Ratings based on 352 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

In the middle of everything

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Pros: Great old building well renovated
Cons: We had an "old" room in the historic part of the hotel so had a small bed. Choose a room in the newer part if you like a king.
Location: Great restaurants just across the road in an "alley way". Not as bad as it sound and has a fantastic choice of food. we tried the french place 5star
This is a great spot to stay, great restaurants across the road, near the park and University campus. Quite a walk from historic downtown so take a rickshaw ride you will not regret it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Douglassville, PA

Great hotel choice for Downtown Charleston

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Pros: We loved the size of the suite. We had a smoking room and the smoke was never too heavy with the air cleaner system in the room.
Cons: A side or rear entrance would be convenient.
Location: We loved the French restaurant on the next block. The shopping on King Street was very close. We took the free trolley to the Marketplace.
We loved the hotel amenities and proximity to downtown favorite spots. The breakfast and Happy Hour were great!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Westchester, NY

Great hotel near many historic attractions

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: Breakfast omelettes were wonderful / free cocktails 5:30-7:30. Great room layout- inner door to bedroom allowed noise reduction, spacious living area.
Cons: Room service trays were sometimes left in the hallway for an extended time.
Location: Perfect location. Outdoor market on Saturday adjacent to the hotel. Free trolley to historic area, though most sites were within walking distance.
Absolutely beautiful lobby and sitting area. King size bed was very comfortable. Complimentary breakfast was very good. Close to historic area. Check out Free tours by foot. Scott Nelson, our guide, knows his stuff about Charleston and can give you ideas on what to explore in more detail. Hyman's Seafood on Meeting Street gave us a great meal. We had to wait outside for about 20 minutes but they had waitresses walking around with hush puppies for everyone to eat. Check out their hand lotion in the rest rooms and their next door retail shop. Only 15 minutes by car to Isle of Palms Beach in Mt. Pleasant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MN

Loved it!

Posted Jul 5, 2014
We loved the hotel--staff was friendly and helpful, location was excellent within walking distance of everything or a block from the trolley if you don't want to walk, breakfast had great variety and was yummy, bed was comfortable--would definitely stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Great for the family...close to everything.

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Even though the hotel is a little old, it was still clean, the staff was great, and it was located in the heart of the action. I truly enjoyed my stay .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lolita from Newport News, VA

Beautiful Place!

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Pros: Centrally located.
Cons: Cleaning staff left their dirty cleaning cloth on my bed, when they came up to retrieve it, there were no exchange of words, not hello, not I'm sorry.
Location: Close to the fresh market on a Saturday, carriage ride is a must-do and if you tour any plantation, you must tour Boone Hall, it's fantastic!
Very nice hotel, good location. We especially enjoyed the complementary breakfast and cocktail socials in the evenings. Not the most comfortable beds and/or pillows, was disappointed about that given the rate per night we paid, I expected better quality sleep.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

My favorite

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Pros: Most comfy bed ever with a luxuourious extra fluffy blanket in the closet. The shampoo and conditioner provided was so great I wanted to buy my own
Cons: Earlier check in
Location: So much to do in charleston. Just walk around you'll have fun
Everything about this place is amazing! The spacious rooms, the free happy hour with snacks, they even put a complimentary makeup remover wipe in the bathroom. That to me, is genius! It came in handy and I was impressed! The bathroom is huge and super clean! It looked like it was scrubbed down and really is very pristine! The only reason not 4 stars is the parking is expensive and not connected to the hotel, it is charleston so I understand but a perfect hotel would have free parking. Also there was no fan in the bedroom and I have trouble without sleeping with one bc I need the white noise. Other than that. This place is DIVINE!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, close to shops

Posted May 31, 2014
Hotel was a great place to stay with only 1 day to explore the area. We were only a short walk from all shops and a quick trolley ride from the water. Very nice place!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by T from Easley SC

Close to downtown and marina.

Posted May 30, 2014
Enjoyed our stay. Very convenient to everything we planned to do...park, marina, tours, etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne Florida

Nice Hotel

Posted May 28, 2014
We stayed here for 3 nights. The hotel was nice. The staff were helpful. We enjoyed the breakfast, eggs cooked to order which was nice. The evening snacks and drinks were also nice. I booked this hotel because it had a hot tub. The hot tub was broke the whole time we were there. I was very disappointed. This hotel is a way from the downtown market. I think the next time I would pick a hotel closer to town.