Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely hotel, right on the beach.

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: Design, layout, is very thoughtful and attractive. Lots of shade. High quality of staff everywhere. Quick to respond to queries. Comfortable rooms.
Cons: Maybe less amplification when there is live music in the garden - live music is easier to listen to when the volume is quieter.
Location: Chania - lovely town. Also followed the itinerary on the little train, doing most of these trips by car with the help of a good map of W. Crete.
We are a family of four - including two teenagers, aged 17 and 19. We parents asked for and got, a quiet room overlooking the sea - the bed was really comfortable - and we liked the room, We loved the hotel, and found the staff were always really helpful. The garden is shaded and really attractive. The food is very good and very varied - it includes many Greek dishes with lovely sauces, as well as many other dishes. Meals were always a pleasure - the dining room staff are excellent. The beach is great, - lots of space between sun umbrellas - not crowded, lovely warm sea. Every day on the beach, Samuel, the animateur would visit and explain, if we wanted, what optional entertainment would be happening in the evening. He was great with the teenagers, a lovely guy, and often he organised beach football or volleyball. We adults often got away for the day, and Patrick and Alice were more than happy staying in the hotel by the beach - they said that it was one of their best holidays and that they had loved it. We all came home very relaxed. Thank you to all the hotel staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from The South

Nice hotel, on the beach. Great animation team

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Pleasant from start to finish. Hotel arranged taxi to be waiting at the airport. Check in lady was very welcoming. Animation kids club and mini disco great for two young children. Food, beach etc very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from J

Great place to spend your vacation!

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Located right on the beach the Santa Marina Hotel and it's staff, especially Filio and Michael made our 11 day visit wonderful. The food was very good with many traditional Greek dishes and the bartender introduced us to Ozzo.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel in excellent position!

Posted Jun 29, 2014
We loved Santa marina beach hotel. The beach was beautiful, the food was excellent, all in all a fantastic week
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Tony&Helena from Melbourne

Expected alot more...

Posted Aug 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
Had a terrible night sleep as doors have gaps under them and all the noises as well as smells from neighbours travels into the rooms. We were given no orientation or instructions re all inclusive package. We chose to have our dinner there the first night but arrived around 830pm albeit dinner shuts around 930 and hardly no hot food left only salads Reception lacked customer service, I went to the reception and waited 15m to talk to the reception who didn't realise I spoke Greek fluently and she persisted to talk to her friend and ignore me . I gave up and we decided to eat and be entertained elsewhere. Beach Is lovely but hard to get sunbeds as they seem to be reserved by 6am so we chose to hire chairs two venues down. This hotel appears to cater for Germans and Dutch as all stations on tv are of these regions and also very poor reception on tv . Although normally I would not watch tv I was amazed of the quality. For the price they charge spend your money elsewhere, I wish we had.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Luis from London

not a four star

Posted Aug 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
I would give it a 2 in a good day. Very poor service. Not a nice building, no swimming pool, asking deposit for a beach towel, the list goes on.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Vasso

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Mariana from Chicago, IL

not as nice as the pictures

Posted Jul 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
The common areas of the hotel were ok, but the bedrooms weren’t. The beds are super hard and the bathrooms are not very nice. I think there are many hotels around the same area for the same price. We stayed there for a wedding and people were disappointed of the rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from CYPRUS

SUPERB SERVICE, STAFF EXTREMLY FRIENDLY

Posted May 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
FOR THE PRICE I PAID, ITS THE BEST HOLIDAY EVER. EXCEPTIONAL VALUE FOR MONEY. COULD NOT HAVE ASKED FOR MORE. FOOD, SERVICE, CLEANLINESS, R&R, ALL TOP NOTCH. WE WOULD STAY THERE AGAIN, AND WE WILL. WE STAYED LAST YEAR IN CHANIA, BUT NO COMPARISON TO THIS HOTEL/SERVICE/FOOD/LOCATION/FRIENDLINESS.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean hotel with nice location on the beach

Posted Apr 24, 2013
Pros: clean breakfast selection
Cons: no wifi in the bedroom harassment on the beach for massages
Location: hotel is right on the beach. the other site of the hotel is across the road - access to the main part of that site is via a subway
great location - right on the beach. plenty of options for breakfast selection. rooms were very clean and the staff were constantly cleaning inside and outside the hotel - even to the extent of sweeping the driveway outside the hotel. hotel is about 10mins away by public bus to Chania (€1.60 one way). Downside were - wifi was free but only available in the hotel lobby and not in the rooms. constant harassment from people trying to get you to agree to a massage on the beach. they were not attached to the hotel but the hotel should at least make people aware of them. One team of women approached me and my friend and said she would show / demo the massage. even though we said no and we had no money they said it was ok and just to show. lo and behold, 20 mins later they were trying to extort €25 each from us. In the end and despite saying no, i paid them €10 to get rid of them. unpleasant experience. I stress that this is not a negative for the hotel though - its just something for people to be aware of when they go onto the beach.