Ratings based on 53 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Bristol

TV coverage

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Pros: quitness
Cons: TV / internet VERY slow
Location: plenty
The hotel was very pleasant but the TV had 40 channels all in French - the recepetion area stated that the manager refused to connect an english speaking channel i e Euro news etc
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Fckfrom Indre et Loire

Entre le 3* et le 4*

Posted Sep 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Toilettes dans la salle de bain, cloisons entre les chambres assez fines, je m'attendais à autre chose pour un 4*. Néanmoins, tout le reste y est, accueil très chaleureux, emplacement idéal, propreté, service à l'arrivée...
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom England

Spa Hotel by the sea

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Pros: The restaurant is very good as is the café by the pool. A very good choice at breakfast and dinner was amazing. The pool is very good.
Cons: It would be better if the pool opened earlier so that it was possible to have a swim before breakfast.
Location: The location is by the sea and within easy reach of a very nice town called La Flotte where there is an amazing daily market and wonderful restaurants
We were disappointed that, despite arriving before lunch due to available flight times we had to wait until 4.00 pm for a room. We were told that they would ring us as soon as a room was ready but it would have been more honest if they had said that the room would definitely not be ready before 4.00 pm. The room was disappointing and desperately in need of refurbishment. Some of the rooms in the hotel have been refurbished and look very nice but the site is not very honest about the difference between classic, i.e. old, rooms and those that have been refurbished. It was also not very clean. The remainder of the hotel was good and most of the staff were helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jfrom Leicester

Excellent

Posted Aug 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
So I got off the Ferry in Caen and took the toll roads towards La Rochelle... until I was going the wrong way... twice. In the end, it was almost midnight when we arrived, but this was no problem for the night-porter. The politeness and ease with which we checked in at this unsociable hour was a started for our week in Sainte-Marie-de-Re. The staff were, on the whole, friendly and helpful (this was always the case for the ladies on reception). Beyond the reception staff, English was occasionally unspoken by other staff, leading to awkward conversations through mime in the restaurant. The room was clean and comfortable and looked out over a vineyard. The beach was only 15 seconds out of the reception and the spa (which I suspect is the reason many people stay here) is just down the beach a little. The advertised pool is a seawater pool, though there is a sauna and steam room as well, free to hotel guests. The local village is close-by, though for most things you'll probably want to go to La Flotte or Sainte-Martin-de-Re, which are both accessible by car or bike.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Steven Wfrom London

Excellent modern seclusion

Posted Aug 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
A great place if you want to stay in Ile-de-Re, but don't want to be bothered with the crowds. The hotel is located outside of Saint-Martin-de-Re, which seems to be the sleepiest of the island's main villages. Atalante is itself right on the beach and if you have an ocean facing room then it is like having your own coastline. The staff are friendly, if not overly eager to serve, and if you want a bike be sure to get it early; they are strictly first come, first serve. The rooms are modern and beachy, without running into kitchsy. They're also clean and the beds are very comfortable. The guests tend to be nice salubrious people from France and Spain (at least for our visit) as well, so you won't have to contend with undesirables.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Very nice stay. Good value for money

Posted Aug 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
We were on vaction in France and stayed at 6 different hotels, where this was the best in total. Good value and very nice location close to the sea. Nice service. The room was nice and spacious, with nice sea view. The location is quiet and we slept very well. We rented bikes at the hotel at a reasonable price and had a nice biking ride around the area. The island is a beauty :) The hotel has a supposedly very nice restaurant that we did not try. However, the petit-dejeuner was very nice with all you need. the restaurant area has nice view over the sea. The hotel also has pool, but we did not try this. Overall, our best hotel experience although we stayed at both more and less classy hotels than this. Recommended :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Paris

Bel hôtel au calme

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Bel hôtel en bordure de plage, au milieux des vignes. Personnel très aimable. Belle chambre, bonne literie, très calme. Le restaurant principal propose un menu du marché à 28 euros qui change chaque jour (entrée plat ou plat dessert), très frais et bon. Propose également un menu enfant à 10 euros qui réplique le menu du marché. Piscine agréable. Suis venu avec un enfant en bas âge (2 ans), tout a été fait pour qu'il se sente bien.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Never Again

Posted Aug 5, 2014
For the price, it was appalling. Travelling as a single mature woman, disgusted with the service, the price €242 for a room the size of a closet and NO REAL BATH. Further, they charged me for the dog - a fixed €16. I did better at a small family hotel near the beach in Vaux-sur Mer - for €91 - dog, bathtub, view included....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Spa
by A verified traveler

Week end très reposant

Posted May 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Tout était très bien! Nous avons passé un agréable séjour et y retournerons très certainement!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 24, 2014 on Hotels.com