Ratings based on 171 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel in quiet location

Posted Apr 18, 2014
This hotel which has recently been upgraded is in a good location with easy access to the beach and marina. The rooms are very good and are quiet. The hotel has a pool and a good free buffet breakfast. The staff are very helpful and parking is easy
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stopped short of a great re-model!

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Remodel gave the rooms a great overall look. However, bathroom still lacked vitally needed overhaul. Toilet and shower/tub were greatly lacking in cleanliness of appearance. Severely stained and whether or not they were dirty, they felt dirty. Also found hair in the "clean" towels. Not very sterile or attractive! Additionally room had an odd odor. After being in the room for a while you begin to get used to it. Not really something that I want to get used to though. Also had very streaky marks on counter and bedside table surfaces. As if nothing was cleaned well (or sanitized), but rather just wiped with whatever was on them.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Deal

Posted Apr 14, 2014
The hotel has just been remodeled. It is very clean. The breakfast room was very crowded at 8am. Overall, very nice stay at one of the least expensive hotels in town.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lynn from Kansas City

Room phone dead several days; Staff unresponsive

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Pros: Very convenient location. Nice pillowtop bed. Fine if you want the bare minimum and don't mind no phone, no bath latch, and over-crowded breakfasts.
Cons: Front desk staff could communicate between shift changes about problems reported. Staff should definitely respond to guests about resolution underway.
Location: Great easy-to-find motel to explore Charleston and vicinity by car.
This was our first visit to the Charleston area. The Clarion Inn was easy to find and convenient for touring by car. They said it had been "recently renovated" and the motel provided the bare essentials of a reasonably clean & pleasant room, great bed, good bathroom facilities, clean front lobby, and plain continental breakfasts. When the wireless internet didn't work with my laptop, their on-call service person was prompt, patient and clear in resolving this. However, our room phone never worked during our several-days stay and the four successive front desk personnel we promptly reported this to were each surprised to hear of this! We were never told if anyone was working to resolve this until we finally happened upon a manager present to talk to. This was a big security concern to my companion since the rooms only have outdoors entrances with no way to call for help if assaulted at the door or for some other emergency. A sticky spot persisted on the bedroom floor between room cleanings, the sink drained slowly, the TV with USB port would not play movies with a flashdrive, and the doorknob to the toilet & shower was unfinished with no latch -- not a big problem, but unpleasant. I am easily pleased on my travels and don't mind tent camping, but these conditions did not meet my companion's sense of reasonable motel facilities. And both of us were displeased with the lack of responsiveness about the dead room phone and seeing no one come to repair it when they said they would.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sue from East Tawas, MI

Old style motel that has been very nicely updated.

Posted Apr 7, 2014
All was good, but no elevators, outside entrances and steps.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: Nice and clean
Cons: The tolet flushed really slow...that was my only complaint.
Location: The location was perfect! We went on the dinner criuse, and we was just 7 miles away! And not far from the market either!
It was very comfortable, clean and the breakfast was good! I would stay there again!!
3 out of 5
by stanley from Myrtle Beach SC via Rochester NY

Nice Hotel "BUT"!!!

Posted Mar 27, 2014
Pros: We loved the nice BED,new Furniture,TV and New sink & counter.
Cons: Replace the TUB & TOILET .
Location: Perfect location for shopping & dining between Mt.Pleasant SC & Chalelston SC
1.The Toilet was cracked & wobbled. 2.The tub floor looked like a tub in an abandoned "Crack House". 3.The Bathroom Vent was packed with visible DUST ! 4.The Air/Heat pump Air Filter was packed with DUST !!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Astarte from TN

Excellent value

Posted Mar 23, 2014
Location: Just over the Cooper River Bridge and and easy ride into Charleston.
Clean, very comfortable beds and a great place for the cost.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by michelle from lula ga

Great hotel!

Posted Mar 14, 2014
Hotel was very nice, the breakfast was delicious and the waffle maker rocked!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

We were very pleased.

Posted Nov 10, 2013
Pros: Their handicap rooms worked well for us.
Location: Located in Mt. Pleasant with plenty of fine restaurants, etc.
Room was clean, beds were comfortable, had everything at our disposal. Will stay there again.