Ratings based on 254 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 1, 2014
The hotel stay was very comfortable and it is close to the downtown area - only a 7 minute drive
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 3, 2014 by Brian, Hotel Management
Dear A verified traveler, I appreciate your feedback. I am delighted you were satisfied with your accommodations and the convenient location. We look forward to the opportunity of having you as our guest again.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Maine

Good location but cust. service/housekeeping awful

Posted Oct 29, 2014
The location was good, five minutes from downtown, but the front desk staff had zero personality. Was given a room with 2 doubles even though I paid for a king. Bed was hard as a rock. Had to ask to have my cable checked because it was out for 1.5 of the 4 days I was there, and the girl acted like it was an inconvenience to deal with me, even though I was very polite about it. It was fixed for a couple hours and then went out again. I could overlook all that, but the housekeeping here was atrocious. I was there FOUR nights and not ONCE were my sheets changed. They left used soap and washcloths in the tub and hung up the dirty towels is left on the floor to be taken away. Who the hell is going to reuse a dirty towel that was on the floor?? And then, here's the real kicker, one morning they just opened my door without knocking or announcing themselves. And then she just backed out without even apologizing. I was so shocked I didn't even have a chance to say anything. It was 9 in the morning, obviously they should have assumed there was someone in the room before just barging in. Wouldn't stay again, for the amount I paid ( which was exorbitant for just a Holiday Inn that wasn't even downtown) I expected much better service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 3, 2014 by Brian, Hotel Management
Dear CHSvisitor, I regret to read of your experiences during your stay. I am deeply shocked at the lack of concern from the front desk and the inconsiderateness of the housekeeping staff. Let me wholeheartedly apologize to you. Rest assured that your review will be shared with the entire staff, and policies will be put into place to ensure another guest does not have the same experience. Thank you so much for providing feedback. While this review wasn't pleasant to read, it does help us to improve. Thank you again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Still travelling - Arkansas.

Nice hotel if you are local.

Posted Oct 18, 2014
I am from New.ew Zealand and the hotel was too far out of town for a week of stay. There were taxis but as experienced travellers we would have liked to be in the town district. We were in your hotel for a week conference. However no reflection on the hotel. My room was lovely.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 26, 2014 by Brian, Hotel Management
Hello Colleen, Thank you for having stayed with us. It is unfortunate that you found our location wasn't convenient for your needs. Most find our location very convenient as we are only a 5 - 10 minute drive from the beautiful Historic City of Charleston. However, if you do not have a car, I can see how actually staying in the city would be easier. I am delighted that you thought your room was lovely. Maybe if you are in the area again with your own mode of transportation, you will once again stay with us. Thank you for your feedback.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Greig Tooleyfrom Birmingham, Al

Holiday Inn Feedback

Posted Oct 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
Had little choice but to stay at this location due to other hotels being booked. If an option, would not stay there again. It is an old location. Does not have large screen TVs in lounge area. No complimentary breakfast. Not a good value for the dollar.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2015 by Brian, Hotel Management
Mr. Tooley, Thank you for your feedback. I do apologize that you were dissatisfied with your stay. We are an older property, but we take pride in the cleanliness and maintenance of our hotel. You are correct in that we do not offer a complimentary breakfast as that is not the brand standard for Holiday Inns because of the full service restaurants on site. Again, I do appreciate your feedback. I hope you will consider staying with us again.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Jessica Yarberfrom Knoxville, TN

Posted Oct 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
The odor in the rooms were unbearable. Room 338 and room 438
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2015 by Brian, Hotel Management
Dear Jessica Yarber, Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay with us. I thoroughly apologize that you found your rooms to have an unbearable odor. I am not sure if you reported this while you were here, but we certainly could have moved you to a more comfortable room. We want our guests to be satisfied, and it bothers me that you left with a negative opinion of the property. I do hope you will reconsider staying with us again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Hamburg

Tolles Hotel am Stadtrand

Posted Oct 9, 2014
Pros: Es war alles wunderbar. Außerdem hat man mir geholfen, Probleme mit dem Internet zu beheben. (TollerService!)
Cons: Bei dem Preis könnte das Frühstück inbegriffen sein.
Location: Hotel liegt am Stadtrand aber das Zentrum ist mit dem Wagen sehr schnell zu erreichen.
Wir machten eine Rundreise durch die Südstaaten der USA. Dabei haben wir hier eine Nacht verbracht.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 16, 2014 by Brian, Hotel Management
Dear Karin und Bernd, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at our hotel. I am delighted you enjoyed your time here and found the location to be conveninent. We look forward to your next visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Walterfrom Ninety Six AC

Great Stay

Posted Oct 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great stay!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2015 by Brian, Hotel Management
Dear Walter, Thank you for your review! I am so happy you had a great stay with us. We look forward to serving you in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location, however difficult to reach

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Pros: Comfortable accomodations, clean, well provisioned
Cons: Restaurant staff and service. Better signage directions to access facility
Hotel nice, restaurant staff and service very poor
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 7, 2014 by Brian, Hotel Management
Dear verified traveler, Thank you for your review. I am glad you found the hotel to be nice. I do want to apologize for the service you received in the restaurant. We are working very hard to improve the service in this area, and do hope you will return to stay with us to see those improvements.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Travelerfrom Raleigh, NC

Dump- Like all Holiday Inns

Posted Sep 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
I had to stay in extra night in the area, and this was the only "decent" hotel available that wasn't $300 a night. Just as you would expect from any Holiday Inn, express or not: OLD. Smelly. dirty carpet. no fridge. Small TV. Slow elevators, pealing wall paper. Needs a face lift in the worst way, not sure why anyone would stay here unless you just had to.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2015 by Brian, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for your feedback. I do regret to read that you have a poor opinion of Holiday Inns in general. However, I do appreciate your honesty and we will take your comments to heart. It will only drive us to continue to improve. Thank you again for your time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by lindafrom charleston

utmarkt

Posted Sep 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
ok
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2015 by Brian, Hotel Management
Dear linda, Thank you for your review. It appears you were satisfied with your stay, so I do hope you return to stay with us again when in the area.