Ratings based on 83 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Poitiers, France

Convenient and very clean.

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Good, quiet location, just five minutes walk from the port and old town. Bedroom and bathroom comfortable and very clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Functional Hotel

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: Position, cleanliness
Cons: Proper wardrobe, larger safe, more breakfast choice.
Location: Close to old port in La Rochelle; easy walk to historic centre, bars and restaurants.
The Masqhotel is a new building, clean and functional. It is better suited to the business traveller than a holidaymaker. The rooms are comfortable, but the facilities are limited - hanging space rather than a wardrobe, limited drawers and cupboards, and a safe too small for even an iPad let alone a laptop. Breakfast costs extra and is minimal - don't expect a full English!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Cracker

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Central location , modern, clean and very helpful pleasant staff. If you are looking for a base in La Rochelle at a price then this hotel will be hard to beat
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Oxford UK

Lovely hotel near to the port and aquarium

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Clean, quiet, spacious rooms, friendly reception staff, 10 minutes walk from the aquarium and port
Cons: A small refrigerator in the rooms, a security box large enough to put laptops in
Location: An excellent central location, within walking distance of the world class aquarium and the port with the old central part of town and market
We arrived at midday on the day of check-in and the staff went out of their way to make us welcome, offering us 'on the house' refreshments whilst waiting for our rooms to be ready. They arranged for us to be in adjoining double and twin rooms at no extra cost (although we booked two double rooms at special rates they did not have any available on the same floor) The reception staff were always smiling and pleasant and amused by the antics of our small children (running in and out of the automatic sliding doors, spinning the lounge chairs, being slightly noisy etc) The hotel was quiet, clean and spacious for the price. There were no refrigerators in the rooms, but I think this is not uncommon in France and did not detract significantly from our one-night stay. We were able to purchase tickets for the aquarium from reception which saved us queuing for the tickets there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Great choice

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Modern, clean hotel with best hair dryer in France:). Perfect location if coming by train and renting car. Just a few blocks to the charming old city. Helpful staff. Poor WiFi connection.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by John from County Kildare,Ireland.

bright and modern hotel in pleasant location.

Posted Apr 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
We enjoyed our 3 days in La Rochelle. The weather was lovely and the hotel was everything we expected and more. The hotel is situated in a peaceful neighbourhood about 10 minutes retreat on foot from the old port area with its historic towers,reastaurants,bars etc., and start of one of the main shopping streets.The train station is only a short walk away.The hotel and bedroom were very clean and well maintained.The staff always greeted you with a smile or 'bonjour!' in the morning or when you arrived back and were helpful with all our requests.The breakfasts were perfectly sufficient,in a nice eating area. No complaints.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect for a one night stay

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Very convenient for restaurants and shops, great being able to get into our room early , to park the car and forget about it for more than 24 hrs. staff very friendly and helpful. Good having tea , coffee and water in the room. Would prefer separate toiletries. shampoo , conditioner. not a good view from our bedroom but fine for our one night stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Good hotel

Posted Oct 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
It was what would be expected from a Best Western
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ken & Maureen from Nebraska, USA

Close to everything

Posted Sep 21, 2013
Pros: It was comfortable and convenient.
Cons: We don't like sleeping under duvets - too hot & heavy. I'd like a regular sheet and light-weight blanket instead.
Location: Enjoyed the walk on the pier and also the beautiful architecture of the cathedrals.
We spent only 1 night but wish we could've stayed longer. We were driving from Tours to Cognac and wanted a look at the ocean. Enjoyed walking around the piers and watching the people who were also watching people.