Ratings based on 141 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible Smells and Unprofessional

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: Not a thing!
Cons: The entire place needs improving in all areas!
My husband and I stayed at Extended Stay America in North Charleston on Northwoods Blvd. the weekend of June 27, 2014. It was a horrible experience!! First of all, the entire hotel had a bad smell. When we got there, a gentlemen whom we believe was the maintenace man was drinking alcohol right at the front door of the lobby. We went ahead and checked in and thought we would make the best of the two nights we had reserved. The room was suppose to be non-smoking, but when we walked in, it smelled like an ashtray, disgusting!!! My husband and I both had problems breathing the next day. The bed was suppose to be a queen, but was a full. I went down to the lobby to ask for ice, and the gentlemen that I believe was maintenance man and receptionist were being very loud, he seemed intoxicated, and I felt very uncomfortable going down there. Then they didn't have any ice machines. There was a "trash room" on the floor we stayed on near our room. The door was opened with several trash cans full of trash and smelled really bad. When we came back to our room the next day, our room had not been cleaned, dirty towels on the floor, trash still in our room, and bed had not been made up. We had no room service. My husband and I were so disgusted with our stay, we ended up leaving a night early. We checked out and lost our money for one night stay. We've stayed at Extended Stay America before and had never had these problems, so we were very surprised and disappointed with our stay. At this po
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Doug

Just a trip

Posted Jun 13, 2014
Hotel was fine. Very close to charleston and plenty of places to shop locally
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2014
Doug - I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. I'm glad that you liked our hotel's location and the property overall. It would be our pleasure for you to repeat your experience with us in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Could if been better

Posted May 21, 2014
It had hair on counter in kitchen disgusting. Hair in the tub nasty room was NOT thoroughly cleaned or inspected before put into computer. Had to check the bed before I got into it
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 22, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I’m disappointed to hear that our level of cleanliness did not meet your expectations. I will meet with the staff to review our cleaning procedures to ensure your experience is not repeated. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and it will help us in our efforts to continually improve our hotel. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any of our other brand locations across the U.S. and Canada in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by brittany from charleston, sc

Nice hotel.

Posted May 18, 2014
This hotel was very decent for the price I payed. I really liked the set up of the room. Everything was in order and clean. I WILL DEFINATELY stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 21, 2014
Brittany - Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I’m so pleased to learn that you enjoyed our clean rooms with fully equipped kitchens at a great value. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We look forward to hosting you again in the future!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

SOme needed improvements.

Posted May 13, 2014
Pros: The location was great.
Cons: The shower, pest control, the breakfast could include juice especially during the summer months.
Location: Good shopping Tanger Outlets Walmart Target and Northwood Mall is in working distance
Now remember this hotel was listed as a 2 star sooo. Upon arrive the front desk was polite but not exceptionally friendly. The next morning and change of staff was much more pleasant. I had an issue with the microwave and the fixed it immediately. However I did have a roach in the room. and the blanket had cigarette burns in a non smoking room.... The pool is small but there was a grill pool side. It was quiet and good location near the mall movie theatre and good places to eat all on the same street. Local Walmart Target etc everything you would need. Just off the highway # exits from Tanger Outlet. Over all not bad but could you some polishing in some areas. New shower and tub. When turning on the shower it sounded as if someone had turned on a weed eater. Never experienced that and the tub was old and stained.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our quiet, convenient location. Still, I apologize for the issues you had with your microwave, the cleanliness of your room, and the shower in your room. I will be sure to meet with our maintenance and housekeeping staffs to ensure these issues do not continue in the future. As well, we appreciate your suggestions regarding our grab-and-go breakfast. Your comments will be useful as we continue to improve our breakfast offering. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay America. We hope to see you again in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Never again

Posted May 12, 2014
Whole place smelled of cigarette smoke. People coming out of their rooms drinking alcohol. One person attempting to make room deals on the side with a worker. Overall shady looking characters coming in and out, unsafe feeling the WHOLE time we were there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 15, 2014
I appreciate you bringing your experience to our attention. I sincerely apologize for your experience including the odors in your room. I will meet with the staff to review our cleaning procedures so that this issue does not affect our future guests. Your feedback regarding our guest protocol is greatly appreciated and it will help us in our efforts to continually improve our hotel. Again, thank you for the comments. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any of our other brand locations across the U.S. and Canada in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Stayed for a few days. Clean Spacious room.Small kitchen. Decent bathroom. No complaints...
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2014
Thank you for your recent review. I’m so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at our hotel including our spacious suites with fully equipped kitchens. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We look forward to providing you with another comfortable stay in the future!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jaxanita from Jacksonville, FL

New Renovations and Better

Posted Jan 26, 2014
Pros: We liked the spacious room because it had the feel of a studio apartment.
Cons: The television channel line-up needs to be improved. There are too many sports/ news channels, no religious or family friendly channels/movie channels
Location: The location is great! Many restaurants and many stores for shoppers.
We stayed at this hotel before and it was alright. We stayed again more recently and it was much better! The new renovations are taking place and look very nice. We were in a much more spacious room with a full kitchen, table & chairs, a nice couch & arm chair, too. The full kitchen had a counter with chairs in it for more eating space. We enjoyed cooking our meals on the full -sized stove and oven in the kitchen.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jaxanita from Florida

Clean Room Close to Shopping & Airport

Posted Jan 11, 2014
Pros: Reasonable pet fee, full size appliances, spacious room.
Cons: helpfulness/pleasantness of staff; provide poop bags at dog walking area; better tv channels, add religious channel; better lobby set up
Location: Great location! Plenty of stores for shopping that will please any taste in shopping; close to air base and not far from U.S. Coast Guard facility.
Stayed at this hotel and found it okay. The room was spacious, there was a full sized electric stove, full sized refrigerator, and a very clean and comfortable bed. Pets are accepted and the pet fee is very reasonable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 20, 2013 on Hotels.com