Ratings based on 260 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

In walking distance for activities

Posted Jan 13, 2015
We went to Charleston for a romantic getaway and to get out of the cold in the month of January. We were pleased with the friendly and helpful staff. We were disappointed in the need for obvious repairs including the wood flooring in our bathroom that I kept a towel over to avoid splinters. Additionally the water heater went out multiple times during our stay, and a hot shower would have been nice. We were also disappointed in the breakfast, which was limited to bread, fruit, and yogurt during the week, and having to wait for things such as bacon, coffee cups, plates, etc. was ridiculous. We were happy with the ability to walk to many places to eat, drink and historical areas.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Pros: Location
Location: perfect location for downtown.
This hotel was a great place to stay. Staff was friendly, perfect location to downtown, and they have parking and free breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice inn with wonderful location.

Posted Jan 2, 2015
Charming inn within walking distance to the center of the historic district. Wonderful location for shopping, site-seeing and enjoying delicious food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Washington, DC

Adorable B&B close to everything in historic area!

Posted Dec 12, 2014
Pros: The location, the service, the amenities, the food, and the staff - all top notch. I would highly recommend this place to anyone visiting Charleston!
Cons: Nothing! Everything was wonderful :)
Location: Walking distance to the aquarium (I highly recommend the behind the scenes sea turtle tour), museum mile, Battery Park, ghost tours, etc.
Fantastic location, right next to King Street with great shopping and restaurants, walking distance to the aquarium (which is great), museum mile, Battery Park, ghost tours, etc. Staff were so friendly, welcoming and accommodating. The room was adorable, large, and breakfast was delicious. The daily afternoon tea and snacks was a lovely touch. The inn is just beautiful, I will definitely be back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Charleston, SC

Beautiful Old Home

Posted Nov 6, 2014
Pros: I like the features in the room, convenience of location, off street parking, and the d├ęcor was beautiful. Tastefully done.
Cons: I would suggest maybe putting the small fridge in the alcove which held the ice bucket etc. Just take it off the floor. It seemed out of place there.
Location: Tons of sightseeing in Charleston. It was very convenient to walking & touring.
We stayed one night, lovely room, beautiful home. I thought the outside courtyard was very pretty, although some of the outside exterior on the house is in some decay. But the off street parking was a plus. Perfect location downtown, to tour and visit the local sights on foot. The breakfast was good, & sitting outside to enjoy the weather was welcoming. The furnishing & details to the home are quite lovely, our room was tastefully decorated.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Richardfrom Tampa Fl

Charleston stay

Posted Oct 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
I night in Charleston .. Lovely home and ideal lication
4 out of 5
Recommended
by scott

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great B & B!

Posted Oct 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
We had a great time at Barksdale House Inn. The staff was helpful and friendly, allowing us to check in early since the room was ready. The free parking and convenient location is worth the stay. The room was large, the bed comfortable, and the amenities great. We had a problem with the toilet, which was taken care of promptly. The breakfast, though lacking hot items or proteins, was fresh and delicious. The tea time snacks were also delightful. The staff advice on places to see and eat were right on point. We will definitely consider staying here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jamesfrom London

A taste of the old south....

Posted Oct 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
This was a last minute booking on our travels around the southern states and provided a perfect base for our visit to Charleston. Its location was perfect for us to explore the old town and its veranda at the back provided a lovely quiet haven in which to relax in the evening. Our room was very spacious and full of character, and the whole property conveyed a wonderful sense of Charleston's glamorous past. Breakfast was delicious with the welcome inclusion of fresh fruit after several days on the road.