Ratings based on 387 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York, NY

Nice hotel; close to downtown.

Posted Mar 27, 2015
This hotel had all that we needed on this visit. Most of the staff was welcoming and friendly. There was one who wasn't particularly unfriendly, but didn't look at us when we spoke to her. The location is about 15 minutes drive to downtown and hotel parking is free. The hot and cold breakfast is convenient and sufficient. The drive to Folly beach took us about 40 minutes. The room was comfortable and sufficient. I think for the value this is a great hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel to stay

Posted Mar 25, 2015
The staff was very helpful with tours and restaurants and just far enough away from the city to avoid all the heavy traffic. Good restaurants close to hotel or about 10 min to get into the city for dinner and touring the beautiful homes along the Battery on the Ashley River. We would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

My stay was excellent. No problems during my stay.

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Pros: Very convenient to where I needed to be and on the main road, close to the freeway. Very accessible, quite and comfortable.
Cons: No comment, I was satisfied.
Location: Downtown is near, any of the Islands and lots of shopping.
I arrived early and was able to check in because of the weather and the event I was attending would have me returning late. Check in was quick and I was given directions to where I needed to go. I only spent 1 night and had a wonderful experience. The breakfast was great and the staff was very pleasant.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 19, 2015
The rooms are not consistently clean. This was the second time that I have stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Charleston, and I was very disappointed in the state of the room. It was clear that the bed sheets had not been changed, and while bringing in my bag I discovered a pair of pantyhose that had been left by a previous guest behind the corner chair.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Trip to Charleston

Posted Mar 7, 2015
Pros: elevated toilet
Cons: all was good
Location: We like the TV show Diners, Drive ins and Dives -- we visited two of them on your street within a mile of your hotel --
The staff was very friendly - Location is good - room was very nice - The best part was the elevated TOILET -- i have never stayed in a motel / hotel that had one -- feeling like you are perched on a 5 gallon bucket is not enjoyable -- you have hit on a wonderful idea -- I only other motels / hotels do the same when the update their rooms
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: Convenience.
Location: Close to historic district
We were only there for one night - easy to find. Quick check in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Lancaster Co, PA

Visiting Charleston

Posted Feb 15, 2015
Pros: The cleanliness of everything.
Cons: The hallways were very cold for February.
Location: It is located just a few minutes from downtown Charleston, SC. So much to do there!!
We had stayed at Holiday Inn Express on the Ashley River last year but got this one this year through Expedia. As usual, it was a very nice place to stay and we recommend it to anyone going to that area. The cleanliness of the breakfast area really impressed us because the kitchen server at another hotel did not wear gloves while handling the food and it was very upsetting. Cleanliness is very important to us when we travel. Thank you for all you do to make your guests happy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom new jersey

My stay was well. The staff were great

Posted Feb 13, 2015
Pros: That they served turkey for breakfast
Cons: The pricing for the evening could have been a little lower
Location: ok
My experience was worth it, I enjoyed the service and how friendly the people were
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean Room, Comfortable Bed, Nice Stay

Posted Feb 12, 2015
Pros: Clean Room, Comfortable Bed, Nice Breakfast
Cons: If you tell you guest cookies will be out at 6 then please sure they are there at 6
Location: Close to downtown Charleston, plenty to see and do
I love pretty much everything about my stay. The housekeeping, maintenance staff were really nice. The check in staff I thought was a little more interested on what was going on her cell phone then checking us in but she and the rest of the front desk staff were very nice. I would probably stay again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Feb 2, 2015
Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and pretty comfortable. No complaints. I feel like I got a good hotel experience and at a decent price.