Ratings based on 1,396 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Greensboro, Georgia

Great location, bad Hotel

Posted Oct 23, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Needs updating
The hotel is right in the middle of the historic district, which is good. The hotel, however is very run-down. There was a good deal of mildew in the bathroom and since we had our dog with us, we had to stay in a "smoking room" which, of course smelled awful. It was particularly glaring as we had just the night before stayed in a dog-friendly hotel that was smoke free entirely. I wouldn't stay at this Days Inn again.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location in centre of town

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Very poor standard of decor but comfy bed urgent need of refurbishment and a new flat tv
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom spokane wa

The location cound not be beat - for the price.

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Pros: location and price
Cons: dated
Location: block from the city market
The hotel is adequate and the location is fabulous.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle, WA

Great location, great price, but old and worn

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Pros: The staff that we met were very friendly and helpful.
Cons: Replace the stained, worn, dirty carpeting.
Location: If you are a tourist to Historic Charleston you can't find a better central location.
This is obviously a hotel/motel way past its prime, however compared to the prices of other hotels in the historic section of Charleston it's a bargain. Desk staff were very friendly and helpful, so we overlooked the old, worn, dirty room and extended our stay for 2 extra days, because I still considered the room "passable" and very affordable for this prime location, almost across the street from the historic market.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location location location

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Pros: Location, cleanliness, nice med priced restaurant.
Cons: The size of the rooms, but unfortunately that is just the way it is.
Location: Location is near almost everything and if you don't want to walk at all there are trolleys and bike taxis to take you anywhere else. Car never moved.
Best location of any place I saw there, room was very clean, and pretty well updated. We stayed in a court side room. It was on the small size but we were out so much it didn't really matter. It had a clean little pool that we didn't use because the charm of the city was all we saw. The staff were not extremely friendly but gave us great info about every thing we needed and let us park early before check in and stay parked after check out. I would recommend to anyone who was looking for price versus luxury.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom san francisco

Building should be demolished.

Posted Oct 12, 2014
Decrepit, worn out, bottom of the food chain place. Not clean.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Ottawa, Canada

Definitely 1 star

Posted Oct 9, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Everything! Tear it down and build a new place.
Location: Walkable, in the historic district and all its attractions
Only things going for this place are: location, free parking and the fact that everything else in Charleston is so expensive. Though this one is NOT cheap. I was prepared for a so-so place based on reading previous reviews, but it did not prepare me for room 227 - we just had to put up with it. Had I known how close the airport hotel was to downtown I would have continued our stay there and for about half the price. Suggest if keeping the facility: 1) get ride of the horrible mildew and mould smell that permeated the room, 2) replace the air conditioner that sounds like a helicopter taking off about every 20 minutes throughout the night, 3) fix the facet that groans every time you turn it on, 4) fix the shower curtain rod so that it doesn't dip causing the curtain to slide to middle and water to spray on floor, 5) teach the cleaning staff to clean the handles of the sink which were filthy (though sink clean), 6) bring the decor up to at least the 1990's and cleanup the registration area which was a mess - dirty - poor first impression.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Tampa, Florida

The staff is very friendly & helpful.

Posted Oct 4, 2014
The staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are a little outdated, but very clean. It's an amazing deal for the location and staff. If you'd rather pay 3 times the price for an updated room, that's your prerogative. I will return here again & again!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Room smelled, but good location

Posted Sep 27, 2014
It might just be the local humidity, but the non smoking room was very smelly. We needed the AC just to air out the place. (It wasn't that hot). The location was convenient, beds okay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Sep 26, 2014
Very centrally located, parking available. The staff were helpful and friendly and overall it was good value for money.