Ratings based on 545 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NC

Excellent hotel. Great location. Wonderful staff.

Posted May 20, 2015
Pros: Location , beautiful rooms,lobby and views.
Cons: Nothing I can think of
Location: The market, walking distance to the historic district sites, restaurants close by, also close to the water
We were celebrating our 45th anniversary and the staff helped to make it a very memorable occasion - from the complimentary champaigne to the chocolate dipped strawberries. We were treated as royalty Thank you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle

Exceptional hotel and highlight of our trip

Posted May 17, 2015
Nice central location, beautiful lobby, expansive room, etc...what made this place special was the attention to all of the little details. Champagne when we arrived, option to have complimentary breakfast delivered to our room, bikes to ride through the old Charleston neighborhoods. Rooms are priced at a premium but we would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Choice

Posted May 8, 2015
Cons: There was no explanation of how to operate the TV or the Air Conditioner
Excellent location next to the City Market and close to good restaurants. The Staff is the best; always pleasant and trying to make your visit perfect. The breakfast was a pleasant surprise! A good variety of foods, with some changes every day so that there is always something new. The Staff continually refreshes the table so that you don't have to worry about running out of something.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom M

Great hotel extremely clean and in historic distri

Posted May 2, 2015
Very friendly staff and great location - your in middle of historic Charleston, next to the market, restaurants and shopping two blocks away - fantastic location
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom tampa

Cozy opulence

Posted Apr 30, 2015
From the moment we arrived, we were treated like we were part of the hotel family. They took an interest in what we were doing during the day, whether we enjoyed the restaurants they referred us too, and, generally, whether they were living up to our expectations of them. Of course , They did and exceeded our expectations. My wife and I commented that we actually enjoyed staying at this property more then at several Ritz Carlton's and four seasons in the past. Terrific wine/cheese layout every evening and milk and cookies before going to bed. Felt so pampered! Would highly recommend this place to anyone who would like to walk and see all that the great city of Charleston has to offer.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Bahamas

Expensive!

Posted Apr 29, 2015
Pros: Leaving it.
Cons: The cost could be halved and even then it would still be expensive. And staff training for this maid.
Location: The French Quarter Inn is well placed for mostly everything. It's opposite the market, right on a busy, noisy street, near lots of bars and eateries.
We were on a road trip and everyone raved about Charleston so we included it in our plans. Most of the good hotels seemed expensive, to be fair, but we thought we'd go to the French Quarter Inn because of its proximity to town and the sea. We stayed for two nights in a suite with a balcony. We had breakfast in our room both mornings and we ate out in the evenings. The hotel was just .... okay! Our room was comfortable enough but the AC clicked on and off constantly and it was so loud it woke us up throughout the night until we turned it off. Having the windows open was not an option as there's an Irish bar next door which played loud live music until late. There are no views, other than rooftops and AC units one side and a block of apartments and another hotel right opposite. The hotel is on a busy street which meant there was constant traffic/pedestrians going by all the time. The crunch came for me when I got told off by the maid for a) not hanging a sign on the door telling her to come back later - we weren't quite ready to leave when she came to service the room. And b) I was informed by the same maid that when we'd finished with it, we were to put the breakfast tray on the floor outside so it would be removed. Well, hang on a minute. We paid top whack (and I mean TOP whack) for 2 nights so why would I do her out of a job? I was not happy and did not put a cent in the tip envelope she left in our room. Her attitude was condescending, to say the least.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Denver

Great hotel, great location.

Posted Apr 27, 2015
An excellent experience. The hotel is located within about 2 blocks of all the action. Between the breakfast, wine and cheese each afternoon and cookies and port each night this hotel is a great value. Bicycles available and the entire staff was great. We will definitely return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Okatie, SC

Our first of hopefully manymore

Posted Apr 16, 2015
Great experience. Everything was first class. Friendly and helpful staff. Outstanding room and service. The best in Charleston.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Greenville, SC

Great Hoyel with style

Posted Apr 5, 2015
In all aspects a great hotel - mix of modernity and history.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 1, 2015
Perfect for kids and great location in the city! I would definitely stay here again!