Ratings based on 230 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Charleston, SC

Beautiful Old Home

Posted Nov 6, 2014
Pros: I like the features in the room, convenience of location, off street parking, and the décor was beautiful. Tastefully done.
Cons: I would suggest maybe putting the small fridge in the alcove which held the ice bucket etc. Just take it off the floor. It seemed out of place there.
Location: Tons of sightseeing in Charleston. It was very convenient to walking & touring.
We stayed one night, lovely room, beautiful home. I thought the outside courtyard was very pretty, although some of the outside exterior on the house is in some decay. But the off street parking was a plus. Perfect location downtown, to tour and visit the local sights on foot. The breakfast was good, & sitting outside to enjoy the weather was welcoming. The furnishing & details to the home are quite lovely, our room was tastefully decorated.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

poor housekeeping and maintenance

Posted Oct 10, 2014
My first experience with a B&B it was disappointing The location is excellent the sheets were clean But that is where it ends No room to eat unless you go outside(two tables inside ) No tea at nite We made the mistake of not checking our room first so when returned later that nite found bathroom was dirty it looked like the sink and tub were wiped but shower curtain was dirty- floor flithy We were tired and it was late I always carry wipes So I cleaned The tops of everything were cleaned but that was as far as it went Under bed, closets,drawers, window shutters,fans were all layered in heavy dirt dust I was waiting for a response from management before I wrote this but have not received any but the initial we will get back to you We feel we should not have to ask for a clean room-- worn would have been bad enough but dirty was awful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Michigan

Great location

Posted Oct 4, 2014
Clean, comfortable accomodations in a great location with helpful, friendly staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: Better lighting in room, especially bathroom & alley leading to car. he building need to be cleaned, repaired and updated - inside & outside.
Location: The Charleston slave market, Bocci Restaurant, Hyman's Restaurant, Bob Ellis Shoes, Joseph Banks cClothing
Great downtown location. Walking distance to restaurants, shopping, tourist attractions.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tired Hotel

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Cleanliness and decor
Location: Close to main shopping areas and attractions
Our room was in need of some TLC. Bathroom left a lot to be desired and was quite dirty. Décor in bedroom was definitely in need of attention. General feel to the whole establishment was 'dated'. We left after only one nights stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Winston-Salem, NC

Wonderful bed and breakfast!

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Cons: My one and only complaint was the plumbing. Within minutes of turning on the shower there was 5 inches of stagnant water. It's minor and did not impac
The Barksdale Inn is absolutely gorgeous. The rooms are well furnished and cozy. The staff is incredibly friendly and breakfast was always delicious! My one and only complaint was the plumbing. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and when we are in Charleston again, will stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Katefrom Seattle

Quaint & convenient

Posted Aug 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
Barksdale was a comfortable and friendly place to stay. Close to Main Street downtown Charleston.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by frwfrom kentucky

well located, comfortable.

Posted Aug 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
If you want someone to brush your teeth and wash your clothes, try the Wentworth Mansion and pay $1000/night. If you want clean, pleasant people, nicely furnished period rooms in a very good location, you've found it! When reviewers complain that they had a limited breakfast, read the description before you move in; you get fresh coffee and enough to start the day with. If you need a four-head steam shower, go somewhere else. If you want a good tub and shower, come enjoy this one. Got it?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jackfrom Waldwick, NJ

Cant wait to come back!

Posted Aug 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Good location in the historic district - walking to distance to the sites of town plus they have their own private parking lot for your car. The hotel staff went above and beyond to make sure that we enjoyed our stay. Will stay here again next time I am in Charleston!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Terrific location and typical Charleston charm at a reasonable price. Very pleasant hosts. But - the wifi was not compatible with Apple products.