Ratings based on 432 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Madison, MS

Very friendly staff, Great location, nice rooms

Posted Jul 11, 2014
The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. They were quick to help you. The rooms were nice, a little small, but it worked for us as we didn't need to setup a pack 'n play this trip.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Pros: location was good. everything else was as expected. having a dining area was a plus
Cons: nothing
no real issues. they grouped our wedding party on two floors making it convenient to get together.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alabama

Great stay!

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Only dislike had double beds vs queens. Outstanding location next to Market Street.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winston-Salem, NC

Perfect location

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: Slow elevator, fridge in all rooms
Location: City Market, Great restaurants & bars, horse carriage rides, fountain
Hotel was in the perfect location-- right next to City Market. We were able to check in early -- several hours, room was perfect size (wish there was a fridge). All the hotel staff was helpful and friendly. The valet groups works very hard to keep the car line moving. Couple minor complaints- it is close to the horse carriages...so there was quite the smell when you walked out of the hotel, there was also a weird smell out of the elevator and the elevator was very slow.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kari from Dallas

convenient and gracious hospitality

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Pros: We stayed in a suite. The design of the rooms were perfect for three people. We enjoyed great service and assistance.
Cons: The fold out sofa bed mattress was not that comfy, but that's about par for all sofa beds.
Location: Centrally located to historic Charleston restaurants, shops, museums and sights. Everything was within walking distance.
our stay was as quality as a hotel costing double what we paid/night. The staff was responsive, pleasant, kind and fast to respond to any request. Our rooms were lovely, clean and comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant hotel close to Market and downtown

Posted Jun 10, 2014
The staff was highly accommodating with letting us check in our luggage early and holding it after we checked out, so that we could enjoy the area during our short visit to Charleston.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overpriced

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: Location, clean and quiet.
Cons: Rooms need to be completely renovated ....especially the bathrooms. Very outdated and overpriced in my opinion.
Location: Great location!
Great location, quiet, clean and comfortable beds. Bathrooms are very small and the room was comparable to a Hampton Inn, or something you would stay in costing around $100. For $350 per night this was not what I was expecting. Parking was expensive ($25 per night), so we would probably have been better off staying in Mt. Pleasant (for much less money) and driving over for the day and park at one of the many parking garages. Staff was very friendly and nice, but I will probably not stay at this hotel again. I will either spend a little more for a nicer hotel....or save money and stay in Mt. Pleasant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Ann from Massachusetts

right downtown near all activities

Posted May 28, 2014
Pros: Just beautiful, had a suite, huge spaces, lovely lobby, great breakfast, friendly staff.
Cons: Nothing !!
Location: near the Market, carriage rides, restaurants, fudge and candy shoppes, etc. Perfect location
stayed here to visit Charleston with friends - hotel was perfect - staff extremely helpful in making reservations for us for dinner and giving us ideas on what to do. valet Service excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bob from J

Right downtown in historic Charleston.

Posted May 21, 2014
Right down town Charleston next to market street. Many great resterants in walking distance from hotel. Carriage rides for the historic district right out front. Six blocks from harbor.
3 out of 5
by Jodi from New York

Affordable hotel.

Posted May 3, 2014
Pros: Convenient. Comfortable bed. Valet parking.
Location: Convenient to all. Can be crowded in surrounding streets if a cruise ship is in that day.
The hotel was fine but our room was in a noisy location. We were in a room off the courtyard which required us to walk through the restaurant and go outside again into the courtyard to get to our room. While the duplex room did provide privacy for our daughter who stayed on the pull out sofa downstairs, people would sit in the courtyard at all hours talking. The sound was amplified because of the surrounding building. The courtyard was off the restaurant/bar and at 2:30 am we had to call the front desk about the noise.