It is a really special place and so nice to retreat to after a big day of zip lining, hiking or hot springing. We stayed 5 nights.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Rachel from Cambridge, ON, Canada

Get away and unwind!

Posted Apr 2, 2013
Pros: Beatuful and secluded
Cons: Decklike flooring in the bathroom
Location: A hidden gem 2km down an unpaved road but definitely worth the bumpy ride
Amazing and beautiful. A great place to go to get away and unwind. The staff were friendly and very helpful. A GREAT experience for me and my husband on our honeymoon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jorge from Miami, FL, USA

Gem in the Jungle

Posted Apr 2, 2013
Pros: The grounds and the restaurant, including food and staff preparing and serving you.
Cons: Water temperature in shower.
Location: It is a bit remote and not close to grocery stores. You should count on eating at the restaurant onsite, which is great.
The location is remote but the grounds are beautiful. The restaurant is great and breakfast is included in the price of the room. All meals served were great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Family from NY

Perfect place for family vacation

Posted Apr 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
You should stay at least 2 or 3 nights to enjoy nature trail and horse back riding!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by the Robledos

undiscovered paradise

Posted Mar 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
I absolutely have no complaints about my stay it was a great hotel in the middle of the rainforest the only bad part about this location is of course as the previous reviews have said is the 45 minute drive up to the hotel from the main road there is nothing close by so do have in mind if you plan to go anywhere from the hotel it will take at least 50 minute to get to the nearest town this place is amazing location is amazing weekend of the bungalows they are great I would definitely stay here again if I was to travel to Costa Rica. This location was just what we needed to get away from the city noise
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Karen from Edmonton Alberta

A gem in tjhe rainforest

Posted Feb 28, 2013
Pros: The peace and quiet
Cons: The food
Location: A little off the beaten path but well worth the drive!
A beautiful hotel in the Rainforest! The beds are a little hard, but we found that everywhere we stayed in Costa Rica. We had a bungalow room and it was very nice, with a deck on the front that you could sit and relax on. The staff was great! Food in the restaurant was ok, not the best we have ever had but not the worst either. We went on a night tour of the rainforest and were very happy with the tour and the guide. It was a bumpy ride on a bad road to get there, but I am very glad we made the trip!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jane from Bayfield, Ontario, Canada

Magical rainforest experience

Posted Feb 18, 2013
A truly unique rainforest experience. The hotel is set in lush, beautiful tropical gardens with many birds. Cabanas are comfortable and private (although the bed could be updated). Staff are wonderful. The sounds of the jungle at night are magical. The restaurant meals are good and very affordable. Highly recommended for a romantic getaway or a quiet family vacation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cesar from Mexico

Great for nature lovers.

Posted Jan 27, 2013
Pros: The natural setting.
Cons: The road get there.
Situated in a unique setting surrounded by rainforest where you can see toucans, sloths and many other beautiful birds.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very relaxing and quiet. Nice grounds and surrounding forest. Remote location makes for quiet, but a long way from town and activities. Spent too much time getting to and from La Fortuna.