Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
2.7 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by KLa from Victoria, BC

Off season stay

Posted Mar 12, 2014
We booked Kydonia because of the cheap price as we are backpacking, and as with most greek accommodations in March they were doing renos so the place was a bit of a mess. Our room however was all ready and a decent size, with private bathroom. The owner spoke english fairly well and was friebdly enough. There was a small tv with cable-we could watch english speaking shows, they usually play them later in the evening. Mini fridge worked and the bathroom was acceptable for a budget place. The double bed was tilted from the top right corner slanting down towards the bottom left, made for interesting sleeping positions but overall it was a decent place for a cheap price. The location is spectacular, 10seconds from the venetian harbour and on a main touristy street, plus there is a starbucks right next/below (the rooms are second floor). There are 2 small sets of stairs and one is narrow and steep so not recommended for those with accessibility issues, but if the price is decent and location is important go for it.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Adventurous retirees from NC, USA

Quirky but good value

Posted Oct 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
Two flights of stairs to get to reception. Can walk to harbor, shops, restaurants, and bus to Samaria Gorge hike. Stockholm shower gets floor wet. Good wi-fi. Noisy early in the evening but quiets down after midnight. Hot water runs out early in the morning. Good value.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from California, USA

Perfect for a one night stay.

Posted Aug 14, 2013
Pros: Very old building, loved the history the owner gave us of the building and area. You'll love it if you have an appreciation for old architecture.
Cons: No sofa, but then again we did go there to hang around in a room all day.
Location: Right in the center of the shopping square, Starbucks around the corner and many restraunts.
Down the street from bus station, no need to get a cab in walking distance. Great view, prime location in the middle of the shopping square. Felt safe, the owner was always there and looked out for us two traveling girls. The beds were a bit hard but we didn't go there to sleep all day and hang out in a room! Perfect for a one night stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Alex

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Mike and Judy

Posted Sep 3, 2012 on Hotels.com
A hotel with the basics. Great location if you want to be near the water and things to do. The biggest drawback is too many steps (33) for an elderly person to climb to get to the hotel. Other similar hotels in the area have steps, too.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

A good budget pension

Posted Sep 1, 2012
Location: Excellent central location.
Cheap & cheerful. Just right for travelers on a budget.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Ryan

Cheap, You get what you pay for, Super location

Posted Jul 19, 2012 on Hotels.com
We weren't expecting too much at the very cheap rate for a double room with air-conditioning, and the location of Kydonia cannot be beaten; it is literally situated in the heart of old Chania, a stone's throw to the Venetian port and right smacked next to Starbucks and 50m to all the main restaurants and tourist shops. However, we both wouldn't have stayed a second night as the room wasn't very welcoming. I would have rated it a one-star establishment. The hotel is rather run down, the bathroom wasn't properly cleaned, my friend could not sleep in the uncomfortable bed, and there was a lot of traffic up and down the creaky wooden stairs. We were also displeased that the owner would enter our room each time we left (even if for just a couple of minutes to purchase some juice) to turn off the air-conditioning. This had never happened to us before, anywhere in the world. You pay for what you get; if you just need a roof over your head for a short night, this is a good value. Otherwise, pay just a little more for a better room elsewhere.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jo

Good location

Posted Jun 13, 2012 on Hotels.com
Modest pension as reflected by the price. Good location but noisy (our room with balcony was facing the street). Walking distance to everything. The owner was helpful with local information. Kitchennette was useful. You get what you pay for and this has to be well understood.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 17, 2011 on Hotels.com