Ratings based on 215 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location, but somewhat dated.

Posted Aug 18, 2014
The location of this Clarion was good because of proximity to beaches and lots of good restaurants. However, the Clarion itself was a bit outdated, i.e. patches of paint that hadn't been finished, a bathroom door that wouldn't close properly, etc. The room had a musty smell to it, which may be due to the fact that the rooms have immediate outside access, more like a motel of days gone by. We only took advantage of the complimentary breakfast one morning as the food was cold and tables weren't cleaned quickly. The recepton staff was pleasant, our room was clean and the bed was comfortable, however I don't think that we would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Better than expected

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: The new beds and hot breakfast.
Cons: Try to get rid of the palmetto bugs in the rooms.
Location: Right off the main route connecting Mt Pleasant and Charleston
We were looking for a cheap room for 2 nights just to sleep in. The hotel has undergone renovation recently. The lobby and rooms have been updated and the included hot breakfast was better than most other similarly priced hotels.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Very nice room, lovely location and highly recommended. this was not a 4-star 5-star hotel but very very nice to stay in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Myrtle Beach

Nice place for the price, compared to all others.

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: Value
Cons: The free breakfast
Spent one night here after going to a wedding nearby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Frannie from Maryland

Good alternative to downtown Charleston

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: Location and cost
Location: This is convenient to downtown Charleston. Parking in town is about $2/hour, so it's no big deal.
I stayed here while attending a conference in downtown Charleston. At first, I thought it would be inconvenient because it was on the other side of the river, but that was not the case. It is very convenient, easy to reach, and a lot cheaper than the conference hotel! The rooms were clean, the pool was a nice amenity after sitting in meetings all day, the breakfast was good, and the staff was very pleasant.
3 out of 5
by Gina from VA

Poop in the pool. Very hard to find hotel.

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Poop in the pool by kids. The pool is in horrible condition. Not clean at all. Tiles have not been scrubbed in years. Looks very old. Rooms were ok but old. Staff were very nice. Breakfast was just ok. Eggs were horrible. I would not spend the same amount for this very old hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted May 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
The room was fine but there appeared to be some type of employee unrest if some sort as there was a very visible attitude not the customers but between the workera
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Joe from huntersville, nc

1 night stat

Posted May 30, 2014
Hotel was recently updated with a modern look. Breakfast was good. Overall, nice stay and no complaints.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 28, 2014
Pros: Convenience to area
Location: Ravenel bridge, Isle of Palms, Charleston
Overnight stay at this hotel was comfortable. Clean room and bathroom. Pool area neat and clean.