Ratings based on 409 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom kton nc

nice place to stay was convienant to downtown/mall

Posted May 27, 2015
staff friendly and helpful breakfast was good the citadel mall is next road over downtown 5 min away traffic wasnt crazy and place was easy to get in/out of
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom greenvill Sc

Business trip

Posted May 23, 2015
Pros: Location, price and overall very happy
Cons: House keeping could have done better job on second day of straight ing up room. Coffee maker in room did not do to good. Bad coffee
Location: 7 easy miles to beach. But perfect for my job
Perfect locations more than satisfactory accommodations very nice staff. will visit again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom newport news Va

It was wonderful. The staff were friendly and help

Posted May 14, 2015
Would stay here again. The hotel is clean and comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Greenville.SC

Great location, easy access to I-26 and down town

Posted May 13, 2015
Pros: kindness of staff
Cons: Dinning area and kitchen to small
Location: Citadel mall I-Max cinema very convenience, 5 minutes from downtown and just a good central location to everything.
Your staffing was unbelievably nice. My compliments to Ben and his staff, it really shows when management and working staff get along and respect one another.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Holley, NY

Convenient location for arrival in CHS Airport.

Posted May 11, 2015
Stayed here before driving from CHS Airport area to Savannah then returning after a 5 day visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Burke, VA

Nice Hotel, but Not Close to Citadel

Posted May 10, 2015
Pros: Good hotel for travelers. Includes breakfast, nice clean rooms, comfortable bed. Coffee in the room and in the lobby. I like this hotel.
Cons: A less ambiguous name, and some way to clearly distinguish it from other Holiday Inn Expresses in the Charleston SC area.
Location: Several miles away from the Citadel and the downtown Charleston area. Very close to the shopping mall, and HWY 526.
I needed to book a hotel on short notice to pick my son up from the Citadel, the military college of South Carolina. I went through Trivago, which found a Holiday Inn Express for a price I could afford. From previous trips, I was aware of a Holiday Inn Express which was very close to the Citadel, and consequently very close to Charleston Downtown, so I assumed this was the hotel identified by Trivago. Nope. This hotel is about 5 miles up route 17-a busy commercial road--and consequently about 15-25 minutes away from the Citadel depending on traffic. Turns out that the hotel I was thinking of is called the Holiday Inn Express Ashley River--or something like that. Prior to checking in, I examined the confirmation email, and there was nothing that would have clued me in to the error, and furthermore made it very difficult to determine the location of this hotel. I had to rely on the verbal directions from the concierge at the "wrong" hotel to find it. Beyond the inconvenience of showing up to the wrong hotel (after 10 hours of driving), it added time and complexity to the process of getting my son packed up and ready to go. The lesson learned is that you have to double check the location of the hotel, because the naming is not a reliable indicator of location. The information provided on the website or the iPhone app isn't sufficient to actually find the hotel. Bottom line, the use of applications like Trivago or Expedia are not in themselves adequate to ensure success.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 23, 2015
Pros: very nice breakfasts, eggs, bacon sausage, omelets one morning. Cookies at night. quiet, Ruby Tuesday next door for decent meal without driving.
Charleston tourists. Easy to get into city and to plantations. reasonable price for Charleston
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom BLANCHESTER OHIO

Posted Apr 11, 2015
very nice place close to everything was easy to find and very clean and friendly
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom myrtle beach, SC

Clean. No complaints.

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Clean. No complaints. Only stayed one night. Would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York, NY

Nice hotel; close to downtown.

Posted Mar 27, 2015
This hotel had all that we needed on this visit. Most of the staff was welcoming and friendly. There was one who wasn't particularly unfriendly, but didn't look at us when we spoke to her. The location is about 15 minutes drive to downtown and hotel parking is free. The hot and cold breakfast is convenient and sufficient. The drive to Folly beach took us about 40 minutes. The room was comfortable and sufficient. I think for the value this is a great hotel.