Ratings based on 426 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Shopping
by Tom Wfrom N.C.

What a great hotel

Posted Sep 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
I had earned a free night from Hotels.com/rewards to apply to this stay,so this was quite a bargain.What a great suprise,everything about our stay was pleasant; even the little things like the bedsheets and the shower.The breakfast was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Mr D.Connachetfrom N.Ireland

A long deserverd holiday

Posted Sep 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
This building of suites made us welcome at every turn.a great location for walking for town shopping & Restaurants,the suites could be doing with an update & freshen up as they are looking a bit tired.overall I would recommend the Embassy suites,the staff where pleasant in their duties.this was the first stop for my wife & I on a 16 day trip,so a pleasant start on a 5 night stopover.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Given the price very disappointing not good value

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Pros: Just an hotel nothing spectacular
Cons: Treat guests like the price charged again nothing special
Location: Ok but not great
Very expensive and not good value for the money. Breakfast just OK but not great. Rooms ok clean and confortable.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Mark K.from Washington, DC

Embassy Suites - Charleston/Historic District

Posted Sep 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
I have been a guest of this chain for many years, and appreciate greatly how they have evolved and upgraded many locations - and really like the "new" locations like the one in Savannah, where I stayed on this trip as well. The current (former castle-like Citadel building) location is below par, by far, and in much need of an upgrade. Also, I asked the front desk staff and concierge for restaurant recommendations - "What's THE hottest, buzz, restaurant in town these days?" and not one of them pointed me to the top locations. Fortunately, I poked around on my own and found them myself. I look forward to returning again one day to Charleston and finding this property in better shape with a more informed staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Absolutely wonderful hotel with the best staff! Perfect location right in the middle of downtown. Made it super easy to walk everywhere!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Tangofrom Jacksonville FL

Charming...

Posted Aug 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great hotel for what we wanted. A bit pricey but the options and amenities made the stay enjoyable. Awesome breakfast in the morning, great happy hour, and the strangers were friendly!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Cleaning staff left room door open one day, tv reception was poor but the staff was excellent, free breakfast and 5-7pm reception were quite good. Location was fine
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Mattresses need to be replaced. Suites for windowless rooms should be bigger.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel for exploring Historic Charleston

Posted Aug 22, 2014
We had a great time at this hotel. The made to order omlettes were terrific and we were able to walk everywhere in Historic Charleston. The manager's nightly reception was also a very nice feature. We would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by LRfrom Philadelphia

Fun place to stay

Posted Aug 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Breakfast is fantastic. Not your usual crummy serve it yourself fare. Fabulous manager's cocktail hour. Lovely little pool that our son thoroughly enjoyed. You have to remember you are staying in a historic building. Our bedroom was cramped with two doubles, but no complaints. The rooms are what they are! The room we were in is probably due for renovation but it was clean. A pipe burst in the room next to us in the middle of the night (we thought someone was obnoxiously taking a long shower at 4am). Apparently 12 rooms were flooded. We however suffered only a power and water outage. The staff handled it admirably well. And restored power and water for us so we could shower and pack. As an academic who does a fair amount of management consulting I can honestly say this hotel deserves 5 stars for service quality.