Ratings based on 492 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Joe from Washington, DC

Location, Location, Beauty

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: Room size, general hospitality and noticeable happiness of employees, bathroom/shower, location!
Cons: Wine & cheese happy hour - wine was mediocre, cheese was alright, but it's great that it is offered at all.
Location: Right on the Harbour. Adorable walk to Battery Park, right off East Bay so surrounded by great eats & drinks. Market is also a short walk.
What a great experience! We were upgraded to a Historic Suite, and the exposed brick, giant windows & high ceilings really made an instant impression when we walked in. Having stayed at/been in many of the higher-end hotels in Charleston (SC native here) I can say that this was one of the largest I've ever known of. The cookies & milk at 9pm as part of a "turn-down" service is one of the cutest things I've heard of, despite having missed it. I met their SM manager at a conference event and she was so passionate about her job and the hotel, it was very refreshing. All in all, if I'm going to pay nearly as much to stay at the Marriott and be much less convenient or have a vastly superior view, I'm always going to take HarbourView.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by d from Chicago

Nice hotel. Old building.

Posted Apr 10, 2014
Nice rooms clean and comfortable. Bath was not spectacular and view was of the transformers. Some cute features like a small but comfy roof deck with views of the harbor. Wine and cheese in the compact but comfortable atrium in the afternoon/ evening. This is Charleston which his really old and really compressed into a small area and this hotel reflects its city. Don't expect the Ritz, think more like a hotel version of a B & B. For example there is no bar in the hotel. Staff were nice and displayed typical Southern hospitality.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by fiona from the hague

Great hotel, great location.

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Pros: Location. Everything.
Cons: Nothing
Location: All the historic sights are within walking distance. Bars, restaurants in area yet it is not a noisy hotel.
Chose this hotel from customer reviews and it didn't disappoint. Great location right by the waterfront and near all the restaurants and bars. Free trolley bus stops right outside and the ferry is at the end of the pier a minute away. The room was big and newly decorated, with a great bathroom. Great breakfast delivered to room every morning included in price as is the cheese and wine every evening. Even free M&Ms in the lobby. Staff will book dinner for you at your restaurant of choice. Couldn't fault it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by David from Chattanooga

Charleston Getaway

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: Close proximity to the harbor, and tourist activities.
Cons: nothing
I booked the room last minute, notified the front desk I needed a crib for my 18 mo old, and when we arrived early, they made special arrangements to get us in early so she could take a nap. Had a great experience there. Highly recommend!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Robin from IL

Nice hotel in historic district.

Posted Mar 23, 2014
Pros: Great location, good service. Clean, comfortable, nice room and bathroom. Comfortable beds.
Cons: A restaurant and/or bar would be a nice addition. If not possible, at least the coffee and hot water (for tea) receptacles could be segregated.
Location: Great restaurants, shopping, historic Charleston sight seeing.
We had a nice recently-renovated room conveniently located on the first floor. The room and bathroom were lovely and beds were comfy but our view was lousy. Although there is no on-sight restaurant or bar, they do offer several breakfast options delivered to your room or in the hotel public areas, included in the price of the room. Hotel staff was friendly and helpful, although we had to wait on valet/ bell hop several times because there only seemed to be one on duty at any given time. My sister and her husband stayed there at the same time and the reservation they had through Expedia was inexplicably cancelled. Fortunately the hotel was able to accommodate them, although they were out into an "overflow" room which has apparently not been renovated yet. Although we were perfectly comfortable there with our 15 year old daughter, I would not recommend this hotel for families with young children.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Great location!

Posted Mar 20, 2014
Catch the free bus right out the door. Friendly staff, upscale hotel with lots of extras...cookies, cheese and crackers, European breakfast and more.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Saul from Evanston, Illinois

A great weekend in Charleston

Posted Feb 25, 2014
Cons: We should have stayed longer.
Location: Many things to do. The Yorktown tour was impressive, strolling around Charleston downtown was excellent and interesting.
The hotel was in a great location, the rooms were fine, comfortable and impeccable and the staff provided cheerful and helpful service at every turn. It was all we could ask and Harbourview delivered. Charleston has great restaurants, interesting attractions and a climate fifty degrees warmer than our Chicagoland home. We and our friends had a great time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Feb 16, 2014
Pros: The chance to try out a Temprpedic bed!
Cons: It is a shame that the windows don't open. I am a fresh air fiend.
As a first time visitor to Charleston it was a great base for walking the historic area, shopping on King St. and even walking to dinner. The staff friendliness and ability to help/make suggestions was once to find (as I normally stay in impersonal hotels when I travel for business) Breakfast in the room, wine reception and cookies and milk before bed- how could you go wrong?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Exceptional Hotel

Posted Feb 14, 2014
Pros: Location, breakfast (which was included in the prize), the wine and cheese daily from 5pm-7pm, tea time, the staff, the very comfortable bed.
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at HarbourView Inn. The location is great, right in Historic Charleston. The staff is great. Very nice, helpful, and professional. The room was wonderful. The bed was extremely comfortable. The room was spacious and well-decorated. It was very quiet and I slept well every night that I spent there. What I enjoyed most about the hotel was that fact that breakfast was included. There were very good choices and you could have it in your room, in the atrium, or on the rooftop terrace. Because it was cold, we could not enjoy the rooftop terrace as much, but would highly recommend it. Overall, I loved this hotel and would definitely stay there again the next time I am in Charlestion
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely and in a great location

Posted Feb 4, 2014
Pros: The friendly staff all around make this hotel stand out.
Cons: Soaking tubs would be nice.
Location: Convo entry located by the water and tons of restaurants and galleries.
Stayed here during a vacation recently and absolutely loved it. Looking forward to my next visit.