Ratings based on 202 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from Wisconsin

Satisfied

Posted Jun 14, 2014
Pros: Clean, comfortable, reasonable price.
Location: Resturants not too far away.
Nothing fancy, but clean and comfortable. Good breakfast. Easy access. Worth the price if you don't want a swimming pool, excercise room, etc.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 24, 2014 by Steve, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of your stay with us but i have to let you know that we do have a n indoor pool and fitness room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Steph from London

A very good experience at Sleep Inn Urbana

Posted May 25, 2014
Everything was great except maybe the breakfast but being french, i'm not a fan of american coffee :) Otherwise, the staff was really nice, good bed, nothing to complain about. I appreciated the possibility to iron since i was there for work. Just one thing, the quality of the shampoo could be improved otherwise, perfect!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 25, 2014 by Steve, Hotel Management
thank you for your great review of your stay with us and we hope you will visit us again int the future
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Would not recommend!

Posted May 13, 2014
As of 3:00 pm, our room had not been cleaned and it was not cleaned until 4:30 that afternoon. This was a problem since our son had wrestled in a tournament all day and needed a shower. Room was not cleaned and of course that meant that there were no clean towels either. I find this inexcusable. Also, I believe that the hotel is understaffed in the cleaning department. There were 3 people cleaning 1 room at a time and 3 floors to cover. No wonder it took so long.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2014 by Steve, Hotel Management
Please accept our sincere apology for the housekeeping problem you encountered during your stay with us. We had two of our housekeeping staff that called off sick which put us behind for the day. We did the best we could do to have the rooms all cleaned as soon as possible. Again please accept pur sincere apology and we hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you in the future . I assure you this is not our normal level of service. Sincerely, Steve Luchik, CHA
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, lacking parking!

Posted Apr 6, 2014
The room was fine, more than adequate, however there was not enough parking on a busy weekend and I was forced to park across a busy thoroughfare.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 7, 2014 by Steve, Hotel Management
Thank You for your great review of your stay with us last week . . We hope you will visit us again in the future. Sincerely, Steven Luchik, CHA General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Ollie from C-U

on part with price

Posted Jan 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
Can't say much. Very clean. Bed and washroom are both very clean. Only thing bad I have to say is the area is somewhat unsafe (use to live in C -U) for nearly 5 years. As of now they are renovating some of their facilities but it didn't bother us at all. Workout area was closed due to renovations but who works out at a hotel/motel anyways. Overall 4/5.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2014 by Steve, Hotel Management
Thank You for your fine rating of your stay with us. Yes we are making many improvements to the hotel for the benefit of our current and future guests. We hope you will visit us again in the near future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Miller's from TN

It was an easy place to locate from the Univ.

Posted Jan 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
We had a good night rest . The surrounding was very quite. The rooms was nice an roomy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2014 by Steve, Hotel Management
Thank you for your great rating of our hotel for your last stay with us. I here at the sleep inn strive to give our guests the best in service and accommodations at all times. We look forward to you staying with us again in the future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by rene from Illinois

Posted Jan 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
They charged me after hotels.com charged me....paid twice & now waiting for a refund.:( not happy about this!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2014 by Steve, Hotel Management
We are sorry that you had this billing problem but I hope that you have been credited for this error. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by betta from il

Very good

Posted Jan 2, 2014
I spent 4 days in Sleep Inn and it was wondrrful. A staff friendly and a room was very comfortable. I want to stay again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 14, 2014
Thank you for the great review of our hotel and services during your last stay with us and we hope to serve you again in the future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 28, 2013
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 14, 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel from your last stay and we hope to serve you again in the future.
2 out of 5
by Paris from Chicago

Posted Dec 12, 2013
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to review us from your last stay with us and we hope to be able to serve you again in the future.