Ratings based on 505 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Louisville

Total dump

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: Very generous with towels.
Cons: Read above.
Location: Hotel is located literally right off of the interstate in a sketchy seeming neighborhood. Lots of fun stuff to do in Charleston, just none near here.
This hotel is described as being located in "historic downtown Charleston." A more accurate description would be "right off the interstate, several miles from historic downtown Charleston." The parking is inadequate and the hotel has a rundown appearance both inside and out. The first room they put us in was absolutely filthy. In addition to having a strong smell of stale cigarettes, there was a pile of dirty sheets in the middle of the floor. Every surface-mirrors, pictures, tv, microwave, furniture-was covered with a layer of grime and fingerprints. The second room had not even been cleaned-it was wide open and an abandoned cleaning cart in the middle of the room. The third room was marginally cleaner, no dirty sheets in the middle of the floor, but again, all of the surfaces had a layer of grime and fingerprints. By this time it was close to 6pm on a holiday weekend so we didn't have time to find other accommodations. I was told by one of desk clerks that since we booked through Expedia she couldn't give us a price adjustment even if she wanted to. I was a bit taken aback since I hadn't said anything about a price adjustment. Under different circumstances we would have left.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Location: the hotel location is excellent making it very easy to travel to all the attractions in Charleston.
We enjoyed our time in Charleston. The Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The parking for inner city hotel was very good and the building was well kept and comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Raleigh NC

A Decent Hotel

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness
Cons: The parking was subpar
Location: The peninsula is fairly small so there are many things to do, but you are about a mile and a half away from the bustle.
I enjoyed my stay at the Comfort Inn, Charleston, SC despite its location being somewhat off the beaten track from the sights of down town. If parking weren't so bad in the city then the location would have been just fine but such is not the case. Otherwise the hotel is great as long as your not looking for luxury.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Allison from Boston, MA

Does the trick!

Posted Jul 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
We had to tack on a night for a family wedding/vacation and couldn't get into our hotel in the heart of Charleston so we booked here instead. Check in/out was VERY easy. The gentleman let us know about the free trolley to the visitor center and we were on our way. After being on the trolley for a few minutes I realized we were not in the nicest of neighborhoods and def. went through some abandoned houses/low income homes. Other than that, the pool was great and the free breakfast was key!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Jason and Mani from Florence, SC

Small room but served purpose.

Posted Jun 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Stayed here on a Sunday night. Tried to check in early but their system was down. The staff seemed lost and would not accommodate. The room was very clean and modern but was very small......p like Japanese pod hotel small nearly. My fiance and I stayed in a no smoking King. Upon checking out the gentleman at the front desk was on the phone and was obviously upset. Not a good look for the hotel as he was short and curt with me. Overall the hotel has a good location and if the price was right we stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Service was great. Location not so much
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great Value

Posted Jun 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Friendly staff, great location, great deal!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by heinztannat

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Jun 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very good
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel with reasonable rates

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Room was clean and well kept. Bed pillows were the most comfortable of any place I have ever stayed. Breakfast choices were excellent. Only complaint: snack machines were not working properly