Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Hotel bumped us

Posted Aug 1, 2014
Pros: Lobby was nice, right on beach and in town
Cons: Honoring reservations
I spent a lot of time researching a hotel right on the beach and in town, and booked Thalassa. The manager bumped us to another hotel which was 1/3 mile from beach and on the outskirts of another town. She lied and told me it was right on the beach. Reading other reviews, bumping seems to be a regular practice for Thalassa.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Trish from England

Very Nice Hotel

Posted Jun 14, 2014
Pros: Liked that it was adult only. The staff, the standard of food and cleanliness of hotel were all excellent.
Cons: Make even the outdoor restaurant tables non smoking.
Location: Location very good. About 15 minutes on the bus to Chania. Excursions bookable at the hotel including Samaria Gorge.
Very nice hotel. The food at breakfast and dinner was excellent and all the restaurant staff and reception staff were very very helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lauren & Con from Melbourne VIC, Australia

Very relaxing!!

Posted Aug 12, 2013
Pros: Pool and pool bar.
Cons: The air freshener in the corridors had a very strong aroma.
Location: Great for everything - but rent a car for a day and explore the island.
My fiancé and I had an enjoyable stay over our 4 nights. This hotel is in a great location, 500m from lots of great beach bars and day pool parties, and about a 10-15 minute drive to Chania Town. Chania Town is so busy and chaotic, this area is nice and relaxing on the beach. We rented a car for 2 days and went to Balos Lagoon and Elafonisi beach - a MUST if you come to Chania, but you need a day for each. The hotel is in great condition, the exterior has a warm pool with a pool bar, and then a little outdoor restaurant. You can also lay on the chairs along the beach and the staff bring out fresh watermelon. We stayed in a standard room, it was nice and cosy, very clean!! The only negative is there was no power point in the bathroom for my straightener, but luckily there is a large mirror in the room. Overall we had a pleasant stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Y George from London

Good for singles

Posted Jul 19, 2013
Pros: Really appreciated the free wifi throughout the resort and the breakfast buffet was top notch! Also, the staff at reception were super helpful.
Cons: The air conditioning in the gym could have been better, but this is minor.
Location: Very good location. Right on the beach.
I hadn't realised when I booked this hotel that it was a "couples" hotel, but although I was there on my own, I wasn't treated any differently. I really enjoyed the resort. Very well maintained and the facilities were good. Everyone was very helpful and friendly, especially the reception staff. I suppose the greatest benefit of booking into a "couples" resort was that there were no children which made for a nice, calm and quiet holiday. Exactly what I wanted!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel for couples and families

Posted Jul 18, 2013
Superb hotel. Location and facilities. Staff were superb. Very enjoyable and relaxing
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Saija from Norway

Great pool and friendly staff

Posted Jul 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
Stayed for 9 nights in June 2013, and have to say that everything with our stay was perfect. Few things to be aware of though, inside parking is only for very small cars. Sea view room is nice, but really couples hotel should have King or Queen beds instead of twin beds. Special thanks for pool bar staff, made us feel very welcomed. Can really recommend this hotel :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Keith from Hertfordshire, UK

Perfect . . .

Posted Jun 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
Hotel and rooms extremely well maintained and EXACTLY as shown on the website. All the staff were great and nothing was too much trouble. Spa excellent and reasonably priced. Will definitely be back next year. Thanks
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Kay from NY

Honeymoon

Posted Jun 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
We stayed at Thalassa for 7 nights. My first impression was that the pictures i saw on the internet did not do it justice.. the resort is so beautiful in person. It was a gorgeous place, located in a very touristy area. We walked a lot at night, went for great dinners, and drinks at random cafes. One thing I would definitely recommend is the " private dinner on the beach" it was my husbands birthday while on our honeymoon I surprised him with it... He LOVED it. It's totally worth the money!! It's so romantic the sunset is spectacular and the chef is AMAZING! The only negative things i saw was the beach, it was very rocky. I bruised my toe getting out of the water. They seemed to be short staff for lunch.. You also get too many receipts.. Every item you order you receive a receipt. It would be nice to just have a grand total. Other than that I would recommend Thalassa for a romantic, relaxing, fun vacation!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Dustin & Jenna

fantastic stay!

Posted Oct 15, 2012 on Hotels.com
My wife and I thouroghly enjoyed our stay at the hotel. The food and drinks were great and the service was amazing. We were concerned about the location but its was very close to most shopping and only a 5 min drive to the Chania market. The pool was a little cold but thats a minor negative compared to all of the positives this hotel had to offer. I would recommend to any couple looking for a nice place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 27, 2012 on Hotels.com