Ratings based on 98 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved our time in Charleston!

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Pros: Everything. Breakfast...amazing. Rooms...amazing. Also, service is top notch (made reservations for me. Recommendations for what to do....)
Cons: nothing
Location: Right there in the middle of history. Great location!
We had a fantastic time visiting Charleston. I had my 15 and 18 year old daughters with me. We had unseasonably cool weather. We walked a lot. So much to see and do. I would recommend tours as they really enrich the visit. We did a walking tour through the historic district, a carriage tour, and a ghost tour. We loved having a hotel which was in the middle of it all so we could take a break and also feel like we were really experiencing Charleston. The John Rutledge Inn is amazing. My second stay here. The room was perfect. Everything was extremely clean and the daily cleanings were top notch. Very comfortable stay. Breakfast is a luxury. We ate in the courtyard on warmer day and in the ballroom on cool days. Amazing.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice staff. Bathroom needs renovation. Great location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Cathy from Atl, GA

Mother -daughter trip

Posted Mar 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Fabulous stay. Thank you to CC, Michael and Maurice everything was wonderful. The rest of the staff was also very nice and helpful. We would highly recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Hugh from Seattle

Great Location

Posted Jan 23, 2014
This Inn was right in the center of the historic district, an easy walk to many points of interest.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Beth from Louisville, KY

Amazing Weekend Getaway!

Posted Nov 22, 2013
Pros: Breakfast was amazing! They provided a huge selection and it was always piping hot when perosnally delivered to our room. Our room was spacious, too
My husband and I were celebrating our 5th anniversary, and the staff at John Rutledge House Inn made sure it was absolutely perfect. Our room in the Ashley Carriage House was beautiful with every little detail thought out. The Inn is very central to everything in historic Charleston and a very short trip to/fron the airport. We loved spending time in the evening out on the balcony enjoying the scenery and elegance of Charleston!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by David from Philadelphia

Fabulous historic inn

Posted Nov 17, 2013
Pros: Pretty much everything
Location: Central; close to transportation, museums, restaurants, etc
Wonderful location, facilities, and service.The bonus: former home of John Rutledge former governor of South Carolina and former president of SC after the state had seceded.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Bob B from Long Island NY

One great place to stay

Posted Nov 13, 2013
Cons: Free parking should be included for the price
Very helpfully staff,great breakfast and close to everything. Would do it again
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Jane from Brisbane

Fantastic character

Posted Nov 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great location and fantastic characterful property. Staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast options great - eat in ballroom/courtyard/room. Easy walking to tourist attractions.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice location

Posted Nov 7, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Denby from Wakefield

Lucia's Birthday Getaway

Posted Sep 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very nice place to stay and a good value for the cost. Staff was attentive, a bit more than a continental breakfast, as advertised, sincewe could order from a menu and have it served at a select time and location on site. Parking at $12/nite was a bargain. Very close to art galleries, shops and great restaurants. Complimentary sherry or brandy every night. Nice porch to relax, talk with other guestas and people watch.