Ratings based on 1,238 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

July 16, 2014

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Like going back to a 1975 Motel. Terrable staff but great location at a great price. Room was small but has micro wave and fridge.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Concord, NC

Within walking distance of everything.

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: It was within walking distance of everything.
Cons: The room sizes. They need to be bigger.
Location: Tons of shopping!
For the price, this is a great hotel that you never have to drive any where.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NC

Convenient location & free parking!

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Nice hotel, excellent location, free parking. Most restaurants, market, stores, & touristic attractions are at walking distance. Hotel cleanliness can improve. Unfriendly staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Myrtle Beach

Perfect Location for the price.

Posted Jul 7, 2014
This hotel is in the best location in my opinion. Market St is right on the corner and you can go out back near pool and be right on King St shopping. It has a good central location. It is not the fanciest hotel in Charleston but not everyone has $300 dollars a night. You can stay in other parts if town but then have to lay for daily parking. The hotel is dated but kept up well for its age and they add extra touches around to make it nice. If you want the experience if staying in downtown Charleston and have to ability to walk to everything without breaking the bank this is the place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jul 6, 2014
This hotel, although not impeccable is in a great location. With free parking on site there's is no need to use your car at all.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from so. illinois

Location was great to be able to walk everywhere.

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: Closeness to city market and king street
Cons: Move up check in time from 4:00 to 3:00.
Even though parking was free, there was not enough parking for all guests so over flow parking was in a parking garage down the street.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SC

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Please do not put customers in rooms that look like they are being remodeled.
Check in was great. Room smelled musty. There was spackling on the wall that had not been smoothed over or painted as if the room was in progress of being painted. There was floor wall trim that came off that had been stapled back in place but still managed to come off again. There were holes in the wall where pictures had hung that had not yet been spackled and walls were bare.. We were not in the room very much since we did go to vacation and not stay in room, however, when we came back to the room late at night, we were only able to get one channel on the TV and it was still has some static. The only part of the remote that worked was the volume and mute buttons. We had to change the channel by using buttons on TV but still all channels were full of static. It was too late for us to call desk since we were going to sleep and then leaving then next morning. It was a great location to stay as far as being able to walk around town and not having to move car since parking was sparse. However, I did notice when we were leaving that several employees in brown scrubs/uniforms were parking their cars in guest spaces. I did think that was very rude. We were actually referred to use this hotel from a friend who uses this same place several times a year, however we do not plan on returning. I dont mind paying the extra money to stay in a better quality place next time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Location Location Location. Staff was friendly and helpful, room was clean.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

good location

Posted Jun 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
old hotel, good location
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ft bragg NC

historical downtown Charleston SC

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Pros: walking distance to everything
Cons: ac I just would run all night, not shut off, and then come back on when needed
Location: the tours, shopping restaurant u name it
It was a great location, walking distance to all the main things, parking is including in the price, which is a plus, ate at helmanns seafood on meetings st. get there about 5pm after that, theres a long start developing. Ate at the broken egg for breakfast (market st) really good, and tried bubba gumps good soup and shrimp cocktail and the mix drinks are good, as well