Ratings based on 660 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Carolina

31st anniversary

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Cons: We enjoyed our room, but I think a sleep master or Serta mattress would be more comfortable.
I believe this was my 3rd stay at this lovely hotel. My wife and I truly enjoyed our stay once again. One of the best hotel in the world. The city of Charleston by far is the most appealing city in this great country.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Renovated rooms are the way to go

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: Location is perfect - staff is super nice.
Cons: Pillows are too flat - beds are not comfortable at all.
Location: Right at the Market - close to everything you need to see downtown. You can walk everywhere or rent bikes and store them at the bellstand.
Our AC broke in our room and it took hours to get an engineer up to fix it, but once they got up there, the hotel was very nice and moved us to another room. It wasn't refurbished and not as nice - I asked to be moved again to one that was renovated and we were. Try to get one with the new marble shower! It was so pretty. My only complaint is the pillows are flat as pancakes and the beds were bouncy, not very firm - I felt my partner's every move. If you're going to spend the money on a marble shower, then get better pillows too! Didn't sleep well at all. Overall the hotel, staff and service are impeccable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Loved this hotel. Nicest hotel Ive ever stayed in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Nice hotel close to shopping

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: Location, staff very welcoming
Cons: Uncleaned / stained towel
Location: Good shopping location. Near King street and historic buildings
Good location with a grand entrance and welcoming conciege staff. However given the location and vicinity to king street, considering it still slightly overpriced. Hotel is nice with swimming pool, sauna room, and jacuzzi. However in the hotel room there is bit lacking in equipment. There is no mini fridge (ice room on each floor though), no electric kettle. Towel is not clean which is a little disappointing. Two of the towels have brown stains on them.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from charlotte

Very convenient

Posted Aug 25, 2014
This hotel is large and conveniently located. I thought the common areas and hallways were a bit warm but the weather was very hot! The staff was excellent especially nice to move our room due to the warm temp in our room. Wish the bar wasn't so dark, but a nice stay with friends! Definitely would recommend!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cary, NC

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Location to shopping and great restaurants was perfect.
Location to shopping and great restaurants was perfect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, close to everything

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Clean, Great services
Cons: Paying for parking. That should be part of your hotel fees
Great place close to all dining. Easy access to drive to beaches.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from long island, ny

Could have had warmer people at reception

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Beautiful comfortable great amenities( location, pool, spa)
Cons: A little warmth
Location: Center of everything in Charleston
Under no uncertain terms were that able to give us one of our two rooms early or stay late
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Everything you could ask for on premises.

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Location: Located in the heart of downtown Charleston, right across the street from the shopping market. Within walking distance to anything downtown.
We stayed in a "Club" room. The morning breakfasts, the afternoon snacks, and the evening desserts were very good. I was pleasantly surprised to find out that a top shelf bar was also included. I tipped very well and still saved an incredible amount of money on drinks for my wife and I. I would highly recommend this hotel and the "Club" rooms to anyone who likes to have a couple cocktails nightly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from k

Beautiful

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Great staff true southern hospitality. Wish pool area had more amenities and the hotel lounge stayed open past midnight.