Ratings based on 547 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charleston hotel

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Pros: Very Convenient.
Cons: No pay per view
Excellent location. Quiet. Clean. Courteous staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 3, 2015
We stayed for New Years. The location was great, and the hotel was clean and comfortable. My only complaint was the staff acted like it was a great inconvenience for them to help us. Valets kept trying to get us to go get our owe car after we had paid them for, or were too preoccupied with their own phones. Would still recommend as it was the best price for the area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location in the Historic District

Posted Dec 29, 2014
Pros: Location. Employees.
Cons: The room was small & crowded with inadequate seating space
We were met promptly at the curb and our luggage & car were taken care of. The check-in was efficient. The hotel was undergoing some remodeling, but that was not a problem.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Greensboro, NC

Decent hotel and convenient

Posted Dec 28, 2014
Pros: Location, location, location.
Cons: Add microwaves to rooms, especially the suites, regardless of their size
The hotel was clean and the staff was very friendly. We booked a single, but the front desk upgraded us to a small suite. We didn't ask for it, they just did it. Our suite was smaller than I expected. I can only imagine how small the single room might have been. The suite had a mini fridge, but really needed a small microwave to make it a more pleasant stay. If you are going to Charleston primarily to visit the historic downtown area, you can't find a better place. It literally took less than one minute to walk from our hotel front door to the City Market. That helped us a lot because it rained just about everyday we were there. This hotel is surrounded by restaurants; all within a 5 minute or less walk. There is little to no on street parking in downtown Charleston. Most of the hotels, including ours charge you a mandatory parking fee for their garages. We were there three nights, so that added $75.00 to our hotel bill. Overall we enjoyed our stay, and I was very happy we chose this Double Tree.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Juneau, AK

Gorgeous Hotel close to the market & more!

Posted Dec 9, 2014
Pros: location!
Cons: All great!
Location: see above
The Double Tree in the Historic area of Charleston has a great location, friendly staff and comfortable rooms. The best restaurants are in close proximity, the waterfront is easy to get to and the shopping area on King street is just a few blocks away. All in all a gorgeous hotel in a perfect location!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Virginia

Excellent location.

Posted Dec 5, 2014
Many pros, but 2 cons. 1st con: no fridge in the room. 2nd con: $25 a day for parking. I understand parking in the historic distric is limited, but I feel like $25 a bit much. Location was excellent for walking to downtown sites and great restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Texas

Nice hotel - great location

Posted Dec 2, 2014
Excellent location next to the market and all the restaurants on east bay and off meeting street.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location/amazing staff

Posted Nov 30, 2014
What a fantastic holiday vacation. The room was great/ staff from valet to desk to housekeeping could not have been nicer!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom florida/ohio

Great location

Posted Nov 29, 2014
Pros: Everyone was so friendly and available at any time of day.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Near all historic sites.Very good restaurants.Market place close by to buy local merchandise.
located within walking distance of historic Charleston. Excellent restaurants closeby.Must take a carriage ride.Well worth the cost.We used Palmetto and Bob was our guide.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom alabama

charleston by the market

Posted Nov 22, 2014
Pros: everything
Location: near market, restaurants, museums
we enjoyed our stay. everyone was so nice. the location was perfect. breakfast was good.