Ratings based on 768 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey

we stayed one night

Posted Jan 28, 2015
Pros: location - heart of historic district
the hotel staff were very helpful in pointing us in the right direction for dining and what to see so we could get the most out of our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

Nice hotel next to the music hall

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Pros: Very friendly staff and located in a very convenient location.
Location: Music Hall, very nice restaurants and neighborhood within short walking distance.
I attend an annual conference held at the Music Hall which is right next door. The convenience factor is huge, e.g. I can use my own washroom during breaks and hotel supplies very nice coffee and snack for free!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Columbia, SC

Perfect Location, for us anyway

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Pros: Location, cleanliness, friendly staff.
Location: Restaurants, shops, Charleston Museum, College of Charleston, East Bay Street
I've stayed in many places in downtown Charleston and this ranks among the best. Walked to everything we wanted to on King Street and the trolly is a free ride to Market Street, though you could certainly walk there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom OBX, NC

Location excellent for historic tours, shopping

Posted Jan 21, 2015
Location: hotel in the heart of the tourist/historic district. Could walk to just about anything we had on our agenda
front-desk personnel efficient, helpful, and pleasant. So were the housekeeping staff. Have stayed in Charleston elsewhere before, but this place will be our home-away-from-home while in Charleston
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom B

Great location, great friendly staff, small rooms

Posted Jan 18, 2015
Great location, great friendly staff, small rooms
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 14, 2015
Decent hotel, friendly enough staff, close to everything in Charleston. Very reasonably priced--would recommend to anyone looking for a basic place to stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Atlanta

Worst room in Hotel

Posted Jan 12, 2015
Pros: Rooms are nice, free coffee in lobby is a very good amenity, free breakfast, outstanding location.
Cons: Seriously?
Location: King Street is a ridiculously short walk away. That's the gateway to the historic district. Mario Park and Calhoun in the other direction.
Have stayed here in the past and was more than satisfied. This time had a room on the ground floor next to a boiler or some other type of mechanical. Could not sleep the entire evening, being awoken every fifteen minutes by what sounded like a space ship landing on my headboard. Unfortunate because it ruined an otherwise pleasant property.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Tampa

Comfort

Posted Dec 14, 2014
Staff makes you feel like you are park of one big family. The doorman great friendly very helpful. Desk staff always attentive and housekeeping staff with warm greetingsm
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Better than expected

Posted Dec 12, 2014
After reading reviews I was concerned. My stay was a very pleasant experience. Room was spacious, well appointed, clean and location was amazing. Front desk was knowledgeable, courteous and helpful. I have already recommended this hotel and will definitely stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 9, 2014
Pros: In-room fridge was very convenient.
Cons: N in-room safe would be a nice addition.
Location: Great location, close to shopping, bars and restaurants.
Front desk staff was extremely pleasant. Room was spacious, updated and clean. Location was excellent.