Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Truly Great Lodge

Posted Jan 11, 2015
Pros: Alison & Andre have set the lodge up to be almost unbeatable set in a great location with great views
Cons: Get rid of the sand flies, next time I will bring the appropriate cream, even these could not change the fantastic location
Location: Go caving to see the glow worms, visit local beaches and the great restaurants in Westport
We arrived here after staying in a lodge at Punakaiki which we rate very highly but this lodge is far better, the views are fantastic the caving, cycling on the beach and the beach swimming ( in the River Nile ) were second to non We stayed for two nights and ate diner in Westport at Denniston Dog Restaurant which had great food The breakfast at the lodge was also very good Andre arrange to take their bikes to the local beach and we spent the afternoon cycling and swimming
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
by Julia Holyoakefrom New Zealand - Christchurch

Posted Oct 30, 2013
Pros: The double outdoor baths with a view to die for!
Cons: Nothing at all.
Location: Outstanding
Facilities: Home away from home; Value: Affordable; Service: Outstanding; Cleanliness: Immaculate; Spectacular location in one of NZs most scenic region. Really private.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Bill F.from Canada

Great and unique location

Posted Apr 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
We had a great stay with our hosts helping us with what to see and what to do in the area. Beautiful lodge with all the amenities. Location and view outstanding.
5 out of 5
by Sue Gielnikfrom Australia - VIC - Melbourne

Posted Mar 1, 2013
Pros: The lovely hosts and wonderful view.
Location: Inspiring, A truly amazing view
Facilities: Home away from home, Very cosy; Value: Amazing, free massages!!!; Service: Go the extra mile, Yummy breakfast; Cleanliness: Spotless; Do yourself a favour and visit this B&B
5 out of 5
by andrew farrantfrom New Zealand - Canterbury

Posted Jan 7, 2013
Location: Away from it all
Stay 2 nights
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
by Steve & Kathy Mathesonfrom New Zealand - Christchurch

Posted Nov 27, 2012
Pros: Linen and bedding, breakfast
Cons: Lighting and size of bathroom
Location: Relaxing and enjoyable
Facilities: Above average; Value: Affordable; Service: Outstanding; Cleanliness: Spick and span; Lovely views, great birdlife.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ray & Karenfrom Oregon, USA

Best hotel we stayed at

Posted Mar 17, 2012
Pros: Food, scenery, peaceful setting
Cons: bed size
Location: It's off the beaten path, but worth finding.
The only complaint, and a minor one at that, was that the bed was a bit small for me and my wife. But I'm 6'4" tall. Andre tells me they are planning to make the rooms larger over the off-season, so no doubt that will be remedied soon. Other than that, the food was fantastic (we ordered both dinner and breakfast). The scenery was gorgeous. And the place was super quiet and comfortable. Other than staying at our friends homes, this was the best hotel we stayed at during our two weeks on the south island.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom london

westport

Posted Feb 8, 2011 on Hotels.com
delightful house offering 2 double rooms en suite.Dinner also offered -3 courses.Breakfast provided between 0800-0900