Ratings based on 1,026 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, nc

Very nice area

Posted May 30, 2014
Pros: Location Staff
Cons: updating in hotel rooms
Location: shem creek for awesome restaurants--don't miss going to REDS
Very nice area--close to awesome restaurants and bars. Extremely friendly staff. Hotel is aging a little but still very clean and pleasant
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Shannon from Greenville SC

VIEWS ....We loved the views

Posted May 29, 2014
Pros: Pool area , beach area, activities set up daily for kids and adults , rooms were big and spacious , loved the shower . Really clean.
Location: We took the hotels trolley to downtown Charleston , drove to Shem Creek ....loved it there Walked to Patriots Point
The resort was beautiful. Easy access to where ever we wanted to go. Loved being able to walk on the piers and boardwalks to look at the ships in the marina. Staff was excellent and accommodating. The rooms were clean , we had 3 girls with us so we needed plenty of extra towels and wash cloths , they were brought to us with no problem or wait whenever we asked for extras. Will definetly be back in Oct for a girls weekend.
2 out of 5
by Dan from Cincinnati, OH

A one star hotel at a 4 star price.

Posted May 27, 2014
Pros: The location was nice and the view when you stuck your head out the window was nice.
Cons: Spend some of the money charged to actually update the hotel. Windows were fogged, door frame rusting, bedding old.
Location: USS Yorktown and the Maritime Museum, Bridge walk access, Restaurant next door, Marina. Make reservations in advance.
We paid the price for an upgraded view but weren't told that the windows panes were all fogged over. We also found out that not all rooms have balconies. The "mini-fridge" was about the size of something off a boat, placed on wheels in the middle of the room. The towels were frayed and appeared to be about 10 years old. There was complimentary shampoo, conditioner, body wash and body lotion; all great if you like smelling like Lemon Pledge. There is no water access. If you have young kids it's probably a great place but, if they are teens or older or you would actually like to get into the pool like an adult, you better keep looking. Definitely not what I thought I was paying for.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

relaxing

Posted May 26, 2014
the hotel has some wear and could use updating but is charming in decor, even if the building is worn a bit. convenient to get to Charleston and the surrounding areas with the trolley or water taxi but could use another eating drinking options possible poolside. would go again, this was a second visit and would go a third.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chatsworth, GA

Convenient to so many things

Posted May 15, 2014
didn't have to drive or walk far. can go by boat or trolley. Clean, high class establishment. AC was noisy buy efficient - the only complaint.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charleston-beautiful

Posted May 8, 2014
Delightful resort. Rooms very attractive although bathroom quite small! Good ambience!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by JM. from Pasadena

Great hotel, poor management

Posted May 5, 2014
Location: Located just a little more than 5 miles from Downtown Charleston.
Loved the hotel and Charleston. Great location but did not like the slight of hand by the hotel staff. We reserved a waterview room and when we got there we had a view of a palm tree. When we complained the staff rolled their eyes and said it was waterview. They then moved us up to the fourth floor where we had a nice view of the riverside. If you rent here the first two floors are obstructed views. At the end of your stay be prepared to receive a bill under your door for service fees. When we inquired about this, we were told it covered the costs of the "complimentary" coffee and "free trolley" and bike "rentals", etc. so be prepared for this. (We don't mind paying this fee but really would appreciate being told about it upfront, and not by a bill be slipped under our door). Other than that room was very nice, clean and hotel was 4 star. Pub located in the hotel was very nice and food was good. Staff in bar was very friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 27, 2014
Great location for price Would stay again. Had a free trolly or $12 round trip water taxi
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Amber from Charlotte, NC

Spring Break Vacation

Posted Apr 26, 2014
Overall experience with hotel and staff was wonderful. Our room smelled a little musty and the pillows were way too soft, but these things weren't anything we couldn't adjust too. Great location!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome base to see the attractions .

Posted Apr 25, 2014
The shuttle service to all points of interest is really great.The tour of USS Yorktown was inspiring for me.