Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Hotel Akali

Posted Dec 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
Overall, this hotel is decent, but it seriously needs an update. The beds are hard as a rock and noisy, the showers are terrible. The rooms are very sizable however, and they come with a balcony. The breakfast is decent too. The wifi is not consistent when in your room, but in the lobby, its fine. They still use actual keys, which they want you to turn in to the front desk when you leave for the day, or if you want your room cleaned. I didn't have any issues as far as that's concerned however. The staff at the hotel is the best part. They are all extremely friendly and willing to help. They will go out of their way to get anything you need. They offered to order food from local restaurants to be delivered for me. Very very nice people!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Michael from UK

Comfortable stay at Akali

Posted Aug 12, 2013
Pros: Cleanliness, excellent staff, breakfast and nice room size.
Cons: No proper balcony in some rooms.
Location: 5 mins from the harbour, 10 minutes to nearest beach and located on the main street out of Chania to Kissamou.
We had a very comfortable stay at this hotel. Rooms were cleaned to a good standard and there was a good range of food at breakfast. Staff were fantastic and very helpful.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by maria

not a 4 star hotel

Posted Oct 9, 2012 on Hotels.com
It was a rather traditional hotel... Very old.. The breakfast had a variety of food and the location was nice.. Just a ten minute walk from the centre. However i believe that the hotel is in need of a renovation..
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 29, 2012 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Good location!

Posted Aug 12, 2012 on Hotels.com
The hotel is old but well maintained by a very friendly and helpful staff! The rooms are clean with tv and free wifi and a fridge/freezer but lack the cofee machine! The best thing is the swimming pool especially during the summer months! The location is also great being just a 5min walk from the heart of the city and main tourist sights.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Beirut, Lebanon

Not worth the money I paid

Posted Sep 23, 2011
This hotel rated 4 stars has nothing of a 4 star, excepted the staff courtesy ! The 'breakfast buffet' is very basic and low quality; The rooms need a serious renovation, bathroom with no water pressure in shower, the shower would not hang on the wall so I had to hold it up ; very thick carpet that wasn't cleaned during our stay of 3 days, useless air conditioning that is very noisy, and it was impossible to open the veranda because of the outside noise of traffic and surroundings. The only positive thing is its location not far from the center, but I'm sure you can find better, cheaper, in a well situated area !
1 out of 5
by Peter from Christiansted, VI

Chania

Posted Sep 15, 2011
Lobby was very nice. Pool areas was attractive though the pool was small. Breakfast was good. Hotel staff was friendly and helpful. Room: Room over looked a busy street so the balcony door had to be kept closed and AC run. Room smelled of mildew from either leaking plumbing or AC. Carpet was dirty and matted. Only one electrical outlet in room that could be easily accessed Would have checked out of hotel early if had not been traveling for a month and tired of moving Would never stay again in this hotel or recommend it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Akali Hotel in Chania

Posted Jun 10, 2011 on Hotels.com
The hotel was very convenient for us, though it was only a few extra mins walk for us, it was good, we had fun walking down to the port from this hotel. The staff was very helpful with directions, things to do and also helped me order dinner. We had a fun time while we stayed at Akali Hotel.