Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Adam D

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 2, 2015 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Michaelfrom Smithville

Comfortable and clean

Posted Nov 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
Love the Fairville Inn except it does have a tiny must odor and the bathroom hardware in our room was a touch faulty Room decor is great and the garden views special, brakfast excellent and the help delightful. In this area of Wilmington where there aren't a lot of places it is superb.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by M & Dfrom Connecticut

Perfectly beautiful in every way

Posted Oct 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
A wonderful place to hold our 25th Anniversary Vow Renewal!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom MD

Return visit

Posted Sep 25, 2014
Pros: Proximity to Longwood Gardens and Winterthur.
Cons: Improve the problem with the condensor unit location; replace the piece of cardboard in the closet with drywall; ensure that breakfasts are fresh.
Location: Close to Longwood Gardens and Winterthur
We stayed in the Main House on the first floor. The compressor unit outside of our french doors came on several times and sounded like an auxiliary power unit firing up a jet engine. As a result the plan for a quiet restful night did not occur. Breakfast was equally disappointing - the scrambled eggs were runny and my fritatta tasted as though it had been prepared the day before. This was our fifth, and perhaps final visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Ginafrom Austin

Wonderful location

Posted Sep 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
As much as we travel it is nice to mix an Inn experience with all our hotel stays. We enjoyed a full morning breakfast, and the afternoon tea was very welcoming after a day of sightseeing. Location was perfect for the full Brandywine area experience. And staff was helpful as well as personable. Beds very comfortable and bathroom was outfitted with all we needed/wanted.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Mikefrom Smithville

A Bit musty

Posted Jun 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
We enjoy the people, the breakfasts, and the location. The rooms may be a little Spartan for me. Basically tvs from the 70s and a musty odor that needs to be fixed if it can be. Otherwise it is cute and comfortable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Barbarafrom Virginia

Not an elegant place

Posted May 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel was average. Not very convenient to sights- a bit of a drive. They advertised as an elegant place but in fact it was a bit average. The formal rooms were well kept but the bedrooms were tired and old. The breakfast was very basic - no special treats or bread, etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by M.E.from CT

Lovely everything.

Posted Apr 27, 2014
Pros: Everything.
Cons: If I had to cite anything for improvement, it would be mattress. Ours seemed a bit lumpy.
Location: Visited the nearby Brandywine River Museum, home to Wyeth family artwork, and took a tour of their home and studios. There is more to see in area.
Enjoyed our stay here very much. Couldn't ask for a nicer room -- clean, beautifully furnished, comfortable, with wall of windows/French door onto private balcony overlooking landscaped gardens. Fresh cooked breakfast in friendly dining room, tea in afternoon, even small desserts during evening hours. Lovely without being fussy. Would definitely recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Mikefrom Smithville

Quaint and Nice

Posted Apr 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
We were greeted by Rick and his dog Ozzie. They showed us to our room which was a well appointed old charm four poster bed and bathroom. Very clean and had a nice view of the garden which is very nice. The staff was terrific, the breakfast opportunity great. We only had coffee but the offering was terrific. My only complaint would be two fold--checkout was 11AM and they held us to it and the room had a little musty odor. Not bad but not great.