Ratings based on 608 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Another great stay at Charleston Place. They are in the process of updating but desperately need to upgrade the pool/spa/workout facilities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Outstanding Service

Posted Jul 25, 2014
Pros: Concierges were patient and well versed in how the city works. They can make things happen.
Location: No need for a car. You can walk to almost everything.
Newly done rooms elegant and comfortable. All of the highest quality. The Palmetto for breakfast is terrific. Again, the very best foods, coffee and service. Try the corned beef hash and french pressed coffe!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SC

A beautiful, beautiful hotel!

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: The staff was amazing and the hotel site was ideal for a stay in Charleston. Beautiful lobby and the rooms were gorgeous, too.
Cons: The air conditioning in our room had trouble keeping up w/ the lowcountry heat. We were a bit warm the first night we stayed.
Location: Fantastic shopping all over King Street and very close to the market, too. All of the great restaurants were a quick walk or pedicab away!
So much pampering at this fantastic hotel! The entire staff was wonderful. They were all so polite and gracious and made us feel very welcome. The rooms were very well appointed, just beautifully decorated. Very elegant. Very comfortable. We felt spoiled! We stayed on the club level and enjoyed many tasty treats and cocktails throughout the day. This hotel is close to everything - we walked to the most popular Charleston restaurants and enjoyed fantastic shopping on King Street, right out the side door! Our room had a little trouble staying cool, even though we had the thermostat all the way down. That, however, did not lower our opinion on this amazing place - will go back when we need another lavish weekend away! Highly recommend!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Beautiful hotel close to everything

Posted Jul 21, 2014
This hotel was even more lovely than we were expecting and everyone we spoke with was delightful and incredibly helpful. We were walking distance from everything we wanted to see and do. We would absolutely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Palm Beach, FL

In the heart of Charleston. Excellent location.

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: The room was clean and stocked with everything we needed. The pool and lounging areas were very nice.
Location: Horse and buggy ride, mansion tours, local playhouse, dining, walking and history
From the time we pulled in, the entire staff was kind and courteous. They were personable and offered suggestions for restaurants and activities to do while in town. They explained all the amenities of the hotel. I feel that the staff went above and beyond their responsibility and supplied us with a fantastic time while in town. I will definitely recommend this hotel to family and friends.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Canaan ct

Tired grand hotel

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Beautiful but tired hotel, centrally located in Charlezton. Food and wonderful piano bar are the best parts as rooms while fairly large are in need of updating. Staff not well trained, halls aren't air conditioned and rooms have trouble staying cool. Wouldn't upgrade us to higher floors and pet fee is per day, not per stay as better hotels. Felt like the feeling was Expedia guest are cheap.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 7, 2014
The hotel is in a great location and is comfortable, but feels a little old and not quite a four star experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gorgeous hotel in downtown

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: Decor was beautiful.
Cons: The pool was very crowded- 4th of July weekend- we couldn't find a spot to sit. Hot tub was grimy.
Hotel in a great spot downtown- right near The Market, shops on King Street, and walking distance to many restaurants and the Ft. Sumter Ferry. Room was immaculate, sheets and bed were so comfortable and housekeeping turned down the room each evening.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

Excellent

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Excellent is how I would describe the location, the people, the service, the overall experience. Perfect choice for a lovely Anniversary weekend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel rooms need updated

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Cons: Rooms
The entrance and lobby to the hotel is beautiful with shopping and great restaurants. However our room was in need of updates. The holes in the shower tile and outdated bathroom fixtures were not what you would expect from a hotel of this caliber. There was also lots of dust around fixtures in the living area. Friendly staff and overall nice visit