Ratings based on 204 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Holly from New Jersey

Nice hotel, centrally located

Posted Apr 19, 2014
Pros: This hotel was clean and appeared to be new. The room was immaculate with great lighting options. The bathroom was large and bright.
Cons: There was a terrible odor on the first floor hallway that never went away the whole time we stayed there. It smelled like raw sewage and garbage.
Location: This hotel is near the Tanger Outlet Mall, so there are plenty shops and restaurants nearby.
This hotel is overall very clean and new looking. It has a nice indoor pool with a gym. It has a computer and printer for guests to use which came in handy. The staff except for one guy was very helpful and provided us with a useful map and suggestions for sightseeing tours downtown. The hot breakfast was adequate. Our room including the bathroom was clean and the fridge kept our drinks ice cold. The lighting options in the room were great...they even had a nightlight in the bathroom! The negatives were that after our room had been cleaned, they never gave us new clean towels. I had to go the front desk to request them only to be told that the hotel was fully booked and housekeeping was having a hard time keeping up with all the laundry being generated by the guests. The front desk manager made a note of my request and assured me they would be in my room by the end of the day, but when I returned later that night, they still were not there. I had to go back to the front desk at 9 pm and that manager on duty apologized and provided the towels. I don't think guests should have to beg for clean towels! The other big negative was the terrible, nasty smelling odor on the main level, first floor hallway. It smelled like raw sewage and hot garbage...that goodness that smell never entered our room as we would have requested another room. Surely management must be aware of that horrid smell and should definitely do something to correct this.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Weddington, NC

Totally modern and gorgeous hotel!

Posted Apr 19, 2014
I was blown away on the look of this hotel. It is ultra modern, the decor is gorgeous. I thought I was staying in a $300/ night room. I wouldn't have thought it was a holiday inn express. The staff was very pleasant and gave me great ideas to take my kids around town.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 12, 2014 by Guest Services Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Carline, Thank you for reviewing our property on the Expedia website! I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel amenities and that the staff was able to give you ideas of things to do with children around town. I hope that you enjoyed your time in Charleston, and I look forward to seeing you again soon! Thanks again for staying with us, and we look forward to seeing you again soon! Best Regards!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place to stay

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: Clean and the location
Cons: some staff
Location: Downtown Charleston is close and Mount Pleasant is fun and so are alot of the beaches. All within about 15 minutes
We enjoyed our stay. We did have to ask for amenities. I think the cleaning people cleaned really well but they did not restock our towels even though they took all of them. Even ones I hung on the door to reuse. At breakfast the one lady was sooooo sweet but the other definitely was not a nice person. Front desk staff was very helpful and pleasant!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Easy access to downtown Charleston

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: I liked the colors, fabrics, furniture and overall look of the hotel.
Cons: Housekeeping needs to do a better job cleaning the showers. They're basically clean, but not spotless.
Location: Across the street from Tanger Outlet Mall.
The hotel was convenient to I-26 and only a 10 minute ride to downtown Charleston. It's also across the street from the outlet mall. The check-in staff was very friendly as was all of the staff we encountered.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable hotel, close to the Convention Center

Posted Mar 31, 2014
My husband and I were in town for a conference that I was attending at the Convention Center. The bed and pillows were very comfortable, and all of the staff we met were very helpful and kind. The shuttle drivers dropped us off and picked us up at the hotel, Convention Center, Tanger Outlet Mall, and the visitors center. I would definitely stay at the Holiday Inn Express while in Charleston.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Amy from IN

Two night stay

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: It was located conveniently, close to a busy retail area. The breakfast provides a large variety of food items: hot and cold.
Cons: Housekeeping services
Location: Any fast food restaurant you can think of.
It a newer hotel in the area. The room was not serviced very well. One one of the beds we found several pieces of hair. Under the other one there was an empty bottle of water.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Beth from Colorado

Nice hotel in walking distance of many places

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Pros: The friendly staff, clean rooms and easy access to local places.
Cons: Shuttle service could be better organized. It usually took less time to walk where I wanted to go than to ride the shuttle.
Location: Convention Center, Tanger Outlets, Firehouse Museum, Nash Express bus to Historic Downtown were all nearby.
I had a pleasant stay at this hotel and was glad it was close to walk to the Convention Center and bus stops. The shuttle service was very good and the drivers were friendly. Only complaint was they changed my towels every day even though I hung them up as requested to save water and energy. I don't need new towels every day. The room was large and comfortable and very clean. The breakfast was very good.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

sofa sleeper in a king suite is not a 2-bed room

Posted Mar 26, 2014
Cons: Meet the reservation commitments.
Location: Not far from airport. About 1 mile from Tanger Outlets. Bonefish Grill, Waffle House, and some fast food nearby.
Reserved and confirmed a room with 2 queen beds guaranteed for late arrival. Arrived late at night to be assigned a suite with one king bed and a lumpy sofa sleeper. Sleeper bedding package contained one flat sheet, one pillow with case, and one lightweight blanket too short to cover from toes to shoulders. Front desk had promised staff would make up the bed, but the person who finally delivered a top sheet wanted to hand it over and leave. Sleepless night. Fortunately, we were able to change rooms the next day. Second room was clean and comfortable. Adequate hot water and water pressure, decent quality toiletries, adequate, if uninspired, breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel close to airport

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: Location & breakfast included.
Clean, updated hotel close to the airport. Breakfast was better than most 'continental' breakfasts. Pool and fitness facilities were good, though the hottub was not in working order.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stay was OK

Posted Mar 4, 2014
Pros: location
Location: Tanger outlet
Staff tried to be very helpful. Had problem with the internet connection and the girl at the desk tried several things but couldn't get my ipad connected. It was connected the night before. As I was the second one in the shower that morning, I discovered that we only had one bath towel. Hotel location was good for all the things that we wanted to do, but the resturant choices were limited.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 7, 2014
Thank you for staying at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Charleston Airport & Convention Center and for reviewing our property! I want to apologize for the internet connection, but I am happy to say that we just got an upgraded internet package that will have a faster connection. I'm glad that you enjoyed our location, and I hope that you will come back and stay with us again soon! Have a wonderful weekend!