Ratings based on 314 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Myrtle Beach

Relaxing and Enjoyable

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Pros: They were clean and the hotel staff was very nice.
Cons: The parking was horrible. For the number of guest rooms, they did not have enough parking. They definitely need to do something about the parking.
Location: The location is ideal to downtown Charleston.
Overall, my family enjoyed our stay at the hotel. The rooms were clean and updated. They were a bit small but then again we were only sleeping in them. The hotel staff was very friendly.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Catherine from Johannesburg, South Africa

Good for the price

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Nice big room, large and comfortable bed. It's about a 30 minute walk to the heart of downtown or the CARTA bus stops right at the hotel. The breakfast wasn't great but otherwise a good place to stay. Just a heads up, when asking reception to call you a cab, specify which cab company you want or else you get ripped off. The first time, they order a private SUV cab company which charged $40 to take us to Magnolia Plantation, on the way back we got a yellow cab on our own and it was half the price!
2 out of 5
by Vicki from Greenville, SC

Switched without compensation

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Pros: Only thing is close to MUSC
I booked this hotel for my husband and son since they had to go to MUSC the next day for testing. Booked a room with two double beds, only to find upon arriving they were told the room they were assigned had an a/c leak. So......rather than putting them in another double bed room, or even upgrading them, to say maybe a king size bed( which two men could do with pillows between them), they wound up in a queen with a roll away bed. Oh, and no cost for the roll away( friggin well better be at no cost). Neither of them slept well at all. Next time they have to go back to MUSC they will most definitely NOT be staying here. And, I'm sorry, but there should have been compensation from them, as the room they got was not what was purchased(I'm just saying).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Spring Break Trip!

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Pros: Price, convenience to downtown, cleanliness, free breakfast
Location: SC Aquarium, Sunset/Dolphin cruise at Patriot's Point, Historic Charleston, Children's Museum, Carriage Rides, Fort Sumter Tour, USS Yorktown Tour
For the cost, this hotel met all of my family's needs. Room was clean, staff was friendly, breakfast was excellent. Trolley stop in front of hotel made it very convenient to get to the SC Aquarium and to the Market without having to drive the car. Would definitely stay at this hotel again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Apr 15, 2014
I forgot my key in the room and when I went to get a new one they did not even ask for ID just gave me a new key. Anyone could get a key to any room like that.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location not for sight-seers

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: Fine for sleeping, but not for sightseeing. That is the ONLY reason for not recommending this hotel to a friend.
Cons: Better computers. Difficult to print out boarding passes. Was able to use computer at main desk.
Location: Fuel - restaurant from a converted gas station. Along shuttle route on Rutledge. Good food - not near downtown though.
The hotel was fine -- no major complaints. The main issue was that it is far away from all the sights and restaurants that you want to see when you visit Charleston. There is a shuttle stop a few feet from the front of the hotel, but it runs about every 20 minutes and takes about 15 minutes to get to the "downtown" area (Charleston Visitors Center - other hotels - museum - shopping - tours, etc.). If you need a hotel near either the VA Hospital or MUSC (major Charleston hospital...don't know the full name), then this a a good hotel at which to stay. Parking could be tricky, but for the most part you don't need your car when visiting Charleston. The free shuttle (there are 3) take you most of the places you'd want to go. The people were very nice. The weather (early April) was lovely.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent downtown location

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Pros: Reasonable rates
Cons: Bathroom needs a update...but very clean
The hotel was in a good location...nice walk to downtown during te daylight hours...definitely take a taxi home at night. Across the street from MUSC.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by manny from virginia

Value for money is good.

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Pros: The breakfast is much better than in other hotels of same category.
Cons: Check-in time at 3 pm is too late. Move check-in time to at the latest 2 pm.
Location: The location is far from the historic city where the action is. Nothing much to do.
The distance to historic downtown is a good fifteen minute ride from the hotel. However the free shuttle service every 30 minutes. provided by the city has a bus stop just 20 meters away from hotel.
3 out of 5
by crystal from greenville sc

Needs repairs

Posted Mar 28, 2014
The fan made a knocking noise, the room smelled wierd, the frig wouldn't stay closed and started rattling during the night,the ice maker was out of order and wifi kept going out.
2 out of 5
by Bernie from Dorchester, SC

Disappointing and overpriced

Posted Mar 25, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: The staff knowledge and mannerism, the breakfast, the a/c units.
Location: Nothing really close by actually except Wendy's and Burger King.
The hotel was over priced and disappointing. The rooms a/c unit did not function properly, the staff was rather rude when I phoned about the check in time and tried to explain we would be in around 6pm. The woman who answered the phone was gruff and abrupt in her tone. The staff was not helpful as to places to find some Tylenol or aspirin. The breakfast bar biscuits were as hard as rocks. I would not recommend this hotel nor will we stay in this facility again anytime in the future.