Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Good centrally placed hotel for the town

Posted Aug 8, 2014
The hotel is central and ideal for a short stay in La Rochelle However there is no parking and it's on a busy road so tricky to stop and unload luggage Having said that Joan d'Arques car park is a short walk away and costs approx €10 for 24 hours. The cafe next door under the arch sells lovely coffee in the morning and let us buy croissants from a boulangerie and eat them with our coffee sitting at the cafe.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

noisy - and staff not bothered

Posted Jun 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
Not very impressed. We booked the hotel on the off chance late only to find out there was a music festival on in the are. Unluckly I had a room facing the street, not an issue apart from the ska band outside till 12:30, Then a load of drummers performing so loud that it was shaking the door to my room. I asked if I could be moved to another room because of the noise but I was told it was a national holiday and a special day and I could not complain. They would not move me as they said all the rooms were the same with the same noise. A real shame as it totally put me off dealing with this hotel chain again. Would not recommend if you require any kind of useful service from the hotel staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by shirley from warwickshire

Hotel in very good location

Posted Jun 1, 2014
The hotel is quite basic but very clean, bed comfortable and room had everything we needed for an overnight stay. We did not have the breakfast so I can not comment on that, we had coffee and pastries at the patisserie around the corner which was much cheaper and excellent. I would not like to have an extended stay at this hotel but for what we required it was more than adequate. I must comment on the staff who were most helpful especially with our non existent French. We were able to get breakfast tea in the bar which consisted of a large cup of hot water, tea bag and jug of milk, 2 euros each, wonderful. I would recommend this hotel for a short stay and the location could not have been better, right in the port next to all the bars, restaurants and shops.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Sep 3, 2013
Pros: Clean and friendly staff
Cons: Tea & coffee making facilities would be great
Location: Central location and plenty to do
Great stop over, central to La Rochelle, great restaurants and pubs
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Roger from Birmingham, West Midlands, UK

Great value hotel

Posted Jul 12, 2013
Pros: Cleanliness staff
Cons: No fridge in room and it needed it
Location: Good
Ideal location for quay,town restaurants and bars , friendly staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by JW from France

Good value Hotel

Posted Jun 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
Central location. No hassle stay with friendly staff and good value breakfast, Large comfy room..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Good position, clean and comfortable.

Posted May 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
This hotel provides easy access to all that La Rochelle has to offer. We had a great stay and our expectations were more than exceeded.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Nick

Ideally positioned and perfectly reasonable

Posted Aug 28, 2012 on Hotels.com
The hotel is ideally positioned for the centre. Staff were friendly although we spoke french to them. Room had aircon which was good. Only minor criticism was a lot of banging doors in the early morning though that could be due to inconsiderate guests!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Joanne from Wimbledon, London

Great hotel base to explore La Rochelle

Posted Aug 5, 2012
Pros: Location, functionality
Cons: Rooms sometimes wasn't serviced until late in the afternoon
Location: Right in the centre - the best location of the three IBIS hotels in La Rochelle
Brilliant location - very close to the old port - literally a 30 second walk to the centre of things. The entrance to the hotel is uninspiring and when you arrive may make you think you have made a wrong choice. However, if you want a functional room at a very reasonable price in the centre this is the one for you. Staff presence is minimalistic - the receptionaist is the only person we saw and they also seemed to run the bar - not that anyone used it. We had four nights here and found it to be perfect for our requirements as a couple who wanted to make the most of the amazing location and come back to somewhere clean and tidy.