Ratings based on 561 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Williamfrom NYC

A midern busuness trip in an historical setting

Posted Nov 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
This was a wonderful hotel in a wonderful location. Guven all the space dedicated to the bedroom and the sitting room, the bathroom could have been guven some if that space. It was too small.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom boston

Great location

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Furniture updated
Location: Everything nearby best location
The furniture was a bit old. Pricey but great location
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom New York, NY

Nice room but very noisy

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, good food, nice soft beds
Cons: The loud noise!
Location: Great location in the heart of downtown by East Bay and Meeting Streets. If you are looking for good food and a beer just head over to East Bay!
As always I enjoyed the DoubleTree. The one overarching problem was my very noisy room. I was placed on the first floor, which is never ideal but was not a problem as there was little to no street noise. The problem arose from an extremely loud humming that would cut on and off every minute or so that sounded like a very large air conditioning unit kicking on and off. It was almost loud enough that it prevented me from going to sleep. I do not know if it was the particular room or its location but this noise was ridiculous. If its just that room it should not be rented.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Miami

In the middle of everything good in downtown Charl

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Had a great time. Charleston is romantic and safe.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Sarafrom Washington DC

Poor service for business travels - great location

Posted Nov 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel is nice but two major drawbacks: The professional service isn't great. Front desk often seemed annoyed when I had questions -- and I'm a high status Hilton member. The gym doesn't open until 8am so if you're a business traveler, you almost can't use it. The "help" were great. The cleaners, wait staff, bell hops -- all awesome, lovely, polite, and attentive. The front desk and folks who'd pick up the phone were unresponsive and not pleasant.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom California

Perfectly Located, Nice Hotel

Posted Nov 7, 2014
Location: There is a bar on East Bay Street called The Meeting Room...it's got to be one of the most pleasant little bars in the world.
The DoubleTree is not opulent by any means, but it is comfortable and in a perfect location, easy walking distance to all points around Historic Charleston. The staff were wonderful, friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Central to the Charleston things to see and do.

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Very pleasant long weekend spent in this hotel. Within walking distance to all we wanted to see and do. Charleston is a great walking town, if you get tired, jump on one of the carraige tours that cover the whole town.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jeremiahfrom Pennsylvania

Weekend Getaway

Posted Nov 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
Charleston in the fall is a good time to avoid major crowds. Hotel location is great for Market St access, carriages and good restaurants. Doubletree did not honor the 'extras' promoted by Hotels.com. The hotel itself could use a little tune-up and the staff could use a quick refresher on service and 'every customer being the most important customer'. The hotel should consider offering options on pillow types and fills.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Charleston, WV

Girls weekend

Posted Nov 4, 2014
This hotel was awesome! Everyone was so nice and helpful and the hotel could not be in a better location. Everything was near us! All the stores, tours, carriage rides, historic district and tons of restaurants and art galleries you could want were within easy walking distance. It was a great weekend. I will be back here soon