Ratings based on 573 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by Cyntha and Ken from Florence SC

Disappointing....

Posted Apr 10, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: see above - staff and rooms
Came for our honeymoon - expecting - THE BEST. Our Special Event was never acknowledged.....Room, (a suite) needed repairs, Room service food and staff - far from 5 star. Tried to pay our bill at lobby bar with bartender one afternoon, was told, "well I didn't wait on you why should I cash you out?" For the price and reputation - go elsewhere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by matt from Lafayette, CA.

Stay in Charleston

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: Location, room size was great, excellent staff.
Cons: Better coffee
Location: If you want to visit the historical district, the location is great. Easy to walk to all the sites and shopping district on King Street is close.
Great location being i the center of downtown Charleston. The hotel is very well maintained, but a bit pricey. We stayed at the club level and the refreshments and breakfast were very good. Only surprising thing was the coffee was terrible. It was like something I would expect at a diner or gas station. Would have thought a hotel of this caliber could have done better with the coffee....picky, but still. The staff was very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gorgeous hotel in historic district Charleston

Posted Apr 2, 2014
Hotel is gorgeous. Room was very clean and had a great little balcony overlooking the city. Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. Can't wait to go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by David from LA and Atlanta

Perfect stay at Charleston Place

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: Service, Spa and locaiton
Location: There are a lot nearby. Market Street is 1 block away and the whole area has many nive resturants and shopping.
Our stay at the Charleston Place is nothing short of pecfection. The doorman greet us as our car arrives and even telling me the option of valet parking ($32) and the self parking ($12) which is 20 steps away and right in fornt of the hotel's driveway, the Bell Caption was knowledgable about the area and recommended Fleet Landing resturant which is fabulous and right on the water and near Market Street and within walking distant which makes the hotel's location very centralize but also close to the water. The salt water pool and spa were great. A perfect 10 and worth the $400 per night for the location, service and interior. We will go back to the Charleston Place nexttime we go to Charleston. Experienced Travalers and family
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful grand hotel in central historic Charlest

Posted Mar 25, 2014
Pros: Great amenities and location.
Cons: Pricing is steep, even considering great location and amenities. Dining costs particularly inflated.
Location: Great location, right near King Street shopping, Market Street, convenient enough to water activities and walking distance to the Battery et al.
The hotel is a classic, gorgeous, well-oiled machine in the center of historic downtown Charleston. Staff was helpful but discreet. Our recently remodeled room was beautiful with wonderful amenities. Spacious and pretty. Great on-grounds shops, dining, pool and spa, etc. Costly but upscale.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Beth from Southlake, TX

My Favorite Hotel

Posted Mar 23, 2014
Pros: The room was spacious and comfortable, the hotel was centrally located. The Charleston Place has wonderful staff in every department.
Location: Located right on King Street and Meeting Street. Walking distance to shopping, dining, market, Waterfront park, Marion Park, historic homes.
My daughter and I spent 3 nights at this wonderful hotel in the heart of Historic Charleston. Everything about it was perfect. It has set the new standard for excellence and hospitality.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by CC from NY

Planning a renovation?!!

Posted Mar 22, 2014
Besides awful bathroom hotel was good. Not so impressed by concierge!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

not really superb!

Posted Mar 21, 2014
its not a suite,just a room! the only thing close to a suite its the plaque on the door….
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jan from Ontario, Canada

Nice hotel central to historic area.

Posted Mar 13, 2014
This hotel had very good restaurants. Even though there was a 2 hour span between when lunch was over and dinner was open, you could get food (not meals)in the bar. I would have preferred to get a meal at any hour of the day. However, this did not alter my high opinion of this hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel was under construction during our visit

Posted Mar 3, 2014
We were placed in a room directly by the construction on the same floor. It was noisy and dusty. We were not informed prior to our visit that it was under renovation. The noise continued throughout the day even on the weekends. Unfortunately this really made this a bad experience for us as we were not accommodated in any way for the inconveniences.