Ratings based on 599 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Charlotte, NC

Nice hotel, close to stores

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Pros: I liked the size of the rooms, cleanliness of the hotel, breakfast, the price and its amenities.
Cons: Being able to monitor the room temperature adequately, a cook top, dishes and paper goods in the kitchenette,a corridor to the pool.
Location: The location is close to most things to do. 15 minutes to the City Market. The view is terrible! 20 minutes to Folly Beach.
Nice hotel with sizable rooms. Great for families! Great assortment at breakfast and near major roadways. Pets are allowed for a fee.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 26, 2015
enjoyed the size of the room and they were able to get my group all together as we had 3 rooms booked. were looking for indoor pool which is hard to find in this area
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Atlanta, GA

Nice otel close to everything

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Pros: Clean, friendly, very comfortable. Delicious breakfast
Location: Shopping, beach, food
We have stayed here on several occasions/anniversary and have always enjoyed it.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Columbia SC

Lots of hotel choices in Charleston

Posted Dec 24, 2014
Pros: Not much
Cons: More/better staff. Food and drinks (as advertised).
Location: Farthest from everything. Mall nearby.
We had never been to a Hawthorn Suites, we relied on the good reviews. It was a disappointment. Got a jacuzzi suite, jacuzzi worked, but motor would have waked the dead. Managers reception was really sad, cold chips and only Sprite left with another hour to go. After that, we skipped breakfast. Front desk personnel were rarely there and grumpy when they were at the desk.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sumter, SC

Great

Posted Dec 17, 2014
Pros: Great staff, great rooms, everything!
Cons: The driveway is a little dark/not well marked if you are coming in after dark. A small light or some reflective paint would certainly help.
Location: This is just a few miles from MUSC Hospital and the Battery/water front area of Charleston.
This is the second time in about two weeks that I have stayed at this hotel. I had a wonderful experience the first time, very nice rooms, friendly staff, great location near MUSC hospital; which is what made me decide to stay there again and I was not disappointed. May only "complaint" is that the driveway isn't well marked if you are coming in after dark. A small light or some reflective paint on the curbs would be a great help but even this won't stop me from staying there again if I am in the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Easy on off to freeway

Posted Dec 11, 2014
Golfing vacation. Convenient location to get to Kiawah island. Many restaurants within walking or driving distance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sumter, SC

Great hotel

Posted Dec 7, 2014
I chose this hotel because it was a good price, has a good reputation and was close to MUSC Hospital. My only complaint was that the drive way was a bit hard to see in the dark, I light by it or some reflective paint would help.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom PA

Too far from Charleston

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Pros: Sitting room and kitchenette.
Cons: Entire interior, lighting was too dark, bed skirts needed on beds, better pillows, bedding, and window treatments. Room was never freshened up.
Location: Quite a drive to Charleston.
Enjoyed the extra space. Room was fairly quiet with comfortable beds. Hotel staff was great. Nice hot breakfast. Time to renovate, though. Ceiling "repairs" were gross. Tired and dated decor/bedding. How about some bed skirts?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Hilton Head

1 night stay

Posted Nov 6, 2014
Cons: to get the asked for wake up call
Location: we liked the location south of Charleston, since we had to drive back to Bluffton the next morning
We enjoyed our stay and asked for a wake up call at 6:45 am. The young woman hit a computer key and said that we were all set. The call never came and I happened to wake up at 7:30 am. Otherwise everything was new and nice and breakfast was above par as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by nick pfrom gladewater

good

Posted Nov 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
The people in the room next to us were smoking. We stay there because it is a non smoking hotel