Ratings based on 656 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Richmond, VA

A Shock for a Hawthorn

Posted Jul 29, 2015
Pros: Breakfast was great. The room was a suite style, we loved having two rooms.
Cons: 3 staff members were great in every way. Housekeeping needs major help. Management obviously needs some follow through.
Location: Easy access to Old Charlestown, 20 minutes away.
We arrived around 9:30 pm. While making up the sofa bed, we found hair and crumbs on the mattress. Then hair on another pillow. Then dirty underwear behind a dresser when we were looking for an electrical outlet. There was no bedding in the room for the sofa bed so we went to the front desk, as we were instructed. The lady on duty acted as though we were disturbing her evening, and she had no pillows available. The next morning housekeeping showed up at 9:50 am and we were not quite out of there room. She informed us that she had an early day, so if we didn't get out quickly, we wouldn't get our room done. I went to the front desk at that point and spoke to someone who referred to herself as one of the managers. I told her all of the above. She was great to listen, although she let me know she could not adjust our account in any way because I booked with Expedia. I wasn't asking for anything at that point. We were then gone all day, when we returned, the same crumbs were on the floor as when we left... The underwear still there, hair still in place..laugh and ugh! I was beginning to think we were on candid camera. I went down to the front desk again, and explained the entire ordeal to a manager who apologized and offered us some Wyndam Rewards points. He offered to come and clean our room on the spot. The breakfast was great, the checkout person on our last day was super. It was a crazy two nights! I could not recommend unless they have some major changes.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

good value

Posted Jul 23, 2015
Pros: above
Cons: carpeting
Location: 14 miles from downtown Charleston- lots to do in Charleston.
Convenient for us. Don't expect any views. Pool is spooky. But, for under $100, the rooms were clean, comfortable, breakfast was just fine-plenty of choices. Staff was nice. A really good value for the money.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Mark

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 29, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Terri

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 27, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Beverly from Gorham, ME

Great place to stay.

Posted Apr 27, 2015 on Hotels
Very clean room and the bed was very comfortable. Hotel staff was very friendly. Would definitley recommend it and would stay again if ever in the area again. We liked it because you could go one way to downtown Charleston and the other way to the Plantations. Kind of right in the middle and not the expensive prices.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kerin from Saratoga Springs, NY

A very good value.

Posted Apr 23, 2015 on Hotels
We spent two nights here while we were visiting family and friends. We were plesantly surprised at how nice this hotel was given the rate and that they accepted pets, which we were traveling with.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Randall from chicago

Randall

Posted Apr 21, 2015 on Hotels
The room was surprisingly nice. It had a great deal of room and provided a nice stay. My only complaint is that I asked for a wake up call on two occasions and only got the call one time. I would stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Kathy from Cornelius, NC

Average - Clean but nothing special

Posted Apr 21, 2015 on Hotels
The room was nice and clean. The bed was very comfortable. The location of the hotel is sort of tucked away in an small area and wasn't really that appealing to me. I drove right by the hotel without seeing it. There isn't a lot of parking either. The hotel itself is very average and nothing special about it. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room itself, again, was average. I was right next to the stairwell so I could hear people walking up and down the stairs the entire time I was in the room. I probably wouldn't stay there again because I would prefer a more elegant hotel, but if you are just looking for a place to sleep, it will fit the bill.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Christi from Niles, MI

Spend the money on a cleaner hotel

Posted Apr 19, 2015 on Hotels
The room, overall, was dirty. We had to have the manager come in and have the bedding replaced. The carpet was filthy. Don't walk on it in bare feet. This was a jacuzzi suite, so there was a separate sitting area with a sofa, chair, and tv. We wouldn't even put our luggage on the sofa it was that noticeably dirty. There was a large gap under the door, so we had to use our towels to dampen the noise and have a little privacy. The mattress looked like something out of the old west. 2 large dips in the mattress where, obviously, many people had slept. I recommend renting a rug doctor and invest in a new mattress. That would help. Additionally, there is little signage at the street to let you know that is the driveway for the hotel. In the dark, it is very difficult to find. I expected more from a Wyndham.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Greenville, SC

good place to stay in charleston

Posted Apr 8, 2015
Pros: Good breakfast
Cons: Fix a place outside to keep the animals
Location: GREAT
Everything was good, BUT it smell like dogs It was very bad smell. Need to stop all animal from staying in the room, have some place the can stay outside. John