Ratings based on 37 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal, Canada

Beautiful hotel

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Location: The hotel is situated about 20 minutes walk from the city center. Easy quick walk, but there are also buses and taxis cost about 7 Euro to get to town
The hotel itself is beautiful. Our room was very nice and beds were comfortable. You do not get much of a view from your room, but they have a rooftop where you can tan, relax, go into a small pool to cool off and admire the city view. You could also have breakfast in the garden or the rooftop. The staff was very friendly and very helpful. Rooms were a decent size and always clean. This was one of the best hotels I have ever stayed at!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Extra charge

Posted Sep 4, 2014
We booked a standard room at Halepa Hotel for 4 nights. The rates of a standard room even if you put one adult as a guest or 2 adults are exactly the same. I did a terrible mistake:I forgot changing the 1 adult to 2 adults.I don't want to judge the staff and the hotel owner,but it was very easy to understand that even if you click on 1 or 2 adults in a standard room you will pay the same price using Expedia.These people could not understand this simple thing and they were asking us to pay a price that they would decide,with the excuse that another guest costs an extra towel and some more electricity.Very funny excuses.I found their behaviour very unprofessional and I would not recommend this hotel to because you will be in danger of extra charge.Stay away.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2014 by Kostas Chrysanthos, Hotel Management
Dear Mr Papadopoulos, It is very interesting that you write this review after all the sad situation that you created during your stay in our hotel. As we verified you, you just selected in your i-phone application 1 adult. When you select 2 adults the rate changes...and this is normal for all the extra expences and the policies of our hotel. Everything was explained to you. You demanded to stay for free yelling and disturbing even other guests. Afterall you achieved what you wanted, we didnt charge you because you were saying that you are also honeymoners etc etc. Maybe for that fact we were really unprofessional, we should charge you! So this review could have sense. But for our hotel every guest is so special and we try hard, sometimes even if there are rules and policies, to let him satisfied even if he is completely wrong.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Very clean hotel with friendly and helpful staff

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Great place to stay - just a 15 minute walk from the harbour of Chania. Room and bathroom spotless with a modern shower unit and constant hot water. Shower gels, shampoo, hairdryer all provided. A good buffet breakfast was provided with plenty of choice - particularly enjoyed the local yoghurt and fresh fruit and compotes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portishead

Great hotel in Chania with parking

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Fab hotel with very welcoming staff. Easy walk into Chania centre. Would recommend to all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Really cool historic hotel

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Pros: Beautifully restored inside and out!
Cons: Softer beds.
Location: Short walk to just about everything you would want to do in Chania.
I've stayed at the Halepa twice and enjoyed my stay both times. The staff is great and very helpful. They speak English very well and are knowledgeable about the city. Beautiful inside and outside! My only knock is the beds are the usual European very stiff beds.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Elegant hotel in the city if Chania

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Beautiful rooms. Such a shame they don't have sea view but the roof jacuzzi makes the treat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alvin from Vancouver Island, Canada

Elegant old manor converted into a modern hotel

Posted Jun 14, 2014
Pros: Good quiet location just outside of downtown core area. Our room (called a superior room) was simply furnished, but elegant and very comfortable.
Cons: The only thing I would criticize, was the un-inspired breakfast. It served it's purpose, but was lacking imagination.
Location: Visit Rethimo, Hania, Samaria Gorge, Tigani Beach
We enjoyed our week long stay at Halepa Hotel. The location is quiet and a little outside of the busy downtown. Our room was very nice, with high ceilings and modern bathroom. Decor was pleasing and rooms as well as hotel very clean. The walk into town varies from 15-25 minutes depending on what part of the old town/port you want to reach. As we used the hotel as a base from which to tour the western part of Crete, we were glad to have our own vehicle and that the hotel provided complimentary and secure parking outback. I would not hesitate to recommend staying at this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Johnny from Atlanta

Clean and nice hotel!

Posted May 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel is very nice. Clean and well maintained. A little bit of a hike from town, so rent a car if you want to get around. Breakfast was well a great addition and good for starting the day. A little disappointed that there is a charge for beach towels and safes are at the reception desk.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Luis from G

Good Hotel

Posted Nov 17, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Markus from London

Nice Hotel

Posted Oct 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
Nice hotel, our room in the (new) extension was quite large and comfy. Bed was comfy as well, but had a mattress protector that was coated with rubber on one side: was noisy when partner turned around in bed. Service and breakfast was great, though not a huge variety (we stayed there for a week). Wifi was working and fast. Staff was very friendly.The location and surroundings are okay; not as nice as the historic district. It takes 20 minutes walking to the harbour; the first 5 minutes along a noisy road and another 15 minutes along the coast with few traffic but lots of bars and restaurants. We didn't mind walking to the harbour for dinner every night. We would definitely stay there again.