Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 16, 2012 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by The north's

Great breakfasts

Posted Sep 6, 2012 on Hotels.com
We enjoyed our stay. Central location with nice secure parking. The breakfasts were a great start to the day with lovely big tables & loads to eat. Our room had a stale smell & no air con but it was clean & comfortable. The pool was too small to do anything but dip in to cool so expect to do lengths etc... Overall great
5 out of 5
Recommended
by alan

great location

Posted Aug 29, 2012 on Hotels.com
perfect spot rooms large bed good but could do with a bit of paint
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 26, 2012 on Hotels.com
the one major drawback to the hotel is that is does not have air conditioning.All our room had was two small fans which were inadequate in the La Rochelle heat. We are amazed after reading all the rave reviews on the hotel that nobody mentioned the fact that the hotel does not have air conditioning which we feel is a major set back to this hotel in the summertime heat! Is someone 'doctoring' the reviews?????
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Elegant and welcoming

Posted Aug 18, 2012 on Hotels.com
Fantastic and beautiful hotel, with friendly helpful staff. I was very impressed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Geradd

Very central location

Posted Jun 17, 2012 on Hotels.com
Very pleased, Staff were very helpful.
3 out of 5
by John from Fort Worth, TX

Ok but not quite

Posted May 29, 2012
Pros: Courtyard
Cons: Hostility of night clerk with the piercings and the lack of air conditioning.
Location: Fairly convenient to the harbor. A bout a 10 minut walk.
Room was small, queen was two twins pushed together. Bathroom large and modern. The lack of air conditioning was noticed one day when it was quite warm. The staff appeared to be of two extremes; either very helpful in most cases or hostile in one case. They have a lovely courtyard and pool which can be pleasant but the night desk clerk/bar tender seemed to believe it was her and her friends personal domain (hence the hostility). We did not try the restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kristen

Simply lovely

Posted May 24, 2012 on Hotels.com
A stunning hotel, staff were excellent, they spoke English very well. The room was huge & clean. Location was within walking distance to the port & lovely restaurants although the room service was also very reasonably priced & from conversations with other guests, the food was also good. Very happy with this hotel & would absolutely stay again next time passing through La Rochelle.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Wonderdog from Derbyshire

Lovely, just be careful with euros when wating out

Posted Apr 15, 2012
Pros: Comfy beds
Cons: No microwave or kettle in the kitchenette
Location: Great location
We had the two bedroom condos - in the less grand part of the hotel. Worked well for us - very comfy beds, weird German TV channels, and small kitchenette. Pluses were mostly friendly staff, location, free breakfast for kids. Minuses were although the kitchenette had two hot plates, there was no kettle or microwave. Given that it can be very expensive to eat out (150 euros for 6 of us for a 'nothing fancy' meal, a microwave would have been realy useful. The Carrefour at the end of the street was open all hours and very useful. Great places to visit were the Aquarium, the three towers and a bus trip to Ile de Re. All in all, an expensive but lovely trip!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by James from Romsey

La residence de france - hotel review

Posted Mar 29, 2012
Excellent hotel. Good location and friendly staff. Requested a top floor room which we received and had great views over the town. Didn't have their breakfast and instead went to the market and bought pan au chocolate and croissants and sat near the port. Great mini break. Very pleasant hotel.