Ratings based on 1,188 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom clearwater,fl

Alot to see.

Posted Apr 17, 2015
Pros: nice views, rooms great,
Cons: bar food not so good. Not fresh.
Location: Walked to the ferry to fort Sumter and the naval ship museum, Nice wooden docks to explore. Saw a dolphin playing near the shore from the docks.
Walked to the ferry to fort Sumter and the naval ship museum, Nice wooden docks to explore. Saw a dolphin playing near the shore from the docks.Next time will take the water taxi to historic Charleston . Layed back by the pool. A very nice restaurant near by for fish dinners in walking distance.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom South Carolina

Great Harbor Views

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Pros: Location, harbor views
Cons: Active construction zone, housekeeping, "top secret" room upsales when checking in
Location: Conveniently located close to tours of Aircraft carrier and Fort Sumter
We booked the "top secret" room and were sold an upgrade to a room with a harbor view when we checked in. The room did have a great view but lacked in overall cleanliness. We found used water bottles in the refrigerator and food wrappers on the floor. Other members of our group booked the "top secret" room and chose not to upgrade and were given the choice of a parking lot view or partial harbor view which unfortunately came with full view and sounds of the new construction next door making us appreciate the $$s we spent to be further from the construction site. We had to request housekeeping service after returning at 430 pm from a day of sight-seeing (having left our room at 9am that morning). The free shuttle is a nice perk but only available in 2-hour increments to leave or return to the property. Some in our group opted for the water taxi but were disappointed after paying for full day service that the taxi had stopped running earlier than advertised to return to the property. The hot tub was a cold tub and we witnessed several guests making a quick exit after discovering this fact. No signs were posted to alert guests of this unfortunate detail.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom louisville KY

location location location

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Pros: The trolley, bikes and front desk staff.
Cons: More of a schedule for the lobby coffee , water and juice. It was hit or miss most days
Location: Easy access to Charleston , all of patriots point, and the waterfront/bridge park. Minutes from Shems creek.
The hotel was nice enough. There is no full service restaurant. There is buffet breakfast or afternoon/evening bar food. I booked a harbor view, however my room was in the corner and too low to have much of a view. The remote for the TV was well used and a little wonky, the TV itself got local and basic cable channels, no movie or premium channels. The fish house was good food, however it was very slow service and expensive. We had a vehicle and quickly found our way around off property for meals. The transportation was easy to use and on time, the bicycle rental was also very helpful. This is the kind of place you stay because of location. The front desk staff was very nice. Mac was always smiling and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Poor mattress

Posted Apr 10, 2015
The accommodations were nice. The staff was excellent and the service was great. My only complaint was that one of the beds in our room had a very poor mattress. I recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Alexandria

Week away!

Posted Apr 5, 2015
Pros: The room is big and comfortable.
Cons: They need more luggage carts.
Location: Too much to list you need to go online and see for your self.
The room was great the shuttle service into downtown Charleston is perfect. You can stay right on the property and do a ton of things within walking distance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Medina, Ohio

The view and friendliness

Posted Apr 2, 2015
Pros: the amenities where wonderful
Cons: The shower was hard to turn on and the bathroom door pocket door was very difficult to open and close
Location: Wonderful activities
Wonderful time and convenient to city. The rooms where very comfortable and relaxing. Very clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely place.

Posted Mar 31, 2015
The staff were wonderful. So friendly and helpful. The place was clean and comfortable. The free shuttle to Charleston so convenient. Only complaint is annoying fan running somewhere outside out balcony. But we would stay again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dirty and moldy

Posted Mar 28, 2015
My room was filthy. The bathroom was moldy. There was hair from prior guest everywhere. The wood trim in the bath was dusty,dirty and molded.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom charleston, sc

Call before you check in - things not up to par.

Posted Mar 23, 2015
This is my fourth time staying at this resort over the past 10yrs. It USED to be my fav. I arrived on the second day of spring Saturday, March 21, 2015. To my dismay, the pool was drained and the large area was all taped off where lounging chairs and outside Tiki Bar (food and drink) were closed-no entry. The other bar inside hotel (Reel Bar) scheduled to open at noon did not open til 5pm. There is building construction going on also. I paid $345 per nite (room and taxes) and my view was the parking lot. Pretty sad Saturday for meeting friends for lunch and cocktails at the pool.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom n.j.

Nice hotel friendly staff

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Pros: Pleasant stay and helpful staff. Also they provided free bike hire.
Cons: Updating the rooms ,
Location: The location was nice , right by the marina. Cycling was easy because the roads were flat.
The hotel is in a lovely position and we were pleasantly surprised of the shuttle back and for to charleston.