Ratings based on 1,026 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CT

Was not told that hotel was under construction

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Nice location
Extremely load construction noise Monday-Friday, 8:30AM to 5:30 pm. No apologies from staff or warning prior to checking in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice stay!!

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: Good floor plan, well laid out. Clean and properly maintained. Free parking & shuttle to the historic district.
Cons: Front desk should be more clear about room location at check-in.
The staff here was great, extremely helpful & welcoming. It is a great location with excellent views. Our only disappointment was having a room on the north side, which faced a construction site with jackhammers and all the related noise & dust. To be fair, the property is well-maintained and well staffed..
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

Terrible Room, Hints of Racism from other Guests

Posted Jul 5, 2014
This was our experience after paying extra for an upgrade for a room with a view: Palm trees blocking view Right side of curtain doesn't close to balcony Security lock to balcony inoperable Stains on mattress pad Uncomfortable, hard substandard mattress Fan in bathroom inoperable Small bathroom, cracks on countertop, toilet seat stains, broken sink stopper Air conditioner ran constantly did not cycle on and off, u have to get up to turn it off and get up to turn it back on when it gets too stuffy Room cold even when temp set at 85 degrees Thin, porous cover, had to take cover from 2nd bed to stay warm Mold on curtains Hints of racism from other guests/staff in the bar and diners at the fish house. Some guest behaved as if they had never seen a person of color before. Young waiter at fish house told us the people sitting in the booth next to us were weird and had a color problem.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from in

Disappointing for the price

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Loud construction noise during the daytime. Good ferry access to Charleston. Never washed glases in three days.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Blythewood, SC

Anniversary Weekend

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Pros: The location and the water taxi.
Cons: Microwave in room would be a nice addition.
Location: Downtown Charleston Fish House Restaurant Aquarium USS Yorktown
Hotel was was nice. Our room was clean and available when we arrived. We used the water taxi to get around. Day trip was $10.00 per person. Our dinner at the Fish House was delicious. There is construction going on around the hotel so it will be kind of noisy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Delware, OH

Relaxing and great location

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Pros: Location, atmosphere, value, and the shuttle service provided
Cons: Nothing that I could think of
Location: Great location. About 10 minutes to downtown Charleston. There are plenty of local restaurants and grocery stores near by.
The hotel was very nice and close to downtown Charleston. There was a great view and a nice "beach" area near the pool to sit and relax on during the day and in the evening. There were restaurants close by as well as the hotel bar and restaurant which was not bad for a small place. They have a nice workout facility and our room was very comfortable. The king bed was great. The only complaint I have is the noise from the construction of the new rooms next door, but it did not ruin the experience. The staff was always nice and helpful. I think it was a good value for everything that was included. There was a nice pathway to run or bike around the area and you can take it all the way to the bridge and bike or walk the 2.5 miles across. Nice scenery.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Columbus, oh

Friendly staff.

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff and location
Cons: There is a sandy area by the Barbour, but this is not a beach. Just be aware.
Location: Isle of Palms beach. Magnolia Plantation and Drayton Hall. Reds seafood resteraunt and bar. Downtown Charleston. Fort Sumter. The Hunley. Kayaking.
The staff was super. Everyone went out of their way to say Hello and off Eric help. My daughter and I enjoyed our time there and the staff was a huge part of the package. Right now, they are having massive construction during the day. The hotel reservations staff was honest and upfront about it. It did not detract from our enjoyment because we were sight seeing all day. The location is ideal. Straight across the harbor from the Battery and The Frencg Quarter. You could take the hotels free "trolley". Or $10 a day to use the water taxi unlimited rides (think cheap boat rides)
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Average

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Pros: Good central location to lots of activities
Cons: Decor, appointments, cleanliness.
This place is fine but very average. It appeared there are plans for a complete renovation and it is probably due, because much of the decor and appointments are outdated and look old. The idea of the resort is cute; the man-made beach is nice, and the view is good and the activities seem nice, but our room was dirty and the pool wasn't much better and they could do a better job overall just with management and taking the effort on the little things.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Annapolis, MD

Great View, Lousy Food

Posted Jun 18, 2014
Pros: Charming rooms, Nice Atmosphere and Great Staff.
Cons: The Food.
The hotel was very charming and the staff was very nice and accommodating.The construction wasn't really an issue. The only thing that I really was disappointed in was the food. Between the breakfast in the morning to the Restaurant they own next door the food was over priced (buffet $15.95 - not worth it) and the appetizers at the Restaurant were terrible (so we ended there). I would recommend staying at the hotel, just eat somewhere else.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice place but not worth the money

Posted Jun 3, 2014
For the amount of money spent on the place I expected more. It is very nice and close to charleston just not a value. We have no complaints but a holiday inn express would be just as nice.