Ratings based on 320 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom l

Outside looks better than inside

Posted May 29, 2015
The hotel was ok. The inside was old and run down. The staff was ok. They were not rude but would not allow us a late check out even though we got in so late. I would only stay at this hotel again if the room was cheap and we just needed it for a night or two. I would not vacation at this hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

River and Marina views

Posted May 24, 2015
Nice hotel, about a 5 min drive to historic district. Hot breakfast buffet available. Free parking and WiFi. Nice pool. Decent fitness room. The staff was friendly. I would stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 26, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for choosing the Courtyard Charleston for your recent stay and for your feedback for fellow online reviewers. We are glad you enjoyed our many amenities we have to offer, our "southern charmed" location and found our service to be excellent. We look forward to visit us again soon. Thank you again and Travel Safe. Mark Thomas General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Columbia, SC

Disappointed

Posted May 11, 2015
Pros: The bed was comfortable and the view was nice.
Cons: Cleanliness needs to be addressed.
Location: The location offers a nice view, but you have to drive to do anything near by.
There is no full service (breakfast, lunch, dinner) restaurant at the hotel. I found hair and crumbs in several places in my room. There is no lobby to drive up to, so if it's raining you and your luggage are going to get wet. The front desk staff were pleasant.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 14, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for selecting our hotel for your recent visit to historic Charleston. We were pleased to welcome you as our guest and are especially grateful for your business given the many hotel choices available to you.Thank you for taking the time to post comments about your experience with us. Please accept my sincere apologizes that your recent stay did not meet the expectations you have come to know at Courtyard. We work tirelessly to ensure a clean and well maintained property, with everything in good working order and you have aided in our efforts. We will take immediate steps to address all the concerns you have shared. Thank you again for staying with us and helping to improve our property. Mark Thomas General Manager Courtyard by Marriott Charleston - Waterfront
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Woodbridge, U.K.

Great views and good shuttle bus to historic centr

Posted May 10, 2015
Pros: Clean, quiet, safe.
Location: Historic quarter is well worth exploring on foot so allow a full day for your visit.
Not as close to centre as some hotels but a shuttle bus ($6 per person for all day pass) makes the trip very easy. Parking is on site and the rooms are what you expect from a mid range chain like this.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 12, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Julian, Thank you for your recent stay at the Courtyard Charleston. I am glad that our "southern charmed" location on the river with beautiful sunset views, added on to your Charleston experience. Charleston has so much to offer from shopping to gourmet restaurants, to historic plantations to visit and relive the past and I am glad that our timely shuttle service worked well for your visit. Thank you for sharing your experience with the fellow online reviewers. Mark Thomas General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Courtyard Charleston Waterfront by Marriott

Posted Apr 30, 2015
Pros: The staff were really friendly and the waterfront view was nice
Cons: customer service
Location: There are plenty of tours Charleston offers. Unfortunately I was unable to partake as I was only in town for the night.
There is no room service at this location and the night before I checked out getting in touch with the hotel lobby from my room phone was impossible. I had to physically go to the hotel lobby just to ask a simple question that could have been easily answered over the phone.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 4, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Marie, We appreciate you choosing the Courtyard Charleston for your lodging needs recently. Thank you very much for reporting the phone issue. Please accept my sincere apologies. We now know there is an issue in our coverage and will be addressing it through training. Thank you for your candid feedback and staying with us and helping to improve our property. Mark Thomas General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Hampshire

Pretty location overlooking a marina.

Posted Apr 29, 2015
Pros: Location, ease of parking, shuttle service, view from room. Would have enjoyed using the pool area but we were too busy sightseeing.
Cons: I've read the rooms will be undergoing renovations.
Location: Overlooks a marina, very picturesque. Close to busy historic area. Shuttle transports you to Battery park which is in walking distance to everything.
Older basic Courtyard rooms however most importantly the beds were very comfortable. Balconey was very nice overlooking the pool area and marina. Lobby area updated. Parking easily accessible. Shuttle to historic section which is only 5 minutes away was very enjoyable due to the friendly and very informative shuttle driver. The Saturday we were there was extremely busy, with prom goers, wedding parties, college students, tourists. Very stress free using the shuttle even though a fee is involved. I preferred not staying in the historic area as it was very, very congested due to it being a busy night. Make reservations ahead of time for restaurants. All were very busy with no availability until the next night. Luckily found a barbeque restaurant on a side street. We enjoyed our stay however our rate was much higher than others.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 1, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Lin, Thank you for your review and I am so pleased you enjoyed your recent stay at the Courtyard Charleston. It is great to hear you loved your room with the beautiful river views, were satisfied with our facilities. I am glad that our shuttle was convenient for your visit and with our location minutes away from downtown, made us the hotel of your choice in Charleston. Thank you again for all your complimentary comments and we do hope to welcome you back soon. Travel Safe. Mark Thomas General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 24, 2015
We went to the front desk on three different occasions to have them call us a cab. No one ever mentioned that the hotel had a shuttle. We found out while waiting outside for a cab. When the shuttle pulled up.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 27, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write regarding your stay with us. I was pleased to hear you enjoyed your overall stay. I apologize for the inconvenience caused, as the front desk staff did not provide you with proper information regarding our shuttle service. I am truly proud of my staff here at the Courtyard and the standards we upheld in our guest service, so I will take it upon myself to ensure this is an isolated incident. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will give us another chance in the near future. Travel safe. Mark Thomas General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location not close tourist attractions

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Nice view of marina from terrace. View from room was a parking lot. Driving back and forth to tourist attractions from hotel difficult with rain, traffic and parking issues. Breakfast service poor, food ok.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 22, 2015 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your stay. I was pleased to hear you that you enjoyed the view from our hotel. However, I was sorry to hear that you noted that our location was not to your satisfaction. I would like to apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you and that our breakfast was not to your liking. I appreciate your feedback as it helps us to continually improve upon our service I do hope you will reconsider and return to the Courtyard Charleston. Travel safe. Mark Thomas General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Charlottetown PEI

A Great Place to Base a Visit to Charleston

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Pros: It covered all the needs for travels from a quick breakfast to laundry facilities,
Cons: Short of moving the hotel closer to downtown, nothing.
Location: Enjoy all of Charleston but take a horse carriage ride for sure and visit a lot of restaurants.
This was a great hotel choice for our three day Charleston visit. The rooms were clean and spacious, The deck and pool was a great place to sit out and the shuttle was a great way to visit downtown Charleston.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 7, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Good day Terry, Thank you for your recent stay at the Courtyard Charleston and your feedback for fellow online reviewers. I am so pleased to read that you were happy with our property and clean accommodations. I am glad that our shuttle service proved to be convenient for your visit. We hope to welcome you back soon. Travel Safe. Mark Thomas General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice location w easy access to downtown & surround

Posted Apr 5, 2015
Pros: Access to areas surrounding Charleston.
Cons: More storage space in the bathroom area.
Access to downtown and surrounds is particularly nice if using car to see more than simply downtown Charleston. Avoid the hassles with downtown parking. Trolly to downtown is easy to use. Or walkable. Or bike-able. Lovely riding in fact through downtown Charleston and if so inclined over the Arthur Ravenel bridge to Mt. Pleasant. Access to interstate or highway in any direction of potential interest is fabulous. Rooms are nice and a mirror of any Courtyard I've stayed in. Lobbies (main and on every floor) and ammenities are expanded and quite nice. Lovely pool and lounging areas. Very nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 8, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your wonderful review and stay here at the Courtyard Charleston. it was a pleasure to read that you liked our location and it's convenience as it is just minutes away from downtown Charleston where there are so many restaurant and shopping choices. It is great to hear you loved your room and our property. Thank you again for your complimentary comments and we hope to see you back again soon. Travel Safe. Mark Thomas General Manager