Ratings based on 679 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Isolated hotel close to downtown

Posted Jul 26, 2015
It's quite around the hotel and the facilities are modernized but I was prepared for a decent stay and instead was forced to ask the front desk multiple times for the same thing. Staff is nice but room service is lacking. They had a very irritating plumbing problem that required our room to be changed and yet in the new room my toilet also stopped working. Room service didn't replace our towels or take the dirty one, rather they took our floor mat and didn't give us a new one. I had to ask for more shampoo and for the bedroom curtain to be fixed three times because it fell, but they never fixed it. The door to the balcony is almost impossible to close. The hotel is very clean but not worst staying in because it's not located in the best place and room service starts to get to you.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 30, 2015 by gm@charlestonhiexpress.com, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments. I apologize for the difficulties you encountered with your room maintenance and housekeeping. I have shared your feedback with our staff so that corrections may be taken. We hope to regain your confidence in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

It was very nice

Posted Jul 22, 2015
Pros: location
Cons: AC
Location: very close to all that you want to do and see in Charleston, without breaking the bank.
Close to everything that we wanted to do and see. Pleasent, clean, great price and good breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2015 by gm@charlestonhiexpress.com, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. I am glad you had an enjoyable stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Lovely hotel

Posted Jul 21, 2015
Pros: Hotel is clean, breakfast was great. Room was a good size. Would stay there again.
Cons: Parking is limited so had to park in an overflow lot.
Location: Quick, easy access to downtown Charleston. Trolley available but parking is easy to find downtown.
Great hotel with easy access to downtown Charleston. Helpful, courteous staff.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Not really downtown, not really clean

Posted Jul 20, 2015
We stayed for 5 days and our room never was cleaned even after we requested for it to be cleaned. We made the request 3 times. Location was not within walking distance to anything. In fact the area around the hotel seemed run down. I wouldn't recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Upstate, SC

Charleston stay by MUSC

Posted Jul 19, 2015
Breakfast had more options than expected. McDonalds and Brueggers close too Limited parking next to hotel. Bathroom was small, the fan didn't work and the towel bar attached to the front of the sink was not easy to bend over. The staff was friendly and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2015 by gm@charlestonhiexpress.com, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We will certainly make corrections in the areas you noted and hope to see you again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean hotel with friendly staff

Posted Jul 15, 2015
We enjoyed our 3-day stay at the hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful, breakfast was ample, and room was spacious and quiet. It is a little far away from downtown historic Charleston but we used the bus service to get around.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2015 by gm@charlestonhiexpress.com, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. I am glad you had a nice stay and we hope to be able to serve you once again!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Posted Jul 14, 2015
Pros: Rate
Cons: Room interior and air-conditioning
Location: On a main road, not enough parking space
Pretty poor condition on the bathrooms room interior.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2015 by gm@charlestonhiexpress.com, Hotel Management
I apologize for the poor impression you received of our hotel. Your comments will be helpful in making corrections and we hope you consider us again in the future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

visit

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Pros: location
The hotel location is very convenient. Staff was very helpful. the hotel was not one of the most updated Holday Inn Express that i have stayed in before.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2015 by gm@charlestonhiexpress.com, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We hope you will consider us again in the future!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 12, 2015
Hotel was fine. Clean, friendly and helpful staff. We had a quick stay -it was perfect for what we needed. gave me a late check out which was very helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2015 by gm@charlestonhiexpress.com, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind words about our hotel. I am pleased to hear that you had enjoyable experience. We hope to see you again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Myrtle Beach, SC

Had to check in with the transplant dept. at MUSC.

Posted Jul 11, 2015
Pros: Close to area hospital & not far from shopping.
Location: Great shopping, great restaurants !!!!!
Early appt. at MUSC so we decided to stay in Charleston overnight. Nice hotel, very close to MUSC & a stones throw from Charleston shopping for my girls. Too bad MUSC had me slated for a new transplant when I've already had one & everything is working great !!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2015 by gm@charlestonhiexpress.com, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments. I am glad you had a an enjoyable experience at our hotel!