Ratings based on 478 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Historic hotel near lots

Posted Mar 28, 2015
Our stay was pleasant, the hotel needs room updates, kind of worn out. Location was good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient location

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: Proximity
Cons: Pull out sofa bed was terrible.
Location: Great
Staff at desk were very helpful and knowledgable about things to go.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Kuwait

Excellent

Posted Mar 14, 2015
Pros: Excellent service and king sized bed
Cons: Ask for second floor or higher but first floor was good.
Location: Hyman's Seafood The Citadel
Great valet service, location, front desk, coffee.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom PA

Spacious and Comfortable

Posted Mar 10, 2015
Pros: Location, amenities and price.
Cons: Would prefer on-site parking over a public garage.
Location: A short walk to all of historic Charleston.
Selected for it's location in the historic area and favorable reviews posted. Would definitely stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 7, 2015
Pros: location
Cons: valet service stocking room according to how many people are on the reservation
The Valet service was not helpful; all they did was take your car and bring it back to you. They did not help with luggage at all. We had four people staying in our room(which was on the reservation) and we had to keep asking for towels for four people everyday. We also had to ask for more soap. The room was VERY small compared to other Embassy Suites. The cocktail hour was not very good. The location was fantastic and made everything very walkable. Not sure that I would stay here again though.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NC

Nice hotel in a great location

Posted Mar 6, 2015
Pros: Convenient location, complementary cocktail hour, breakfast
Cons: Just bigger pillows and price could be lower :).
Location: Jeni's Splendid Ice Cream is a great treat and there is lots of shopping within a stone's throw.
We stayed at the Embassy Suites in historic Charleston on a cold weekend in late February/Early March. The location of this hotel is excellent, convenient to all of the shopping and restaurants on Meeting Street and King Street. The hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was excellent each day and the complimentary manager's cocktail hour is a great stop for glass of wine on your way out to dinner. The rooms were clean and beds were comfortable. Pillows were very small but there were lots of them. It is a great 4 mile loop to walk or run that covers East Bay street all the way past Rainbow row and then South Battery, up Ashley Avenue and then meander back through the streets until you hit Calhoun and follow to King Street, it is a great way to see Charleston up close and personal. The hotel is dated but renovated. Overall, it was a great weekend and I would definitely stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Would go back next time

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Cons: Exercise facilities were the main shortcoming.
Location: A couple blocks from the Charleston museum, the Aiken-Rhett house, between King and Meeting St, and right across the street from excellent restaurants
Convenient location, amazing historical building with relevant history to Charleston, and absolutely incredible staff, especially in the kitchen. Would not hesitate to go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Long Weekend in Charleston

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: The full breakfast was enjoyable
The hotel was in a nice location. The room was clean and spacious
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Minneapolis, MN

As expected, nothing bad at all

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: -breakfast in the morning was fantastic. restaurant quality buffets -free happy hour 530-730 -building had a lot of character
Cons: -a little older feeling -rooms were a bit dark and dry
Location: Just on the edge on where you would want to stay in Charleston. A bit far from things like the outdoor market, but still walkable for active people.
Highlights: -breakfast in the morning was fantastic. restaurant quality buffets -free happy hour 530-730 -building had a lot of character Lowlights: -a little older feeling -rooms were a bit dark and dry
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Ontario, Canada

Beautiful setting but outside noise kept us awake

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: The breakfasts were excellent as were the complimentary drinks and snacks.
Cons: Better windows are needed to keep rooms quiet at night. For this reason, I can't recommend it to others.
Location: Location near the square and downtown is perfect for walking. We also liked being near the Charleston Museum and the Mangineault house.
Located in the old Citadel, in walking distance of everything, the setting was perfect. But the old window, overlooking a street and parking lot, did absolutely nothing to keep out the noise of trucks during the night. Neither my daughter nor I slept well any of the 4 nights we stayed. One night, she even slept on the sofa in the other room but could still hear the noise.