Ratings based on 176 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from asheboro, NC

Disable, lied to

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: Staff and cleanliness
Cons: The refrigerators need to work, and rubber mats placed in the tubs.
Location: Very close to historical Charleston.
I called to verify that I would have a handicap rm. it was confirmed by hotel staff. Upon arrival I was told that the handicap rm. was already occupied, I was placed in a reg. rm. being insulin dep. my aunts rm. room fridge. Did not work. The ice Mach. Was also not working. With all of that being said I will say that the staff was very nice and the rooms were extremly clean. The bathtub was so clean that the bottom of the tub was very slippery.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from south carolina

Within a short distance to down town charleston

Posted Jun 27, 2014
Dedra and Debbie are awesome very friendly and helpful staff close driving distance to downtown charleston and folly beach and isle of palms pet friendly also with a good size grass area to walk your dog I've stayed there twice and will go back
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florence, SC

Close to our destination

Posted Jun 18, 2014
Pros: Price
Cons: Bathrooms need some updating; i.e. new toilet, new tile, etc.
Location: Last accommodations on south side of Charleston - near James Island, Kiawah Island, Folly Beach, Ashley River plantations, Charlestowne Landing
Staff was friendly and helpful and parking was adequate.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gregg from Camden, SC

Great location and easy access to downtown

Posted Jun 13, 2014
Pros: There was nothing I'd recommend changing - it fit the idea of what we were looking for with a waterfront view and an outdoor pool.
Location: Downtown and shopping was 15 minutes away or less.
The Manager, Diedre, was awesome! As was her staff. I was in Charleston on business and my wife and I decided to stay here four nights because of the outdoor pool and the view (we saw the pictures on the web). We sat by the pool and enjoyed our wine nightly and met so many wonderful guests. There are two bbq grills beside the pool and they were used nightly - one night we were invited to join one family whose Dad was only too willing to share his bbq chicken and baked potatoes. We will stay there next month on our return visit and highly recommend this location. By the way, we normally stay at four star hotels when we travel. This isn't one of those; we were looking for a location that had a bread and breakfast look and feel. This is one of those. Try it and you'll agree with me that the staff does a great job of pampering their guests.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not inviting

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Pros: I will not answer this question
Cons: The staff, and have security on-site to keep the peace and quite.
Location: Charleston and teh local islands are greate
The hotel seems noce from the outside, but at niight the drama starts. It seems that there are some long term residences that live there and at night they sit outside thier rooms smoking an drinking. The first night the Police came twoce for a domestic dispute. On our last noght I was woke up to a horn blasting in the parking lot. One of the residences friends came up and started blowing the horn so he would not have to walk up the stairs, this started at 1:23 AM and continued for about 1 hour. Yes he was drunk. I think the hotel Manager should review his staff and their attitudes, drive closer to Charleston to find a room. Don't stay here.
3 out of 5
by Rick from Stroudsburg PA

Nice location and nice outdoor spaces

Posted May 26, 2014
Pros: The location and outdoor space.
Location: Charleston,SC, Plantations, Winery, Beach
The hotel was nice and in a good location and easy to get to things in the area. We had reservations for a non smoking with a king bed. The room was ready when we got there to check in but the door key swipe didn't work so they had to let us in the room. Once in the room it had 2 double beds instead of a king. We were told that they guarantee a room not necessarily the room that was reserved. So whenever we left the room we had to have them let us back in or just to enjoy they're beautiful outdoor space we had to leave our door open. Very disappointing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Eugene from Amsterdam, Holland

Nice room,shower,bed etc.

Posted May 15, 2014
Pros: The laundromat was good and the breakfast.
Cons: The towels didn't feel so fresh.
Location: Charleston is a great city to visit.
Staff very friendly especially the GM. She was incredibly helpfull.
1 out of 5
by GLC from UK

The worst we have stayed in - on this vacation

Posted May 10, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything Complete overhaul of services
Location: Restaurants
Room door does not open with supplied keys (can only be opened by desk clerk) difficult when she is busy ( totally unacceptable) No clock No plugs in the bath or sink Air conditioning switch to turn on /off completely smashed, also slats in the unit No iron and board Internet so slow takes 3 minutes to load one page No writing pad or pen No coffee maker Ceiling with damp Only one hand towel Trash bin with NO bag TV (old CRT) no instructions (only works via one channel CBS ) Shower water took time to drain away Generally the room is old and untidy The only saviour was the beds were clean We have used Expedia on this vacation 28 April - 12 May 2014 and this is the only one that was not up to standard Please do not stay in this hotel
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disaappointing

Posted May 3, 2014
Pros: The only thing that we did like about the place was that it was next to a small creek with a gazebo where you could sit.
Cons: Everything! New air conditioners, paint, plaster, curtains, bedding, (the beds were like mush!) Move the designated smoking area, provide better bkf
Location: It was quite a drive to almost everything.
Had heard this place was good, so disappointed once we got there. First of all the room was dark and had a terrible musty odor. The place looked really old and a real need of repair. There wasn't even a toilet paper holder in our room, it had been torn off the wall. About 4 hours into our stay the air conditioner stopped. This was reported to the front office. When they saw that it was not fixable they moved us to another room. This room was slightly better, but still had that terrible musty odor. The fan on the air conditioner worked so we thought that we had air. Unfortunately the room never cooled. (in Charleston, SC with temps at 86 degrees!) We complained about this and we were informed that it would be repaired. The following night was the same, a fan but no air. Breakfasts were bleak. The sausage gravy was disgusting! Outside the main office was the designated smoking area so you had to walk through a cloud of smoke to get to the office. When I went to check out I had to wait, and wait, and wait because the clerk was on a personal call. When I told her I wanted to check out she turned the situation on me and said, "Why didn't you tell me?" Hello.... I was standing there, what did she think? I would NEVER stay at this place again and would recommend that everyone else avoid it as well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from South Georgia

Clean comfortable room at economical rate.

Posted Apr 19, 2014
Pros: As above.
Cons: Such a tiny thing could we have a second juice choice for breakfast.
Clean comfortable room. Convenient to city, friendly staff, good value for price. We will come again.