Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good for budget overnight

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Campanile standard layout a little tired but fine for an overnight stop clean comfortable ans has all thay you need very close ro hyper u sp tou can get all of your shopping needs.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reading UK

Good for stopovers and visiting Saintes

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: Clean and comfortable - all you need for an overnight stay on the way South or back, or a couple of nights for touring the local area.
Cons: The TV had 20 channels all in French, and showing dubbed American kiddies cartoons, quiz shows or shopping. Makes the even the BBC look good.
Location: .It is located on a road junction, Royan / Rochfort, very convenient for visiting Saintes about 2km down the road, and for the A10 Bordeaux - Paris.
The Campanile Group provides a cheap (for France) reliable stop-over for couples and families, offering small but clean en-suite rooms and comfortable beds plus plenty of free parking. Think upmarket Travelodge. It had a bath/shower and good air conditioning. This location was opposite a nice Boulangerie and just down the road from a hypermarket which had a cafeteria providing a continental breakfast for two for less then €7. Don't bother with the Campanile Restaurant, there are better quality and cheaper options in Saintes.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by John from Isle of Wight (UK)

Convenient location

Posted Jan 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Convenient location for major road links and good parking. Very good breakfasts - plenty of variety. Our hotel room was warm and functional. There was no hairdryer as advertised in the room and a small fridge would have been useful. Overall we thought the hotel was good value for money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Steve C from Bishop's Stortford, UK

Friendly and convenient

Posted Jul 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
Reasonably priced, conveniently located for the motorway exit. Basic rooms, but good food available, and very friendly staff. Only regret is that we didn't leave ourselves time to look ground what seems to be a very interesting town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Mike from Stourbridge

Posted Jul 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
Comfy, clean hotel within short distance of autoroute. Good for overnight stop. Staff friendly and helpful. Food not as good as we have come to expect from Campanile group. Buffet had less choice than our previous experiences with this group, and I'm afraid our choice of lamb chops proved to be a bit too tough for NHS teeth! We would use this hotel again as Saintes is a convenient stopping-off point for our fairly frequent journeys further south.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Tiger from London

Don't

Posted Jun 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
Bar & restaurant closed at 10 pm, so no food or drink after 14 hr drive. 1 sachet of coffe & 1 tea bag in room. Rubbish, couldn't wait to get to a good Spanish hotel. Will take the ferry to Spain from now on, a terrible experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Comfy Beds

Posted Apr 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
For what we needed,the hotel rooms were very comfortable and the amenties in the room were very good, and the food in the restaurant was good. Only criticism was the leaflets in the room were in french and english,but,the menu in the restaurant was in french only and caused a little concern. It was great location for overnight stays between France and Spain - easy to find
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

POOR AREA

Posted Nov 25, 2012 on Hotels.com
The Campenile saintes is not a Hotel I would reccomend it is in a very run down area
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 15, 2012 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Roddy from S Queensferry, Scotland

A careful choice.

Posted Jun 22, 2012
Pros: Unlike Travelodge - a reasonable restaurant on site. Cleanliness
Cons: Knocked-about appearance, needs a repaint, lights in room not fixed after reporting, questionable billing.
Location: Easy to find edge-of-town trading area, Bricolage (=B&Q) opposite, Super-U near for discounted fuel.
The hotel was well located and signposted. The room was scrupulously clean, staff where not bi-lingual were helpful & patient. But the language barrier French - English I feel may be expoited - in the restaurant, an English couple beside us had to query their meal bill which incorrectly charged two drinks which were free on surrender of a coupon. We ordered a €14.90 meal, but were charged for each dish individually, at €7 more, and had to ask for the voucher drinks to be discounted. On checking out, we were asked to pay for the room again by the English-speaking clerk, even though our Expedia voucher was very clear. Fortunately my French is good and all errors were very politely remedied, but it makes one think...........